We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had one night at the Casablanca Inn during a quiet, cold November in California. We had a room with a view and it was well worth it! Great location as well, right across from the boardwalk! The room was definitely dated but still roomy and comfortable, had a kitchenette which we didn't use. The bathroom was quite small. Other than that, for what we paid we were happy with what we got! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anika-grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

The location of this property simply cannot be beat, across the street from the beach and with amazing ocean views. All the attractions of Santa Cruz are within walking distance. The hotel itself is a little quirky, with our room definitely showing its age a little. But who cares with such delightful views and weather? We had a wonderful visit and great memories.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed with two young children in the Presidential Suite. The location is fantastic: across the street from the beach and only five minutes from the Boardwalk attractions. The rooms (we saw two) have kitchenettes, which is great. The property is dated, however, and our room was quirky. Specifically, the bathroom was minuscule. Also, we were bothered by noise from the unit below, and I don't think our neighbors were being especially loud. Last nitpick: hotels near beaches should have showers with flexible hoses (to address all the sand), but Casablanca does not. They have foot showers near the buildings, but they aren't comprehensive enough. On the plus side, the continental breakfast was convenient and decent, albeit Costco-ish. Also, the staff was very friendly here. Overall, the place was okay, but we will probably try the Dream Inn (a Joie de Vivre property nearby) next time for a little more money.

Room Tip: Presidential Suite (#31) was not worth the money. #12 is pretty tiny and the balcony doesn't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeFizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent the last night of a recent trip to Northern California at the Casablanca Inn in Santa Cruz. The location was amazing - close proximity to the boardwalk and beautiful ocean views. The room was nice, but shows its age (e.g., doors and faucet handles squeak). Might not be good for a family with small kids or light sleepers. Our kids are teenagers, so it was fine for our family of four.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

beautiful scenery, wonderful staff, quick check in hope to return in the future. very close to the boardwalk walking distance, the beach is across the street hope to return soon vey nice for family or couples.

Room Tip: rooms with the beach view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seunice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! From our warm hearts On the Beach to yours, thank you for your kind words about our staff's friendliness & efficient check-in skills. We are so fortunate to be so close to the best of the best in Santa Cruz, so it is our mission to see that our guests have a great time with us in the process! We hope to see you again On the Beach soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed in two different rooms, the first night in room 4, the room is completely outdated and wasn't ready for a guest to stay in, there were blood stains on the duvet cover, the heater barely have out any heat, the front desk guy put out a floor heater instead to use that didn't work either, and the shower was extremely small, me being 5'9 it wasn't ideal. The second room #30 was much better minus some food left in the sink that the housekeeping overlooked. Tried to express my concerns to the General Manager Priscilla who was incredibly rude and has zero customer service skills. There are other hotels in the same vicinity, you're basically paying for the view/location. The rates that they charge for their rooms there shouldn't be such issues, and no hotel should have that bad of customer service especially their General Manager.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lisa_Marie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Misunderstandings happen, and unfortunately that's exactly what your situation was comprised of. We take maintenance issues very seriously here and sufficient heating for our guests is a major priority. In order to accommodate you and your guest when we had no maintenance personnel on property, our Front Desk staff brought you a portable oil heater that is actually included in all of the rooms for supplemental heating to the main heater unit. After your departure, the manager, owner, and maintenance each personally checked on the heater in the room as well as the portable oil heater that was brought to you by the Front Desk, and no one was genuinely able to find any issues with either unit. We are sorry that you felt offended when the Manager contacted you regarding the heating problem, her intention was to understand if the heater was simply not working or if it was not hot enough for you and your guest. It is very unfortunate that your experience was an outlier among the experiences by other guests. We wish you and your family well in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The people that worked there were very nice & helpful. But, the BEST part was that they were pet friendly & we were able to bring our 2 Golden Retrievers with us! All the other places that are pet friendly have a 30lb. weight limit. We will DEFINITELY go back again!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us On the Beach! Casablanca Inn LOVES our furry 4-legged guests, no matter how big they are! We are so happy that we have several Pet-Friendly rooms available so guests don't have to leave Fido while away on vacation! After all, pets are part of the family too! Thank you for the shout out about the friendliness of our staff, we hope to see you soon On the Beach with your beautiful golden retrievers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,893 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Address: 101 Main St, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5422 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £95 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casablanca Inn on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Casablanca Inn is strategically located across the street from the Santa Cruz beach, a block away from the wharf and the boardwalk. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and have a breathtaking view of the beach. Some of our rooms have a unique design which reflects the distinct character of the historic Cerf Mansion. Over the years, the Casablanca Inn has been fortunate enough to cater to some of the most influential and famous personalities of our time, which has immensely appreciated the elegance that our hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn & Bistro Hotel Santa Cruz
Casablanca Inn And Bistro
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing