We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superlative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Range

The Range
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superlative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Great food and better service. Make the drive and go there. You will not be disappointed. The wine list was fabulous and reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Central Coast Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Behind the very deceptively bland exterior is a real find in great food, atmosphere, and service.

My observations after a terrific time with local friends who were anxious to try it last night:

Great choices: stinking rose pizzette, flatiron steak, licorice root cream strawberry dessert and sweet tea. Also the fabulous bread basket brought to the table (love the spicy cornbread!)

Good but not great: crawfish cakes appetizer

Atmosphere/decor: Colorful Classic country music albums

Service: personable and attentively fast

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bruinjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Using local sustainable produce and meet, each dish is just to die for. A must in the Central Coast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Krysia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food! Good Wines! Fun Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is our favorite restaurant! Every time we return we are reminded of how consistently good this place is. My husband ordered Elk steak and it was incredibly delicious and tender. We always order their irrestible appetizers and salads. The salads are made from the freshest, organic greens and the presentation is so appealing. The wine list is excellent. And, we always finish our meal with one of their amazing and creative desserts. The service is always outstanding with the staff being very friendly and knowledgeable about all of the food and wine. The motto here is good wine with a country atmosphere - the music, the decor and the attitude is a reflection of this. Dining here is such a great experience! No reservations! No credit cards! But worth the wait! Buen Provecho!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill6843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Went to the range for my husbands birthday,with are great friends. Had a salad and filet it was fabulous everything was so good. Birthday desert rhubarb with ginger shell and ice cream.The range does not take reservations so give yourself lots of time.no credit cards accepted. The patio area is inclosed with heaters very nice inside great for couples.great wine list. The range is a treat for special occasions the range has an eclectic but very cool atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenMasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Range also viewed

Santa Margarita, San Luis Obispo County
Santa Margarita, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
Santa Margarita, San Luis Obispo County
 
Santa Margarita, San Luis Obispo County
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to The Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing