We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Santa Cruz hands down!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaminade Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
1 review
“Best place to stay in Santa Cruz hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Location, food, spa services & food are top notch. Best part is their Sunday brunch!!! Their pool is heated, they have cabanas that are awesome :))
We have a 4 year old who loves it here! Also the staff are amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMariamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Bella,
So glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon!

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    157
    114
    84
    51
See reviews for
196
232
23
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I couldn't be more pleased with Chaminade! From planning to execution of my business retreat, everything had gone smoothly. Resort staff were very pleasant, accommodating, and very easy to work with. My entire group, some traveled from the UK, were also impressed with the quality of cuisine and the variety of food choices. The location is great and the view is breath taking. What really impressed me was how personable the staff at Chaminade were as I had been planning this event for several months, I felt at ease as we were all well taken care of. Last minute changes to the plan due to weather was handled beautifully without any stress to me or my group. As a corporate event planner, I'd say Chaminade is an excellent venue to host any gathering whether professional or intimate. I can hardly wait to plan our next retreat at Chaminade!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinkyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Twinky,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had a flawless program. Looking forward to your next offsite.

Sincerely,


Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay here and enjoyed dinner very much at the restaurant. It was quite a busy weekend but service was great overall. Andrew checked us in and out and was very helpful and attentive. Great stay would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Andrea,
We are so glad that your first experience at Chaminade Resort & Spa was fantastic! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Bay, Ca.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place has gone downhill. They are all about the money, and don't care about guests anymore.
The rooms and hallways smell of mold and don't have enough light, the gym has old equipment, the pool is overrun with kids going crazy and there is no one to supervise the pool area, the Spa is expensive, parking is difficult to find, especially close to your room, the food is unpredictable, and the employees aren't nice. Go stay at The Dream Inn instead!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the forest are extra dark and cold. All rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnySC-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear SunnySC-11,

On behalf of the entire team, we sincerely apologize for missing your expectations. I can see you are well traveled and have specific expectations. While we successfully host several thousand guests each month, it is nearly impossible to meet all expectations. At the same time we believe is offering a level of service and product that exceeds our guests expectations. We would love to offer a return stay on us or a refund for your recent stay.

Thank you,

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have lived away from the Bay Area for a long time and looked forward to staying at Chaminade again. They did not disappoint. Everything was wonderful. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable, quiet and clean. We had dinner in the Linwood Bar & Grill. It was delicious, including the wine suggested by the manager. We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MendoRail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear CATraveler180,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear your comments on our service, staff and overall visit to our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Martin, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I arrived relatively early on Friday afternoon.We were greeted at the front door by a very polite and accommodating young man. As we entered the main lobby I noticed how comfortable and not overwhelming the room was and how beautiful the sitting area and fireplace was. It made me feel like this was the perfect place for us to celebrate our tenth anniversary.We were greeted at the front desk by two wonderfully positive and energetic people and told that our room, which looked out over the forest, was not ready yet but if we wished they could move us into another room just not overlooking the woods. We chose to wait.Our room was beautiful. We had a slight problem with the electricity in our room and were immediately upgraded to a new room. Our experience was wonderful and we will stay there again. Thank You All

Room Tip: When you make a reservation tell them what it is for and if there are any special needs you may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Happy 10th Anniversary! Thank you for the great review and comments about our staff and service. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a great hotel to get a little privacy and feel like you are away from all the madness in the world. It is a tranquil environment that will help nature lovers relax and truly enjoy their stay. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly and the room that my fiance and I stayed in was more than comfortable for both of us. I really enjoyed the Chaminade and all the unique features and environments it offered. I would stay there any opportunity I got.

Room Tip: I would recommend the bottom floor on the rooms adjacent to the pool. These first floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryj706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear ryj706,
Congratulations to you and your fiancé! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful Tripadvisor review. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of all that we have to offer. Great room tip! We look forward to welcoming you and your fiancé back soon!

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Property: Chaminade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065-1557
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing