We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute refuge...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Santa Maria - South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Motel 6 Santa Maria - South
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Last minute refuge...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and two sons stayed here out of sheer necessity after I failed to book a room for us in a timely manner. Although, I have seen worst places, this is exactly what you would expect for a roadside motel. If they put half the effort into maintaining the rooms as they do the lobby, this would be a great place to stay. The lobby and check in window were immaculate. The room, however, was about as rundown as you can get. There were holes in the carpet. The room just smelled old. Even with every light in the place turned on, the room still was dark and dreary. You just could not get enough light into it. The shower floor gave a little as if it were going to fall in when you stood on it. And this was an "upgraded" room.

I do have to say that there was a lot of construction going on while we were there. Supposedly, they are updating the rooms. The staff was courteous as we had no problem getting extra pillows and towels when we requested them.

All in all, I would stay here again, but only out of dire necessity. Lesson learned...never wait until the last minute to book a room.

Room Tip: Get a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    11
    13
    26
See reviews for
17
21
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This was the first hotel I ever stayed in that I felt I would come out of the shower more dirty then going in. The beds were bad and the sheets didn't cover the mattress. All the furniture looks from the 1980s. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Stay at another place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chase A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Maria hotels

Frazier Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I should have questioned why the front desk said refunds would not be given after 20 minutes if I didn't like the room! Asked for a room on the first floor due to traveling with my dogs, only to find that the bathroom window had no screen and wouldn't lock. Glass shower door was cracked and "fixed" with tape, burn holes in furniture in a "non-smoking" room, bed spread cover was ripped and torn and air conditioner kept shutting off. Left to go check in at another dog-friendly hotel but did not check out prior to "20 minute refund deadline". Front desk refused to refund my money and told me to call the Manager the next day. He was more rude than the front desk staff!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCharlotteCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I wish I would have check out the YELP rating before I booked this Hotel. The room was outdated, run down and dirty. We arrived pretty late in the night, but it was so dusty, I was coughing all night. I have asthma so used my inhalers throughout the night. First thing in the morning about 7:00 am we informed the front desk, which he failed to do anything. So we told him we could not stay the second night and requested to check out early due to the dust and me feeling super sick from the dust. My friend who stayed with us that night and does not have asthma, got sick after staying here with a respiratory infection.

They refused to give us a refund because we booked through priceline, booking.com. When I spoke to the manager about the situation, he said I could get a refund if I called priceline, booking.com directly, which I did. When priceline booking.com spoke to the manager, he refused to refund the second night although we had checked out early that morning.

Terrible customer service. I think it is a family owned business and the Adult Children don't know how to provide good customer service. I agree the bathroom was horrible also, Rust, mildew, peeling paint. !HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE! I also would have given a "Zero" rating if I could. It was really bad, not worth the price. This hotel should be knocked down and rebuilt. The health department should take a look and the unhealthy conditions

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I found that hotel cause I need a place just for one night for me and my friends. It wasnt the best choice I could do. We arrive at night, it was pretty cold outside but guy from the reception let us stay outside over 20 minutes to fill all documents for the group. Rooms and bathrooms were dirty and old. For breakfast there were only pancakes and one table!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aarongeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The room was filthy. Burn marks around bathtub, holes in the walls, crayon marks on the walls, something red smeared on the walls and only God knows what the stains were on the carpet. YUCK! The woman in the office was rude, it goes on and on.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Due to a family emergency in Santa Maria we ended up booking this hotel since it seems nice from the pictures, easy freeway access and modest price. From the outside it looked decent, but when we entered our rooms we were very dissapointed to find dirty, old rugs and beat up furnishings. Their so called "breakfast" was a joke: a very small area with dry cheap cereals and pastries. People bumping into each other to get the food. Avoid this hotel if at all possible.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you comit to a stay and read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Maria Inn
Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#5 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Santa Maria
Days Inn Santa Maria
#8 of 21 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Maria - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Maria - South

Property: Motel 6 Santa Maria - South
Address: 1007 E Main St, Santa Maria, CA 93454-5332 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Region: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Maria - South 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Santa Maria South is located off US 101 near PCPA Theaterfest, and Santa Maria Fairpark. We offer free Wi-Fi , and micro-fridges in all modern guest rooms. Enjoy the use of our outdoor pool open year round, hit the basketball, and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Maria - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Santa Maria
Rose Garden Motel
Rose Garden Inn Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing