We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“free dinner! hell yes!”
Review of Bergamot Station

Bergamot Station
Ranked #5 of 37 Shopping in Santa Monica
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mecca for artists and art lovers, this warehouse complex features numerous art galleries, unusual shops and the Santa Monica Museum of Art.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“free dinner! hell yes!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Bergamont station is such a Santa monica Gem; a series of art galleries set in what use to be back in the day (and upcoming) a train station. Almost every saturday there are openings, and by gallery openings we know what it means; ffree food and wine. How come not more people know about this? what a great place for a date

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tino s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best collection of art galleries west of Manhattan.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When I'm in NY I love walking in Chelsea going from art gallery to art gallery. There is nothing like it in the world. The closest you can get to that experience in southern California is Bergamot Station. There are many good galleries, a nice little cafe, and a few interesting stores. My favorite of the stores is the one that specializes in Japanese hand-made paper. If you contemporary art then a visit to Bergamot is a must.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Art + Culture Destination Santa Monica”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Bergamot Station Arts Center is Santa Monica's art destination. Home to the Santa Monica Museum of Art + nearly 30 art galleries, this place is a great gem. Currently it's a bit remote to get to (access via Michigan Avenue, off of Cloverfield Blvd/ 26th St). The Expo Light Rail Station will have a stop @ Bergamot Station opening in late 2015 which will help improve accessibility. There are frequent gallery opening events on weekend, all free. The SMMOA has a great little gift store, Gracie, for locally made gifts. A few of the galleries also have gift items. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 88jet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Treasure in a suburban jungle”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

If you on foot, as we did, the entrance is 29 paces from Olympic Way, don't walk all the way round. Eclectic mixture of welcoming art galleries, friendly museum and superb café. The City Hall should do more to advertise it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly, Idaho
Level Contributor
261 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“whimsical, fun”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

12.15.2013 Wow! It seemed like all of santa Monica and then some were there for the pre-Xmas
open house. The parking lot was full! People were milling about especially at the Gift shop.
They have one-of-a-kind whimsical, quirky gifts, some of them even amusing - pricey though.
But people are buying - encouraging sign that the economy is recovering?
We enjoyed the wide and diverse range of artworks. Check out my photos.
Not all the galleries allow photography though which is a shame.
Visitors' photos of their artwork = free publicity!

We also saw a very long and tiresome bad play "Moskva" by Steven Leigh Morris at the CityGarage. Cast of 13, way too much distasteful flaunting of dangling bits!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3Kells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bergamot Station also viewed

 

Been to Bergamot Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing