We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean views and redwood surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Ocean views and redwood surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I've had the pleasure of staying at Chaminade twice, once for a conference and once on pleasure. I absolutely love the surroundings - walking trails, redwoods and ocean views. The conference activities/space included indoor and outdoor areas with beautiful views. The onsite restaurant has a heated outdoor space overseeing the valley and full bar. My spacious room included views of the redwoods. Staff were very professional and valet parking is included. If you're looking for a relaxing and beautiful environment with the "away from it all" feeling, this is your place. And next visit, the spa!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Stephanie,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our property. You must enjoy the spa on your next visit, so peaceful, relaxing and soothing. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    159
    116
    84
    51
See reviews for
201
234
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I found this resort online not having known anything about it before. I picked it for location and price. I was pleasantly surprised to find it has a lot more going for it than just this. Fantastic views outside my room window of a redwood forest - no need to close the drapes for privacy! The room was small but comfortable - it would have been a little cramped for more than one person. Bathroom was nice enough and it had a lighted vanity mirror (5 stars on that!). I didn't really take advantage of any of the spa or resort amenities although I did sit by the pool for an hour so I was kind of annoyed by the $25/day resort fee. Maybe there should be a checklist of facilities that people do use and get charged accordingly, rather than one charge fits all. I had dinner outside at Linwood's. It was a lovely nght, view was nice and the food was pretty good. The server was very nice and helpful. However, I wanted a half order of an appetizer and was told they don't do that. Why not???

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I have noted your concerns and questions to make improvements as needed. Please join us again!

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Service was good and breakfast buffet was excellent. Nice wooded resort but needs updating. Did not get to visit the spa and pool facilities. Bar was nice with a distant view if the bay. Lots of families and pets so seems to be popular for that.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Lori,
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We definitely take pride on servicing our guests at a four diamond level. Please do come back and experience the spa and rest of the resort activities, you won't be sorry. And stay tuned for renovations in 2015!

Sincerely,
Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We found a great deal on Hotwire when other area hotels were packed and surprisingly expensive. Having heard such good things about Chaminade, we were s a little surprised to find it a much less upscale than we had imagined. But it's a nice hotel and nice to be away from the beach up in the hills. Still close to everything but set back. Rooms are in small 2- story groups they call villas, but feel more like mini motels. The property is really spread out. We were happy to get a room in a villa near the reception area. Getting to the pool, fitness center or spa from there would have been a schlep. But we were there for a concert downtown, so close was good. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a patio and no view. The decor was nothing special, maybe a little weird. The patio looked to be set up for smokers, not for comfort or privacy: 2 chairs, a small table and ash tray, open slat fence separating you from the parking lot. Room rates did not include a mandatory $25 service fee which covers amenities you may or may not use. Since we didn't use them, it felt like a way to squeeze a little more money from us - and kind of petty. The property includes some thinking trails in the hills. We didn't have time to use them, but wish we had. The pool was completely packed when we drove by, so we weren't tempted by it. The restaurant area had a beautiful view, probably the best thing about the hotel. They say they have free wifi, but if you ask, it's one of the service amenities you pay extra for.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want to be close to reception and the restaurant or near the pool and spa. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camdonsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for the kind comments on the resort! Looking forward to having you back, you will love the trails and yes our restaurant has incredible views…..we do recommend reservations however.

We also appreciate the comments on the “Resort Fee” it really is quite common. Rather than hit our guests with parking-internet-fitness center ect. We bundled all into a resort fee. We will however make mention of the disclosure with the vendor you booked your room with to ensure they are including in the rates they are quoting.

Again, many thanks for the review. Looking forward to having you back at Chaminade soon!

Sincerely,
Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Resort may only be a 3 or 4 Starr level but location and surroundings are definitely 5 Star!! Beautiful mountain top views of the Pacific all under a canopy of eucalyptus trees. Food was very good and staff were excellent

Room Tip: top floors better choice, eleven two level buildings, building 600 is across from heated outdoor poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1827rjb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We definitely think our 200 acres is one of the many reasons our guests come back time and time again.

Sincerely,
Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here while attending a wedding. The grounds were beautiful ; the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very attentive. We would highly recommend this resort to any any of our friends

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melhemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Glad you had a wonderful time and thank you for the five star review! Looking forward to your return visit with us.

Sincerely,
Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This property sits on very beautiful woodsy grounds, but the rooms look like they are 20 or more years out of date. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a large fitness center, but the equipment is pretty dated, needs an upgrade. The doors to the rooms slam shut and are very noisy, so if your neighbor doesn't hold the door there are loud bangs late at night and early in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Joe G.,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Our 200 acres is one part that keeps guests coming back time and time again. Stay tuned with our renovation plans in 2015.

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.1 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Property: Chaminade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065-1557
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing