We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Wedding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaminade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream Wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had such a wonderful wedding weekend at Chaminade. We just got married there in March 2014 and working with both Laura Manriquez (and Angela Edmond) was such an amazing experience. The rooms, the staff, the attention to detail, and the food! All were outstanding. Shannon the catering manager took such great care of us. She even had sandwiches and cookies & milk waiting for us in our honeymoon suite after the wedding reception which was incredible!! Laura could not be easier to work with. She is INCREDIBLE at her job as a wedding planner. Somehow Chaminade (and Laura!) managed to still have our wedding outside under the beautiful arbor on a rainy day- the rain stopped for 20 minutes for us to get married!! I can not say enough about Chaminade and the staff. If you're thinking about getting married there, do it! You, your family and your friends will LOVE it.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room with the Eucolyptus trees for a back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Mrs_B2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Congratulations on your dream wedding! We were all routing for you and your husband to get married outside and it happened! That 20 minute window was all that we needed to hustle out there, get the chairs ready for your guests, get you down the isle and we succeeded! We are so happy to have made your dream come true. Looking forward to welcoming you back for an anniversary or two (don't forget your cute pup as well!).

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    157
    114
    84
    51
See reviews for
196
232
23
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Chaminade for three days in between Christmas and New Yea's Eve 2012 to enjoy time with other relatives who also stayed at this lovely resort. I forgot to post my review until now, but the memories of our stay at this gorgeous place remains very vivid. The location is ideal - very quiet, almost secluded yet close to town, beaches, and shopping. We spent nearly all of our time at the resort, with the exception of one dinner out at a local restaurant. Chaminade offers a broad variety of amenities - suitable for everyone, every age in our group. We enjoyed the pool, the volleyball courts, the tennis courts, as well as the spacious rooms when all gathering to visit, play games and watch movies. I enjoyed the peacefulness of having my morning coffee on the patio just outside our room - beautiful, natural setting free of typical sounds of a city. The Sunday brunch was outstanding. As for the staff, all were pleasant, professional, and attentive to each of our diverse requests/needs. At the end of each day, my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed retreating to our comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated room to drift off to sleep in the most comfortable beds of any hotel or resort where we’ve previously stayed! I highly recommend Chaminade and will definitely stay here from now on when I visit the Santa Cruz area!

Room Tip: Our room on the ground level right across from the pool, but facing away from the pool and toward th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Rainy13,
What a beautiful review of our resort. So glad that you and your daughter had a fantastic time during the winter months of Santa Cruz. We look forward to another return visit in the near future!

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Chaminade is a wonderful place to stay. It is a very well-run place with lots of character and uniqueness as well as friendly and excellent service. The surroundings are amazing. Easily the best place to stay when in that area, regardless of whether the purpose is business, family vacation, or just a get-away for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
R.F,
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with other potentional guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This place is great! I really wish we stayed 2 nights instead of one. Before our visit, I emailed Chaminade to ask about some special requests for our anniversary and Jennifer Taylor responded back quickly. I must say, her customer service was excellent. Thank you Jennifer and all of the staff at Chaminade for making our anniversary perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Nathan,
Happy anniversary! We take such pride in going that extra step to make your special occasion extra special. It sounds like Jennifer made that happen for you and your wife. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took a stay-cation at Chaminade for my 30th birthday and had a wonderful time! The staff, the food, our room, the facility, and the views were superior! Everything was clean. The staff was friendly. The food was delicious. We were aided in our reservation by Cori DiMeo who set up a beautiful stay for us. The first person we encountered at check in was Molly who made sure we were comfortable and entertained while we waited for our room to be ready. Our service at Linwood's was awesome. Jennifer and Sarah made sure we had everything we needed and took great care of us! Would highly recommend staying here or just stopping by for a meal or drink with a view!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Leigha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. I'm delighted to hear the your 30th birthday celebration at our resort was a success! Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back for another stay-cation.

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Awesome stay! Great service.Clean room.Good food.Our 11 and 17 year old kids enjoyed there stay! Location was ideal! Safe.The best part were the fabulous hiking paths and the quiet surroundings.Will definitely recommend to anyone planning on visiting Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: Room downstairs across from pool and next to spa was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Martha,
Thank you for taking the time to review Chaminade Resort & Spa. Glad to hear the whole family enjoyed their stay!Come back soon.

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Granada, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

One has to experience this charming resort to fully appreciate what words can't describe. 80 A of quiet enchantment, hiking trails, pool, spa, hot tub, tennis, volleyball, beautiful wedding area overlooking spectacular Pacific Ocean, two fantastic restaurants, extremely friendly and accommodating staff with gardens and flowers everywhere. Great for family reunions, conferences, weddings, or just a memorable getaway. Close to Santa Cruz, yet quiet and serene.

Room Tip: Some rooms are near the pool, but quiet. Most have private patios or decks. Other rooms are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Gary,
Thanks for the "triple wow" review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other potential guests. Looking forward to your return.

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Property: Chaminade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065-1557
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing