We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large portions - reasonable price - little flavor - questionable service.”

Planet Fresh Gourmet Burritos
Ranked #66 of 369 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast food, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Del Mar
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Large portions - reasonable price - little flavor - questionable service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I found this place using TripAdvisor as I was visiting Santa Cruz and wanted Mexican. I have to disagree with all the reviews that favorably rate this place.

First, it is not really a restaurant. It is a snack bar. You order at the counter and pick up your food at the counter when your order is ready. Silverware is plastic and plates are paper.

Second, the food has no flavor. The burritos are stuffed with rice and beans. Maybe that dilutes the flavor of the main ingredients. It makes for a large meal not worth eating. I am into quality not quantity.

Third, the fellow working the counter, while very friendly, was a true space cadet. I don't know if he was on drugs, but I would put money on it.

If you want a restaurant experience with decent food and service, go elsewhere. It it is all about the price, kind of the way a starving student might view the situation, then the place could be considered OK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Healthy mexican food and a great price..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I like this planet Fresh..because it is a healthy affordable place to Eat..the food is Tasty and the price is right...Knowing I am getting healthy ingredients makes it a must go , I take out a lot also...where else can you get a tasty burritos for $5-7.00 I like the Caribbean, with chicken and loaded with fruit salsa, black Beans on a Organic flour tortilla..a Quick stop for me, Counter Service, nice setting, Lots of collage Kids...Noting Fancy but good down to earth food at a very affordable price. I recommend this place to anyone wanting a bang for their Buck...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
143 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great prices great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Baja tacos were fantastic and the cajun burrito on spinach wrap was out of this world. The salsa bar was fresh and had a nice assortment of flavors. The serving sizes are ample and the prices are very fair. If I lived in SC this would be my go to place for lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank peacefulperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Salsa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great little place off the beaten path of downtown Santa Cruz. Food was amazingly fresh and tasty. It's not a flashy place, but the food was so good and we even ordered some of the tasty salsa to go. Walk a few blocks and check out this place!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank javillane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wauw!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have been here twice in a 3-days visit and we have had here the best Mixican food ever! Especially the crispy taco and nachos grande are so good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Planet Fresh Gourmet Burritos also viewed

 

Been to Planet Fresh Gourmet Burritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing