We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food with a view”
Review of Dolphin Restaurant

Dolphin Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Dolphin Restaurant, we have something for everyone. Join us in our dining room for our favorites including everything from an eclectic breakfast menu to our traditional fish & chips. Or if you prefer, dine outdoors on the only outdoor patio on the Wharf. Our walk-up to-go window always has both visitors and locals lining up for our great seafood, clam chowder bread bowls, and a selection of American classics, like burgers and fries. We are also proud to announce that we now have an in-house smoker, serving some of the best quality BBQ. Our mouth-watering pulled pork, baby back ribs, brisket, and other smoked delicacies. Dolphin Restaurant has delicious options for everyone including the kiddos, so come visit the beautiful Wharf and enjoy a bite to eat at the Dolphin!
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Tasty food with a view”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This restaurant at the end of the wharf has eating areas inside and outside. Even though we sat outside on a cool sunny day it was warm enough as there is a glass screen surrounding the eating area. I had tasty food which was well cooked, namely a starter of clam chowder followed by crab cakes. The cost was reasonable namely $15.95. Service was efficient and pleasant. Well worth stopping here if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    55
    32
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food with great views”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Some of us like the food more than others, but the spacious patio dining lifts the Dolphin above other restaurants on the wharf where you arm wrestle for a window table. Its not a place where you'll find the locals, unless they are taking guests to the wharf and want to enjoy being outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mahadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved our food and the view”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Today was one of those perfect Santa Cruz summer days. Warm, light breeze, and plenty of people watching. Could resist taking out of down guests to the Wharf for lunch. Everyone loved their meals. FIsh and chips were a hit, being very crispy and delivery piping hot. My nephew had the calamari and nearly ate it all and he is only 5! They serve only beer and wine, and the birds can be annoying, but being able to sit outside and enjoy sunshine and fresh air was perfection! The waiter serve was very attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nsnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California, United States
Level Contributor
619 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Decent food & a great view”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Breakfast, lunch and dinner on the ocean end of the Santa Cruz Wharf. Listen to the Sea Lions under the wharf while you dine inside or outside of the restaurant. The views are stunning and you will see sea lions, ocean birds, kayakers, surfers and may see a pod of dauphins. We had breakfast so I can't speak to the seafood menu but the breakfast menu was fine and they were friendly enough to serve us breakfast, even though we were 30 minutes past the breakfast cut-off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unionville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice location....bland food.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We sat at The Dolphin for lunch and while it was nice dining on the pier, the food was pretty lousy. We had oysters which were warm and the chowder was thick, but not a whole lot of clams. I had the red snapper which I had to continuously drench with lemon to give it flavor. However, I did dine with a couple senior citizens and they enjoyed their meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrybryn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing