We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay, good value but a couple of quirks.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay, good value but a couple of quirks.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

We stayed at the Santa Maria Inn while in the area for a weekend of wine tasting. I contacted the hotel directly and booked a N/S King in the "historic" part of the property. I also booked the hotel's Wine Package.

Overall impression is good and it's a terrific value. Reception was friendly and helpful. The property itself is fairly well maintained and comfortable. We had a corner room on the ground floor in the original hotel building which dates back to 1917. I really liked the room. It was spacious with windows on two walls and looked out over the courtyard and fountain. Very comfortably furnished with an updated bathroom. There is high speed internet in the room however it is a wired connection with a fairly long network cable. We did pick up a good strong wireless connection which appeared to be provided by the hotel.

The major failing for me was the condition of the hallway leading to our room. They are using several of the banquet rooms behind the restaurant as food prep or storage areas and every time we went to our room we felt like we were walking through the kitchen. Plus the floor is covered with plastic matting which only added to the industrial feeling.

As I mentioned, we booked the wine package which included full buffet breakfast for each day plus we received complimentary wine tastings in the Wine Cellar and a discount on any wine purchases. The best value though was th packet of coupons we received with free tasting at approx 12 wineries. And we were provided with a delicious boxed lunch which we enjoyed at one of the wineries. If I remember correctly the additional cost was $30 for the package so definitely a great value.

I would absolutely stay here again and can easily recommend it to my friends.

  • Liked — Location and the hotel's Wine Package
  • Disliked — Walking through the kitchen to get to my room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    262
    121
    52
    44
See reviews for
213
277
37
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

I stayed here over a busy President's Day weekend in 2008, and they said they were in the midst of remodeling most of the older rooms, so this apparently did create some confusion, but there were still problems that I encountered that made me disappointed.
I received a last-minute booking for the weekend due to a glitch in their computer system which can apparently lead the clerks to believe a room is open when it's not. (Hello, Earth to hotel manager, get this fixed!) Fortunately, they keep an extra room in reserve for their apparent numerous problems on this level. When I was checking in, I heard other people complaining about reservations problems. I was also told when I checked out that it was ridiculous for the clerk to think this room was open as all of the older rooms were being remodeled and were closed. Hopefully, if I ever return again, all the remodeling issues will be over with. The room they gave me was up on the 5th floor in the new room tower and was very nice and roomy and clean. So I can't fault them too much on the glitch issue.

This is sort of an out of the way place if you're doing the wine tasting route all over Santa Ynez, but the charm of the garden area and the fact they allow dogs is a plus. I tried to eat dinner for the first time in their dining room, and once again they were having a problem because they're also remodeling their kitchen, so they couldn't accommodate that many people in their dining room (or so they said.) I stood there for 10 minutes and was ignored, my name not even taken. This was actually a fortuitous event. When I asked in the lobby about the possibility of getting room service food, someone recommended Shaw's Restaurant across the street. Great tip! It's an awesome locals steakhouse with delicious Santa Maria seasoned steaks and tri-tip.

In the morning when I had my free breakfast buffet I arrived late (10:30), but they still got me a few breakfast items. They were readying for their Sunday brunch later (which is delicious, by the way), and the manager was YELLING so loudly at the staff I could hardly wait to get out of there. Even if there's just one customer around, don't you think it's rude to do that? You're showing in front of your customers how disrespectful you are to your staff and how insecure you are.

Anyway, I think this place could be a lot better with a management overhaul. Hint to owner.

  • Liked — I like their gardens and the fact they accept dogs
  • Disliked — Poor management, room reservation problems, dining room problems, yelling manager
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

I'm with triscuitboy - this place is trying to look like a much nicer hotel than it is. It looks very posh as you drive in, and the lobby area has been nicely remodeled, but the room we stayed in was in need of remodeling, and oddly cheap overall in little ways -- I had to sleep in full pajamas because the sheets were so scratchy, the towels were equally scratchy and made my skin itch, and the pillows felt like giant Styrofoam lumps. Both the refrigerator and the air-conditioning unit were so loud as to be completely unusable. On the plus side, the staff was nice when we complained.
None of these things would've been a big deal if the hotel had been some inexpensive chain or in a major city or tourist destination. But for $156 (excluding tax) in a small town miles from wine country, a traveler's got a right to expect more.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinggirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2007

We stayed in a double room here as a overnight hop-off point on our 3 day long highway-1 self drive LA- SFO expedition in Feb'07.
Hotel is located on the main road , had no difficulty in locating with free parking. Rooms were of good size with free internet access. The is a free buffet breakfast offered in the morning with good enough selection of fruits/breads and juice though hot selections are limited. Overall, we would recommend this hotel for highway-1 expediters.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank q4quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2007

Kinda cheesy, like it wants to be a nice hotel but isn't. It will do in a pinch. Nice staff.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank triscuitboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

overall a nice place with friendly staff, but I would not stay here again. we had a room in the new tower with 2 queen beds. The mattresses were barely more comfortable than sleeping on the floor - they were SO HARD !! be advised, unless you like really firm mattresses. There were 3 of us in the family and no one slept well.

  • Liked — good location for the central coast area
  • Disliked — rock hard mattresses
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank carolatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony, France
Level Contributor
346 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2007

We only spent one night in this hotel but if we had time we would stay more time!

It is beautiful, rooms are airy and clean, staff is very nice and restaurant is excellent. No more thing to tell about it except that some movie stars stayed in this hotel.

  • Liked — Hotel by itself (style)!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#5 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn

Property: Santa Maria Inn
Address: 801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Maria Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a historic, full-service property located in the heart of Santa Maria along California's beautiful Central Coast. We offer an award-winning Garden Room Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, an Olde English Tap Room and a Wine Cellar and Martini Bar. We also feature an on site massage therapist, heated pool and spa, sauna, fitness facility, salon and barber. We are only minutes from the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, championship golf, beaches and shopping. Secure your reservations now or take advantage of one of our many packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing