We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, esp. for an extended stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Hayward, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“great, esp. for an extended stay”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Everything you need for cooking/eating, business work and entertaining in your room. Well laid out, even in standard suites. And there are many items they can bring you on request (ie: crockpots, larger cooking items, etc) Groceries are within walking distance. The rooms were updated and attractive. A bit tricky finding the entrance because it isn't on the busy main drag that the hotel sits on.

Room Tip: rooms facing the parking lot are quieter than the busy street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    72
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
46
77
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

At the outset we were impressed by the warm welcome that we received from the front desk manager, José. His dining recommendations were spot on as were his tips on things to do locally. The accommodation has its own kitchen which was useful. The room was spacious and comfortable.

Bath/shower fantastic, softest water (and towels) we've ever experienced.

The Hotel has a free, self service laundry that we found extremely useful. There is a small 24 hr shop within the property for guests run on an honour system and a free DVD library. Outside is a small barbecue area that we saw other guests using.
The, recommended, local Drive In Movie is a must as was the 'Tri Tip' sandwich (meal) at The Swiss restaurant, also recommended by José.
All staff helpful and friendly. A great place to stop over between LA and San Francisco or for visiting the Pismo Beach area.

Room Tip: Our room faced onto the main road but the sound proofing was excellent even for a light sleeper. I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mycroft M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA during your visit to California’s Central Coast region. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again when visiting our area.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Pros - Very nice, helpful employees. Clean room, good bathroom, great size, and convenient in-room facilities. Good little sundries store that wasn't outrageously priced.
Cons - AC turns off when you leave the room. Result: it's hot when you come back, especially in the bathroom, so you have to crank up the AC. Also, we weren't completely sure, but it seemed the AC would turn itself down at night so we would wake up really hot. Result: crank up the AC in the middle of the night.
Bed was overly firm for our taste. Maybe they could provide soft mattress toppers to address this.

Green Features: I guess turning off the AC is environmentally friendly. I wonder how much they actually save as we continually turned the temps down to way lower than we normally would to get the room and bathroom at a comfortable temp.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artlovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit. We try our best to make sure that these types of items are noticed by our staff prior to our guest checking in. I have made the necessary recommendations to the maintenance department to review the situation. Your comments are very important to us, so giving us this information is instrumental in the success of our company.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

From the moment we arrived I knew we would enjoy our stay. Candlewood Suites was just like home. The service from the staff was exceptional, they went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and were spacious. The kitchenette was great. The best part is you can take your pet. Our room had a queen size bed and was very reasonably priced. (One thing to note is the rooms are not serviced each day). During our stay at Candlewood Suites the staff recommended a drive in movie. This was fantastic, we had never been to anything like it before. If you are in Santa Maria this is a great thing to do. It was $7 each and we watched two new movies (Planes and Dispicable Me 2). You can take you own food and drink if you wanted to our you can purchase from the shop there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stell_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA during your visit to California’s Central Coast region. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again when visiting our area.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

You can't beat the deal on this place. For $89.00/night plus 10% room tax you get: a good queen bed and flat panel TV with 38 channels, large closet, two burner electric stovetop, refrigerator, microwave, a couple of sets of dishes and flatware, some pots and pans, iron and ironing board, small kitchen sink with disposer, laundry room, and a small fitness room (two treadmills and two resistance machines). How do you beat that? Downsides if you plan to stay a while--internet connection slow; location on the north side of town, while most goods and services you might need for a long stay seem to be midtown or southside, though a FoodMax is close and they have a great two pound rotisserie chicken for $5.99.

I had stayed here before and had a bad experience at check-in. In the first room they gave me, the thermostat had been ripped out of the wall and taken. Who does that? But why the housekeeper didn't report it is beyond me. No, wait--it's that "that's not my job" attitude. Anyway, I leave my stuff and go back to the front desk. The clerk gives me another room. I go to that room, open it up, and it's occupied!!! Luckily, the guy was out. Great security, eh? The third room was fine, and unoccupied.

For now I’ll assume the first visit foul-ups were due to an idiot desk clerk who is no longer employed there. I’ll be back on my next trip to the Central Coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites for your recent stay in Santa Maria, CA. We have read your comments about our hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

We understand that you have many options in the marketplace, and are pleased that you have made Candlewood Suites your premier choice for lodging accommodations.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taft
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I had to travel to Santa Maria to take a test and needed a place to rest and do last minute studying. Everything was very clean and the hotel is located near a large grocery store so I stocked up on everything I needed to prepare for my test. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. The staff was friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Our first trip back to Santa Maria that didn't include a stay with family due to plumbing issues we were excited because the speedway had a special at Candlewood Suites. At the time of reservations they said there were dates they don't honor the special rate but didn't say when yet we were making the reservations. After check in we opened the door to the room and wow we were pleasantly surprised! After seeing many pets in the lobby and reading the 2 star rating we didn't expect much. There are no sign of pets in the room, smelly food being made in the kitchenettes or smoke. The laundry was free and spacious, the workout room was perfect, the staff was very friendly, location great, safety was abundant but most of all it's so clean with much thought into what their guest would need. We would stay here again for sure if it wouldn't hurt our families feelings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA during your visit to California’s Central Coast region. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again when visiting our area.

Best regards,


Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
5.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Big America
Best Western Plus Big America
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
688 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Santa Maria
Days Inn Santa Maria
#8 of 21 in Santa Maria
259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Property: Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Address: 2079 Roemer Ct, Santa Maria, CA 93454-1107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Santa Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites is located in Santa Maria California, nestled in the foothills of Santa Barbara County Wine Country. Guests will experience California’s Central Coast beauty, championship golf courses, pristine beaches, performing arts, world famous barbecue, succulent strawberries and picking farms, hiking, festivals and award winning wineries for touring and tasting.Candlewood Suites Santa Maria provides guests with a fitness center, Gazebo BBQ, free guest laundry facility, a complimentary business center, IHG Rewards Club Program and complimentary Internet. Minutes from Candlewood Suites Santa Maria you will find a variety of restaurants, family entertainment, attractions and nightlife. Designed to provide the business traveler and the leisure traveler with extended stay comfort, accommodations offer a kitchen equipped with stove top, full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, plate, silverware, glassware and cookware. Suites also host pillow top mattress, recliner chair, flat panel TV, in-room DVD player & free DVD library. Nearby businesses include Vandenberg Air Force Base, Northrup Grumman Mission Systems, Ratheon, Boeing, Denmat, Marian Medical Center, Santa Maria Speedway, California Space Authority, Cal Trans, Santa Maria Fairpark, Haggerman Sports Complex and Santa Maria Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing