We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Surfrider Cafe

Surfrider Cafe
Ranked #24 of 374 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Clarita
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This restaurant is in a tiny little strip mall but worth the trip. The menu has a good variety and even had a hard time deciding but the food is fantastic. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and I look forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vbalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    52
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good, But Nothing Special”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

By no means am I trying to bash this place, but it simply is what it is....average. We stopped by on our way home after spending all day at the boardwalk/beach. I have to say, the service was really good. They seated 6 adults and 6 children in a quick and friendly fashion. From reading the menu our mouth was watering and we couldn't decide what to get , the problem was that once the food came it kind of let us down. Again, it wasn't bad, it just wasn't what we expected.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elchaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“just a hole in the wall, but the food is exceptional”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

not knowing where to go for dinner, i consulted the yelp pages and found surfrider. i ordered 3 simple sliders with cheddar and a side salad. hubby had the coconut prawns with fries. my sliders were excellent. just what i'd expected and wanted. with a slice of lettuce, pickle and tomato - perfect! side salad was exceptional. cucumber, tomato, sunflower seeds and assortment of greens, beets, carrots.

hubby's prawns were to die for. the fries were SO good.

gaby was our server and kept my coke refills coming. she was great. friendly, funny, enthusiastic. loved her.

by the time we left, the restaurant was pretty well filled - some tourist types, many locals...

:)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soledad, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Avocado Fries”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well, first, I have to say that the staff was super friendly and made room for a group of 7 in just a few minutes. We did not wait very long and we didn't have reservations. I got a chicken sandwich with mushrooms grilled onions and peppers, but the chicken was very bland. Ordered Parmesan garlic fries, but they didn't impress me much either. I think this place was overrated according to others who said this place was excellent. But one thing I have to say is that prices are great and the avocado fries are to die for! I would go back just to order that!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee93960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food... service - meh”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Food was outstanding!.. good sized portions and the avocado fries were made to perfection. The food had great flavor and was just an absolute treasure of a place to eat at...

However, the service was pretty bad. We were waiting for a table for about 45 minutes when it honestly didn't need to take that long if certain tables were adjusted. I understand it's busy and i'm not a pushy type of person... but, let's be honest.. it didn't need to take that long.

The waitress forgot quite a bit of things and we understood because she was running around... but she didn't have THAT many tables. What I was able to surmise was that she was running around because she would actually forget a lot of what people were asking for haha.

Aside from that... it's tasty and well worth giving the place a try if you're out in the area. Unless, you're a person that puts service over food ... then buckle your seat belts folks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrew a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surfrider Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Surfrider Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing