We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Descent room - perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Descent room - perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect if you plan to visit Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the beach. It's only a couple of short blocks from the Boardwalk and only a block closer than the overpriced parking lots. As is typical with beach motels like this, parking is at a premium, so spaces are tiny and the hotel has a double-parking system of some type, but things work out. The pool is tiny, but the with ocean two blocks away, that seems unimportant. The room was slightly nicer than anticipated. It was roomy, well furnished, clean and in good condition. The bathroom was very clean and in good condition. My only complain with the room is a lack of electrical outlets. There are few at all, yet alone ones at a desktop level. My particular room had a bit of a "locker room" odor that I didn't bring to anyone's attention because I was only there for one night (and I knew that the hotel was full and didn't want it to smell like disinfectant either, so airing it out seemed to the logical choice). The breakfast in the lobby is mediocre with limited seating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    113
    47
    18
    21
See reviews for
116
96
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in early August and found it to be quite nice and relatively decent value, considering the area, high season,and extreme close proximity to Boardwalk. The clerk called me about 4pm to ask when I would be arriving. Upon my arrival, he was very friendly and had actually reserved a parking spot for me, something that was unexpected and very much appreciated! The room itself was of course basic but very clean and nicely decorated for a 2-star hotel. The wi-fi worked great on all 3 of my devices. There were also 4 pillows on each bed (2 soft and 2 firm), which was a very nice surprise and something not found at even most 3 star hotels.

Probably the biggest benefit of this hotel is its close proximity to the Boardwalk. It is I believe the closest hotel, being just 1.5 short blocks to the main entrance. This was quite convenient as it allows pretty much anyone to walk there easily and save money and the hassle of parking in a lot or on the streets.

As to the complaints of people like the review below mine, you really need to do some comparisons before rating a place down for things like price, parking, etc. The fact is that there are NO cheap places in Santa Cruz in the summer, unless you are willing to stay in a "roach motel". Also, the closer you are the to the Boardwalk, of course you are going to pay a premium. Likewise, the parking situation is tight at all hotels in this area, so rating a place down for tight parking seems a bit ludicrous to me. Now yes, if you ignore all these mitigating factors, it can seem a bit crazy to pay $190 for a room in a 2-star hotel, but you cannot logically ignore these factors since they are what drives price in this industry. I did extensive research on hotels in this area and this was one of the least expensive ones with decent reviews.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASP-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Paid an arm and a leg, but chose to stay here because of the many positive reviews and its close proximity to the boardwalk. It was ok, but I expected more for what I paid. It's a standard motel that's not awful but not great either.

The parking lot is cramped and tiny, and you'll have to valet your keys if you arrive when the lot is full. If you arrive after hours, then you'll have to park in the street. The "pool" is super tiny, and they should just clear it and create a few more parking spaces.

It's a sufficient motel but not worth the 4/5 rating and definitely not worth the price. Sorry TripAdvisor you were off the mark on this one.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemoore, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the second we stayed here in the past six months. We reserved two rooms and got them side by side, which was great. This hotel is straight up the street from the boardwalk about 1.5 blocks. The staff is extremely courteous, check-in is easy, adequate parking and the complimentary breakfast of waffles, eggs, sausage and assorted fruits and pastries worked great for us. Rooms aren't 5 star, but this isn't the Ritz Carlton, either. It may seem a little pricey, but look at the location and high season. We'll stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem similar. We stayed on the second floor the first time and the ground floor the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troutinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
341 reviews
340 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for night on our trip around the bay area and liked it. The gentleman behind the counter was friendly when we walked in and our room was fine. Good large bed and it was clean. Breakfast was included, it was pretty much the standard fare.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff at the Comfort Inn are very rude, and lazy. In the room my kids were staying in the heater was putting out a horrible smell. I called the office and told them about it and they told me it was normal. I then asked for an extra blankets for my kids and got an attitude from them. I did not understand why getting an extra blanket would cause so much trouble. I am home now and when I went to check my bank account I noticed the hotel charged me an additional $30. So far every time I try to find out why I have this charge I get put on hold, and no one comes to the phone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jnbsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prince926, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. If you turn on heater in summer it always smells for few minutes because it has not been used in summer for a long time. That's why we said it's normal and another thing about balnkets, as per your request we had provided two balnkets and if you wanted more you should have asked us and we would have gladly provided more.

Extra $30.00 charge was for the dirty stains on towels which you had used for cleaning spilled coffee.You should not use clean towels to wipe your mess, if you would have asked for rags we would've provided it to you.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

kirti patel
Manager
Comfort Inn
831-471-9999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place was walking distance to beach and boardwalk. Rooms are small, but clean. Place is older, but well kept. Pool is small, but clean. Good value for this place. Breakfast was coffee and Danish. Staff was all very friendly, evening when we arrived and morning to check out. I would stay again here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darmar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.7 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Property: Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Address: 314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing