We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time or money.”

Gilda's Family Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 369 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Don't waste your time or money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was so disappoint with this place. The food was very bland. I got the fish & chips basket and my husband ate the calamari basket. Over heard another patron ask the waitress if they still made the Ravioli from scratch. The waitress replied "No Not since Gilda died". Maybe this place was great when Gilda was alive but not now. Save your money, don't eat here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marysol52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    94
    62
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice old style food and dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

This old fashioned little diner is sweet and situated along the pier/wharf. Us 2 ladies really enjoyed our meals. The clam chowder was tasty and my chicken parmigiana was cooked beautifully and the vegetables were al dente, which is rare. Very tasty and at a very reasonable price. The service was good and we were seated quickly. Hope to go again one day when I'm in the area. Thank u :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thejetsetters2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Breakfast was good. Had the strawberry waffle with real strawberries instead of the berries in that red sauce which I really liked.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aprill18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clam Chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Nice lunch, soup, bread, calamari, and wine. Clam chowder bowls only $8.00 but of course we bought other stuff! Ate outside and dodged flying birds!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank theoceanisforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful place on the Wharf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Gilda's is not fancy, but it delivers good, reasonably priced food in a friendly, down-home atmosphere. Their Crab Louis salad is outstanding! Great views from windows on both sides of the restaurant, which is a real plus.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank olive2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilda's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gilda's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing