We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Personal Service and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Best room set up with high beds, great décor, open bathroom with ability to open up the shutters to create a larger less closed in feel. Hot tub by the pool could use a tune up for higher jets. Great price compared to neighboring Loews. Small hotel feel with all the amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel I am told is in the top 10 of the world - you would not know it. I am not sure this hotel is ready for a solo woman guest as their attitude of indifference towards me was insulting and unsettling. I would sit in their beautiful lobby listening to jazz and wait up to 45 minutes for service - the same thing in the restaurant. In the restaurant I paid for a beautiful room with a stunning outlook of the ocean but needed to be moved due a young noisy family next door - my view now became the car park - a definite downgrade but they simply did not care. There is nothing worse than travelling on your own and been ignored by staff. Service was appalling. I have recommended to the manager that he travel up the road to the Beverly Hills Wilshire and learn something about excellent service as they were outstanding and friendly. I would absolute not recommend this hotel if travelling solo and female.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Jennifer M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay and that our customer service did not live up to our usual high standards. We have many repeat guests that are solo female travelers and always strive to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of each and every individual. Your invaluable feedback will help us to improve our services.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel has some great style and at the other end of the scale none at all ! A bit of a conundrum .

The hotel looks gorgeous has some very special works of art and yet at the same. Time has no class at all ! Quite strange , nice location however but needs standards increased!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I enjoyed a two-night stay at Shutters. Staying at Shutters, you kind of feel as if you are a guest at someone's ocean-side weekend or summer cottage. This is particularly so in the lobby, with its dim lighting, Pottery Barn-style couches, furnishings, artwork and fireplaces. The same feel carries over to the guestroom, which felt straight out of a catalog. The room (premier oceanfront) was small, but beautifully decorated in that same summer cottage style. Sitting on the small terrace off of the room you literally feel as if you are on the beach. Going to sleep at night with the shutters slightly open, feeling the soft summer wind and hearing the waves lapping onto the beach is heavenly.

The eating options were good: We ate breakfast at Coast, once inside and once on the patio, either way it is a nice breakfast right by the beach. For a light lunch, the Living Room on a terrace overlooking the ocean is nice. We also had dinner at One Pico, which was fine, but not exceptional.

Make sure to buy some delicious candles in their cute gift shop.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DeliciousIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Shutters in mid-February and were lucky enough to have perfect weather. The property was right on the ocean and a short walk to the pier. The staff was friendly, attentive, efficient and knowledgeable. The room was very comfortable and well decorated. The view of the ocean from our room was incredible; especially at sunset. We left the sliding door from the balcony open all night to enjoy the ocean breeze and the sound of the waves. We had a great nights sleep and woke wishing we were staying a few more nights!

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room with a balcony view of the ocean and soaking it all in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

At $500 a night, the room was so tiny it was claustrophobic. The bathroom had one sink the size of the toilet. The walls were so thin we heard every door on the floor opening and closing. We could hear the toilet at the swimming pool flush as if it was in our bedroom. When we complained they showed us a room on the parking lot...even more noisy. We immediately booked out and after a stay of two hours they charged us for a full day and night. We have never done this at a hotel. I'm still shocked.....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Harrybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Harrybaby,

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. I am so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your booked room or the alternative accommodations we provided on this sold out date. We always strive for the best guest experience possible and we appreciate your invaluable feedback.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We didnt stay in the hotel but visited a number of times to eat and drink there. The drinks were amazing and we could sit out on the balcony and watch the sunset over Santa Monica beach. It was quite amazing and reasonably priced- i would definately reccomend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireSHea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,017 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,715 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,637 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £465 - £654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing