We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Thai Food”

Thai Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #227 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place has pretty good Thai food, one of the best choices in town. Prices are fair and parking is never an issue. Service was good, friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend saving room for desert. The fried banana with coconut ice cream is terrific. If you have never had it, it is a must try. The Thai iced tea is also good here. I had the pad Thai and it was good. Sometimes it can be overly sweet at places.Not so for this place. I am a fan and would not hesitate to return here. You get good food, friendly service for a good value and the ambiance is decent as well..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food - amazing”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The best Thai food we've had since visiting Thailand 5 years ago. So pleased we called in - looks a little dated but the food is excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aramahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not very good”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Slow service, lunch for two was more then double what we normally spend for a thai lunch. I wouldn't go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Old_Porsche_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Hood
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quick, easy and reliable”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped by here for a quick lunch while on a road trip down the one. It was simple clean and we were quickly back on the road. It was a quiet no frills experience and provided exactly what we needed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themchn211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bangkok-trained chef, good food, serene settng”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This inexpensive family restaurant is a neighborhood favorite. The Thai chef's British husband acts as host/manager and everything we've tried on the extensive menu has been very tasty. Try the Tiger Cry salad with spicy beef or any of the seafood dishes, which are a specialty. This is a good place to go If you actually want to talk to your companion, as it is blissfully calm and quiet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tidetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Orchid Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing