We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Comfort by the Sea"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Comfort by the Sea"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This Hotel has everything needed for enjoyable stay and is close walk to ocean!
Seems there are new upgrades when I return including beds I wish I had at home, very comfortable. This location is just fantastic for short walks to Boardwalk or Pier for Dinner. The staff cares about this hotel and it shows. When I am on business I need to sleep
well and be rested each night and this property does not seem to attract all nighters
and noisy guests. When visiting Santa Cruz this is my recommendation for lodging!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling4bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    113
    47
    18
    21
See reviews for
115
96
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay with kids! Clean, very quiet, security cameras everywhere and affordable!

Rooms are soundproof with shutters on windows. Great staff who obviously takes pride in this hotel and it shows. Management goes out of their way to make sure that you enjoy your visit

Breakfast is good and hot! For Lunch or Dinner, Denny's is across the street. I will definitely visit again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have found a veritable gem of a place in Santa Cruz. I stay here frequently and couldn't be more pleased. I am temporarily in a wheelchair and the handicapped accessible room is quite large. The staff is extremely accommodating and helpful. It is very close to all the tourist attractions that Santa Cruz has to offer i.e. The Wharf, Boardwalk and downtown. The rooms are very clean and quite. (That part of Santa Cruz can be very loud on a Summer's weekend but you rarely hear a sound.) I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My family of 5 always needs 2 Queens and Sofa Sleeper. I always stay at Comfort Inn & Suites in Oceanside, CA so we saw this location on our trip to Northern California.

When we arrived there was a worker guiding vehicles to parking spots because parking is pretty cramped. We were excited to be so close to the boardwalk. We later found out that it's too far for a 3 year old. We ended up parking at the boardwalk parking.

The desk clerk said our suite is in a corner location so it's private and only has one room next to it. That was good to hear.

The room was partially redecorated. The front room area with the Sofa Sleeper was small. The vinyl chairs were cracked from wear and tear - literally. The furniture was white washed from the 90s. Carpet stained. Sofa sleeper old.

The bedroom was repainted with new beds and beddings. Not much space to walk, but this is an old motel so they did what they could do with limited space. The bathrooms looked repainted. The whirlpool bathtub was not new, but our 2 younger kids enjoyed it. The walls were cinder block so definitely didn't hear any one.

Hot breakfast was decent. The owner apologized for not having everything available. But we still were able to grab sausage, eggs, danishes, yogurt and fruit and brought back to our room.

Since this location is really near the boardwalk, it has a lot of foot and vehicle traffic until late at night. There was an argument at 11pm in the parking spaces out on the street. One car sped off. As people get back to their cars, they can be loud. So it's not the property's fault. But we decided to cut our stay short after one night. We decided to stay in Captiola, which is 5 minutes down the road from the boardwalk.

The owners are friendly. She apologized when we checked out even though it wasn't her fault. I'm sure this doesn't happen all the time. We're just sensitive to those things. I still give this place a good rating for its location and attempted comfort for a motel style property. The owners do show they care about guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiibeachnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a modest hotel, but everything I would ask for. Pleasant, quiet rooms, especially considering you are right in the heart of the tourist area. Easy walking distance to the beach, boardwalk, restaurants, etc. Very pleasant staff, very clean room. The parking lot is a bit cramped, so finding a spot early helps, but you won't need to drive after you get there!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goofyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordes Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My wife an I were on a 2 week motorcycle trip from Arizona. We went up through Nevada and then over to the California / Oregon boarder and worked our way down the coast to San Diego. We stopped at the Comfort Inn and were greeted by a young man who was very friendly. Check in was quick and easy. The room was very clean and comfortable. We liked the fact we could walk to the Arcade and Pier. Would stay there again and will recommend to others.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Azriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a great surprise for us. Excellent rooms, very clean, cheaper prices, and the people was very friendly, the breakfast was very good. The hotel is near to the main attractions of santa cruz.I reccomend this place.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bbarbaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Property: Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Address: 314 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing