We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of way gem”

Atari-Ya Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 223 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Out of way gem”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but the food is good. I was told the sushi chef had 37 years experience here and in Japan. Very friendly staff. Lots of locals coming in and out calling them by name. A nice family place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
1 review
“sushi”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

sushi very fresh, good service clean and there oyster shooters are the bomb.... will be coming back for more....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PHILLIP O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Hidden Japanese restaurant. It is a great spot with great food owned and staffed by the original japanese owners.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank enioao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old sckool sushi”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

They have good sushi bar and returning local happy customers

Helpful?
Thank victorandeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT SERVICE!”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We are locals, and as locals we tend to find restaurants that we like and stick with them! Atari-Ya Japanese Restaurant is one of those! We frequent this restaurant probably twice or three times a month - have birthdays in their back room, or out front depending on the size of our party, and go there at lunch while working. We have had them make platters for our business open houses, as well as for home functions. The food is excellent, the service you cannot beat! The servers and cooks have been there for - well, as long as I've been going (12+ years?) so they really know the menu. They say 'hi' and 'goodbye' upon your arrival/departure. The owner usually finds us to say 'hi' personally since we've been going there forever. She is so sweet! They always make you feel welcome! (Oh - the miso-soy dressing on the salad is to-die-for!) Go there once and you'll be back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pattyouellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atari-Ya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Atari-Ya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing