We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful setting, close to Santa Cruz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“beautiful setting, close to Santa Cruz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

When you to to Chaminade you enter into an oasis of natural beauty. And you are only 10 minutes from Capitola/Santa Cruz. I was able to find deals on both Hotwire and Priceline. This is one of the few 4 star rated properties in the area. It may be overrated at 4 stars but still recommended.

Room Tip: ground floor - forest view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Gary,
Thank you for taking the time to review Chaminade Resort & Spa. Our location is what sets us apart from all other hotels in the Santa Cruz area - you nailed it on the head "...an oasis of natural beauty"

Thank you!
Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    159
    116
    84
    51
See reviews for
200
234
23
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I loved our stay at teh Chaminade Resort and Spa. The grounds are lovely and our room was really nice for the price. We had a very large room with a patio overlooking the hills and tennis courts. I would skip dinning there, but everything else was lovely. The food is okay, but the service leaves something to be desired. Plus, there are sooo many better places to eat in Capitola. This place reminds me of the San Diego Beach and Tennis club a little bit. Very charming.

Room Tip: Request a room in builidng 800, next to the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainsun88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mountainsun88,
Thank you fro taking the time to compose a review of our property. We love to hear feedback from guests and take all comments seriously and with intentions for improvement. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recently returned to the Chaminade for our work retreat. I'm taking the time to write a review because of their excellent customer service/ front desk person Laine Elliot. Ms. Elliot was not only polite and helpful, even after I went to see her about 15 times (ah the life of an event planner!), she still greeted me with a smile. She was always quick to get me answers or further assistance. Ms. Elliot was like an extra member of our away team. We even had one guest who was a bit difficult and took out some of his frustration on Ms. Elliot, but she handled it with grace and aplomb! I really appreciated all her assistance during our stay. The Chaminade is very fortunate to have someone of Ms. Elliot's caliber at their organization. It was a pleasure working with her! Thank you Laine for all your hard work and smile even when faced with countless questions and difficult personalities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Roxana,
Thank you for your kind comments about Laine Elliott. We've passed along you review for all staff to read and learn from. Laine's positive attitude and professional manner have made her a valuable Chaminade employee.

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We bought a discounted package on Travel Zoo and we used it for an anniversary night away. We had a great time, the grounds are beautiful and the staff is very helpful. The hotel sits on a small piece of the 300 acre property. The views from the main building where the restaurants and reception desk are located, were fabulous on the glorious days in May we were there. The rooms are not located in the main building, rather they are located in smaller buildings along the private road as you walk/drive to the main building. Our room was in the 100 Bldg. in room #111 directly next to the main bldg. First issue, limited parking. All parking in front of 100 is for valet so you need to drive up road and pray that you can find one of the limited spaces available before you get so far away that it is frustrating/angering. Down the road past the Spa, pool, tennis courts, etc, there is a large parking lot but far from where most rooms are located, especially ours. When got to our room, found that we got a view of the entrance circle and valet parking for main bldg., so not a great view. The rooms on other side of hall would look out into the forest around property. We were only there for one night on a discount package, so not too worried about view. We supposedly paid a premium on the deal to get a deluxe king room, not sure what was deluxe about it. The room was clean, had a sitting area with couch and a table, but bathroom was super tiny. Bed was nice, my wife slept well. I have a firmer memory foam type pillow at home and the super soft down pillows gave no support and hurt my neck all night. Thank goodness getting a massage the next day to work out that kink.

We ate dinner at their "signature" restaurant Linwood's, there is definitely better food at more reasonable prices a short dive away from the hotel. The views are beautiful and the service was fine, but I was not at all impressed with the food, which is the real reason to eat there. Also had breakfast at Sunset's the next morning and that was worse than dinner. They did not offer the buffet as published only expensive a la carte, and I was completely disappointed in the flavorless food I was served. Again, there is some good food close by, so go get it and then return to eat on the patio next to restaurant and enjoy the views, better for the pallet and wallet.

The walking trails around the property are pretty and a great escape. We did all three and went off on our own trails a little as well. Excellent way to stretch the legs and burn some calories in a magnificent environment. Some spots to catch a view of the bay, but mostly in the quiet solitude under the canopy of the redwoods.

The spa was nice, and possibly the closest thing to being worth the price paid. When walk in there is a lounge with coffee/tea and the gym area. Standard gym with some free weights, treadmills, stair and rowing machines. Then you walk into the Spa area and then out to their small private patio, which has a 3 ½' deep jacuzzi, a pleasant view unto hills and a small koi pond with waterfall for atmosphere. Of course while we were there, the gardener arrived outside the fence with his weed eater to pollute the air with both the sound and smell of his gas machine. So we retreated to the locker room for a sauna, but were disappointed when found that could not do it together. Sauna and steam rooms are in the gender specific locker rooms, so no opposite sex allowed. Did return to patio once racquet was over and enjoyed it. We had a couples massage and it was great. very attentive masseurs, who really gave both of us what we needed/wanted to enjoy the experience. Relaxed in the quiet room post massage and then went for a quick steam and shower. Overall we were at the spa for about 3 hours and took advantage of all the amenities, so got a lot of bang for our buck. Staff was very accommodating and even offered to order food for us from restaurant below, however, we passed.

Were I to return, I would be very careful and get very specific with WHICH ROOM I was booking. Some are next to pool and can get very loud with people and kids playing there as well as looking out at that, versus others that are more quiet and secluded with views of forest and mountains around.

So, for what I paid with my Travel Zoo package, I give the hotel a very good rating, however had I paid $250/night I would be very upset. At that price point they are competing with some other notable properties that are ON the ocean, not just views from miles away. Overall this is a a beautiful location for a hotel, and if you are an informed consumer, you may ensure that you get a room that meets your needs/expectations and is worth what you are paying. Go out to get food though, especially breakfast!!!

Room Tip: Ask questions about location of room. Some are right next to pool, tennis courts, etc and get loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinRunkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear KevinRunkle,
Thank you for taking the time to compose such a detailed review of our property. Your comments and suggestions have been communicated to the appropriate staff members. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your spa experience and took full advantage of the amenities.

Thank you again!

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Chaminade for a night in May as a short weekend gateaway from the city. Overall the resort met our expectations but it could use some updating, here are some pros/cons.

Pros:
- The service was fantastic. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful and interested in learning what they could do to make your stay better.
- The Spa was small but nice. My husband and I had couples massages and I wish we would have allowed more time to enjoy the back patio at sunset with the jacuzzi and a glass of wine.
- Fitness center is HUGE for a hotel facility and we loved the nature trails and tennis courts.

Cons:
- Pool area was a outdated and in a bit of strange location given the beauty of the area. Could have been more enjoyable with views of the valleys vs. in the middle of the resort surrounded by a fence and roads.
- The rooms were a bit outdated and dirty and buildings could use some overall updating.
- There were quite a few weddings going on the evening we were there so it was very noisey around midnight as people returned to their rooms and patios for after parties. We called the front desk but they advised they would give them 30 minutes to quiet down before coming to the building to ask them to quiet down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utahlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest “Utah Lovin”

On behalf of the entire Chaminade Team, thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff. We understand your concerns regarding our guest room product which is slated for renovation in 2015. We do hope to welcome you back for another great stay! Unfortunately, we will not be able to relocate the pool- but do keep an eye out for more developments.

Best,
Kevin Herbst, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had our daughters wedding at the Chaminade. What a great decision that was. Laura Manriquez, the wedding coordinator, was beyond outstanding in making sure everything went perfectly. The outdoor wedding was beautiful beyond belief and easily handled the 120 guests. I have never met a friendlier or more helpful staff. This was as close to perfection as it gets! Even the weather was perfect for the outdoor ceremony.

Room Tip: Take some of the hikes on the property. On one of the close hikes came upon a turkey with tail feat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Steve H.,
So glad to hear your daughters wedding was perfect. Thank you for taking the time praise our staff and resort. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had a quick one night stay with family en route from SF to SD. The hotel has a wonderful location and it was so perfect after the hustle and bustle or SF. We were given a junior suite and loved the space. The rooms need a little tlc. A rooms Reno will fix the tired and worn look super fast. The hotel has excellent wifi and grounds. Landscaping is beautiful and I loved the sound of birds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Amanda,
Our location definitely serves as a peaceful getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life. With over 300 hundred acres of natural beauty, we take pride in our beautiful flowering landscaping and it's so nice to hear comments about it. Regarding our rooms, we are in the final stages of planning a refresh and hope you will take time to stop by for another visit when completed.

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.1 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Property: Chaminade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065-1557
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing