We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great place to stay while visiting my son at UCSC. We requested a fridge, then saved on costs by grocery shopping and eating in. Room service was clean, fair in taste and relatively quick. Know that gratuity is already included! Also, there is a $20 spa fee for each day--this covers pool and gym use--make the most of it. Great facilities. Chaminade was close to all things we wanted to do...movie theater, shopping downtown and they give great activity suggestions on their site. We went stand up paddleboarding through one of their suggested links. Staff was all very professional and accomodating--including free of charge late-er check out @2pm vs noon.

Room Tip: Ask for a forest view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for the review and kind remarks. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    159
    116
    84
    52
See reviews for
202
234
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We booked a one-night stay at Chaminade as a quick getaway to the coast. After viewing the website and reading the reviews, I was so looking forward to a four star resort. Wrong! It was a two star motel trying to be a four star resort. We arrived and were nicely greeted by the valet and then proceed to the front desk and waited to check in. One desk clerk was helping a guest and another came out we thought to help us, but proceeded to make to answer the phone and ignore us. When she finally finished her conversation about the restaurant and directions to the resort, she was rather indifferent.

We proceed to our room in the 1000 building, the doors handle was sticky (yuck!), hallway carpets looked worn, fans along the hallway and a trash can; all of this before we got to our room. Enter the room and it was dark and smelled of a combination of mold and strong cleaning order. We had requested a king bed room and found a queen bed. Called the front desk and they told us that the resort was sold out and it was this room or a two double bed room in the same building.

We had not unpacked, so proceeded back to the reception area and handed our room keys to the valet and left. The rooms and service that we received were two star motel quality at best! Stay elsewhere if you are heading to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaFiguraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for the review and I am disappointed to hear your comments. We do truly strive to exceed our guest expectations and it appears we were unsuccessful during your stay. I will make sure to share your comments with our team to help continually improve our property and level of service. I would love the opportunity to speak further.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was our first time at this resort, wish our stay did not come to an end. Excellent setting and good service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFbayareafamily69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for the kind comments on your recent stay. We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have been to Chaminade many times and have always enjoyed my stay there. From the great staff to the idyllic setting, it's all good. It's been a number of years since the rooms were updated but they are still great, very clean and comfortable (I love the dispenser pumps in the showers rather than the little wasteful bottles). It's a welcome, quiet place to rest and relax but still very close into downtown Santa Cruz, Soquel and Capitola. Following a day at the beach or shopping, it is wonderful to be able to relax and refresh here. An evening soak in the jacuzzi or a late swim is really nice. If you have the time, enjoy the hike through the surrounding woods.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFBayFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for the review. We love to hear comments from our guests. We appreciated your continued support and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for the second time. Will never be back.... moved 2 rooms no heat. Management would not fix it..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for the review. We always make the best effort to have all our rooms in full working order for our guest. Please accept my apology for the heater not working and having to move rooms. We would love to have you back. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Don't be fooled by the high prices at Chaminade and the stately presentation high on the hill. It is not what it appears. Some of the key employees totally suck at hospitality. I recently spent quite a lot of $$ arranging for an amenity for my son and his wife who were there celebrating their first wedding anniversary. The staff totally blew the presentation of this special present. Then, when I berated them for their poor performance, they gave me a trite email that looked like an apology template that they use six times a week. The happy couple spent a bundle on what was supposed to be a five star experience, only to find a room with no heat. Hours later a maintenance man came up with a crappy space heater, then promptly knocked out electricity to the room when he plugged it in. Now they had no heat, no light, no mini bar, no TV. They got the same platitudes as I did when they complained and nobody ever suggested a discount might be in order. In fact, when I suggested a discount as an appropriate means of true contrition, the staff member didn't even respond to my email. Lucky for the kids that Santa Cruz is otherwise such a fun town. You'd be better off at the wonderful Sea and Sand Motel down on West Cliff. A little pricey, but, unlike Chaminade, totally worth it!!!

Room Tip: Sea and Sand Motel, West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank embee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for the review. I am saddened to hear about the experience. We do truly stive to exceed al our guest expectations and by your comments we did not showcase our property or service as we should have. I do apologize If we made any mistake with an amenity presentation and we will take the responsibility. I hope I will have the opportunity to speak further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

A beautiful resort with sweeping views of the mountains and ocean. The facility has luxurious rooms, spa, pool and offers their guests, peace and quiet. Sitting out on the back deck, with the fireplaces and beautiful fountain, while having drinks, appetizers is very relaxing. Complimentary breakfast, made to order omelets, was absolutely a fantastic way to end our weekend get-away! Complimentary valet parking!! Dinner was delicious. We wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHernandez, Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We appreciate the time you have taken to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear your stay was enjoyable and look forward to having you back again. Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.1 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Property: Chaminade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065-1557
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing