We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Looking Do Not Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surf City Inn & Suites
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Maciel P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Am I on candid camera??? Lets start by saying I am not picky at all so I am hoping you heed my warning about this place. I didnt take other reviews seriously, but they are not kidding. Check in took 45 minutes with a rude young lady at the desk who couldn't find my online reservation, gave someone a key to another persons room-who they walked in on while the person was getting dressed! Then the person occupying the room had to get another key because their key would no longer work. She then proceeded to help other patrons that came in after me first all this in the first 45 minutes. She was VERY rude! There is more but I can't fit it all in here. The room is large but stained and dirty and has a weird smell. Definitely not recommended. Pay extra and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Didn't even get greeted at the front office. Bad management....got a different price over the phone...asked for an email confirmation and never got it although they claim to have sent it twice which is BULL#!¥#!!
Very very dirty looking should've went to a motel 6 would've been much cleaner for my kids. I wouldn't stay here again even if it was a free room. Bathroom was stinky and wall was moldy. Blanket had stains. Carpet was dirty. Read the reviews and had some good and bad reviews so I thought I give it the benefit of the doubt but I wished I hadn't. Oh forgot to mention that my room wasn't even ready at 4pm when check in is at 3. Got here early at 2:30 and didn't want to pay an extra $30 for early check in so we went down the street to grab a bite to eat only to come to a room still occupied by the cleaning lady. I don't even want to go look at the pool!! I'm glad for those that had a pleasant stay I only wish me and my family had one too!! I don't recommend any family with young ones to stay here. We had to put the blanket from the bed onto the floor so my kids can walk around the rooms. How sad is that!?!?!? Oh forgot to mention that the lock/latch on our front window didnt work either. Definitely stay away from this place! Yuck!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sillygirls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPGM, General Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

From your review it is concerning to us that you had a bad experience at our hotel and I will look into the confusion at the Front Desk regarding your reservation and lack of confirmation. The Housekeeping and Maintenance departments are working hard every day to clean and maintain the property and if a guest is unhappy about a particular room, changing rooms is an alternative. The new ownership took over just before the peak Summer Season and with it being so busy and rooms occupied, has not had the opportunity to renovate the rooms as yet. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz in the New Year, come see Beachway’s new look in the future.

KP, General Manager
Beachway Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

First off, they assigned us a room that was already occupied. It took 3 tries to FINALLY get a room. And the room we got was disgusting. Furniture looked like it was from the 1960's. The beds are bowed in the middle. The dressers and cupboards are filthy-looking. The bathroom was nasty. The floor looks like they haven't cleaned it in years. We checked for bed bugs, and immediately started looking for other accomodations. The walls are smeared, yellowed, just unsanitary looking. Do not stay here. Please be forewarned, it is gross, nasty, and it's shameful to even think they can call this a hotel. It should be closed down due to unsafe, unsanitary conditions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandySan398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPGM, General Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties checking in at the hotel as there certainly must have been a mix up with room allocation at the Front Desk. I will address that with the Front Desk Manager to make sure that does not happen again. The Hotel is older and has outdated furniture but it is a good value with a great location. The new Owner has slated the hotel for renovation to start right after the busy Summer Season which will give it a fresh look. We will still offer a good value such as free parking, complimentary continental breakfast and free wifi for our guests and do hope you will come back and stay with us.

KP, General Manager
Beachway Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I checked a bunch of rooms online for two beds and couldn't find anything decent for a hundred bucks,so we just winged it. We found this one within walking distance to the boardwalk. Literally like Two blocks away. The room had the beds in separate rooms. It was almost like a one bedroom apartment. Lots of room especially for our daughter to stay out of the way. It had a refrigerator and a microwave and even a fan. The TV worked and the bed wasn't uncomfortable and they had lots of towels. The parking was great and we parked right in front of.pdf room and even left a few times and came back and still parked close. The front desk clerk was friendly and I will most definitely try this place again if I'm in the area. The ONLY downside was that the other room had no TV or fan so our daughter had to share the TV. But we we're hardly in the room anyways

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jjnlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPGM, General Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us recently and that the Family Suite made your stay even better. We pride ourselves on providing a good value especially for traveling families. We hope that you will come back and stay with us soon as the new Owner will be updating the property.

KP, General Manager
Beachway Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was traveling on business and stayed at the Beachway for one night. I had checked out other properties in the vicinity and chose this one to stay at with the expectation that it was a good value. The employees were nice, check in was easy and I was given a room on the second floor over the Lobby. The room was big, king bed and a nice sitting area. True there was no air conditioner but with the window open, I had a nice cross breeze.

This is a nice place to stay for the rates you pay being within walking distance to all. If you go with the expectation that it is a budget motel, then you won't be disappointed. There was free parking, a free continental breakfast, free wifi and a pool and spa which I did not have the opportunity to use.

I spoke to the Owner who just recently purchased the property and he is working hard to address concerns of the previous guests. It is really busy in Santa Cruz during the Summer so I look forward to coming back when it is a bit quieter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginiart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPGM, General Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Business Traveler ~ We offer business travelers a good location and a good rate along with some amenities like free parking, free wifi and business services at the front desk. We look forward to staying with us again in the near future.

KP, General Manager
Beachway Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My kids almost cried when we checked in. The lobby is tiny, took 10 minutes to get service, as some other poor customers were asking why they didn't have any towels, and others wondered why there were no sheets on the beds. at 6:30 at night. Dirty room, old heater, peeling paint EVERYWHERE. The pool & jaccuzzi had peeling paint, and so much chlorine you couldn't see the bottom of either. The rooms were tiny, only about 10 stations on the tv. you have to leave the windows open in the summer, because there's no AC. the trash truck came under our window at 5:00 am. I booked through travelocity, and prepaid, and they re-charged my card. The manager was very polite about refunding the money, but even though he gave me a receipt that says refund on it, 3 days later the money has not been refunded. the continental breakfast was tiny horrible cinnamon rolls, instant oatmeal, cold cereal, and coffee. they ran out of everything quickly, and were slow to replenish. The bathroom didn't look like it had been cleaned. There was no stopper in the sink. Don't go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPGM, General Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest ~ we apologize that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. As with any busy time there are many people wishing to check in all at once and we try to accommodate by having at least 2 to 3 people at the front desk to assist. With the press of many guests, we strive to keep up with demand in housekeeping as well as breakfast items. Since the new Owner just recently purchased the hotel and being sold out almost every night, it has been difficult to address some of the concerns of previous travelers but I can assure you that the items you noted are on target for repair. The Beachway is an affordable place to stay near all and we hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future.

KP, General Manager
Beachway Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
513 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#37 of 54 in Santa Cruz
688 reviews
0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#41 of 54 in Santa Cruz
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Breeze Inn
Aqua Breeze Inn
#42 of 54 in Santa Cruz
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf City Inn & Suites

Address: 619 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5125 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Cruz
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £45 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf City Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Family-focused budget motel close to famous Beach Boardwalk. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is a ten-minute walk to the Pacific Ocean where sun-filled days and peaceful sunsets entertain visitors in this Northern California surf city. Surf City Inn & Suites focuses on the affordable family experience with a quiet policy after 10 p.M. An on-site indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and the skate park across the street are popular with guests of all ages. Enjoy an affordable stay that's close to the action of the Santa Cruz beach lifestyle. Highlights Indoor heated swimming pool and spa (seasonal) Free morning juice, coffee and pastries Walk to the beach, pier and Boardwalk in 10 minutes No noise policy after 10pm Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is a two-story building with 63 basic motel rooms. Each room is equipped with necessities including a coffee-maker, hairdryer and satellite TV. Family suites have two bedrooms. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all units. Features Grab a newspaper, coffee, juice and pastries each morning in the lobby. Kick back while the kids swim in the indoor pool (heated seasonally). An on-site hot tub is heated and open year round. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is located in a suburban center with several restaurants in close proximity. Santa Cruz Skate Park is across the street. The bustling beachfront is just four blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surf City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Cruz Riviera Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing