We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was the perfect place to start our honeymoon. The decor was just exquisite and made me want to go home and redecorate my entire house in its image!The room was gorgeous and the jacuzi bath was a lovely touch. Service was fab, as was the location- right on the beach. The valet service was excellent- you never had to wait more than 1 minute for your car to be delivered right to you. Everything is quite expensive but worth it as you feel like royalty the whole time during your stay. Worth every penny. Oh and I must add that the bed was the comfiest we have ever slept in....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    344
    155
    91
    79
See reviews for
391
522
84
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Absolutely stunning location right on the beach. Our hotel rooms overlooked the beach and the pier-the rooms were lovely, beautifully equipped and decorated but quite small. It is a big hotel and service although friendly was very slow at times. The swimming pool was very small and the staff were very slow -we went on a day that it wasn't busy so I dread to think what its like on a busy day! Both restaurants were nice but not outstanding, so a bit disappointing for a top class hotel. Would come back because of rooms and location but would eat out more!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmck1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Super cool in a middle age middle class preppie type of way, laid back, great service friendly hotel where the Hollywood chic (at least the forty somthings!!) meet the sea.
We had a great stay , restaurant (beaches) offered good food well priced, great access to the beach and Santa Monica , good value and service.
Recommend a glass of wine on their balcony over looking the beach, hiring a bike along the beach and going for dinner at moon shadows or something similar in malibu.
All in all a good staging post for LA

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufusmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This hotel has its pro's and con's. It's a very nice hotel, very clean. The rooms were nice. Great location. They seemed "short staffed" compared to other 5 star hotels in the area. It was impossible to get 5 star quality service. With the money spent here, I could have stayed elsewhere and received better serivce. The front desk was VERY short staffed! The concierge was swamped with no help!! I had to wait in a line watching him answering the phones with his feet, and helping a line of guests in front of me. Through all this chaos, it's amazing that he kept a smile on his face and maintained a pleasant and professional attitude. I couldn't help but feel bad for the guy. I am a business owner, I understand the cut backs, but where is the manager? Can they not help out? As a 5 star hotel, you should provide more staff for 5 star service! Not work your employees to death!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chestora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Staying at Shutters was everything I hoped it would be. The location is wonderful. We had a partial ocean view room overlooking the pool with our own small terrace. It had a jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. The room was lovely! Perfect. Everything you could possibly need was there. The beds were heavenly. If you want to go to the beach, they set you up with chairs,umbrella, etc.. The pool was also lovely. The lounge and the restaurants were amazing. So any downsides... nope. Any small incidents were taken care of immediately so not worth mentioning. This hotel is expensive but in return you get everything they have to give.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel has it all -- it is romantic for couples and also looks fun for families. Its right on along the beach, and offers many activities -- boarding, biking, strolling, etc. We enjoyed an early brunch on Sunday -- delicious food. The staff was attentive and friendly. Probably wouldn't advise staying here on a business trip unless you want to make your spouse envious...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drisSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Average stay. Rooms are way overpriced and bathrooms are not very private. Nice location, though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssegelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing