We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“back again ............it really is very good .........I wouldnt stay anywhere else in santa monica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“back again ............it really is very good .........I wouldnt stay anywhere else in santa monica”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

location , location , location

the view , the view , the view !!!!!

the bed , the bed , the bed !!!!!

the staff and very helpful and the place is well run

as new hotels come to the market perhaps the rooms are a bit small ............space for room service is cramped but for goodness sake MAN , the location in ON THE BEACH !!

amenities are generous ............ small touches impress like vitamin tonic left for guests each night
linen is good

the lobby is generous and comfortable which is a real plus over other establishments...........check it out and you will see what i mean

spa and gym were closed for a refurb on this visit

i liked the availability of gym bikes beach games and deckchairs ......... great touch guys !

we came with teenagers AND my granddaughter stayed over and everyone has been happy

nothing compares to shutters in santa monica ...............looks like it suits for all ages

I have my MINOR complaints but i continue to return ...........I have wondered if they will ever trip up but they are consistently good very good or excellent and even a moaning minnie like me has to give credit where credit is due ..........another good visit

this is NOT a paid for endorsement !............i am not supposed to be this happy !

Room Tip: be careful if you opt for an ocean view room ........... they can overlook the pool and centre well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorrainesfavourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    345
    155
    91
    79
See reviews for
393
523
84
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

So i booked a few nights at Shutters to try beach life in Santa Monica. showed up to disocver gym and spa were closed for renovation. jacuzzi was broken and on sunday night they shut the pool. no notice on the website or when i checked in and they just kept saying how we could use the facilities at their neighboring hotel. i think it is disgusting for a super-premium hotel to charge what they charge and not warn its clientele that all their leisure facilities are out of commission. its a deceptive business practice and really soured me on the hotel and its management

staff was lovely and courteous and apologetic

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeny1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Jravitch,

We too were surprised that it was necessary to close both the spa and pool during your stay. Unfortunately, both issues were independent of one another and neither were renovations, rather both emergency repairs. We take the safety and security of all of our staff and guests seriously and both issues needed to be addressed. While the pool repair lasted just a few days the spa repairs have been much more than expected and as such we have placed this information on our booking site. While this of course would not have helped your particular situation as you had booked prior to our knowledge of the need of repairs, we do try and be as transparent as possible. As an alternative we did offer all guests the use of our sister properties' pool, spa and fitness facilities across the street. I thank you for sharing your concerns and certainly apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you as well for your kind and positive comments regarding our staff.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location, is luxurious but comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room felt a bit like I was staying in someones home rather than a large hotel which I loved. I was only there for a night and would like to have stayed longer. The hotel was quiet, the bed was extremely comfortable and I slept like a baby.

I arrived a little early but was able to check in immediately. Unfortunately I was not able to get the room upgrade or late check out offered to Leading Hotels of the World Members which was disappointing. I had a very late flight back to Australia so I was given access to the Spa so I could use the showers later in the day.

The breakfast had the potential to be nice but they didn't have what I ordered so gave me something else!

I noticed there were a large number of families staying in the hotel which was a surprise and I hope next time mine will accompany me.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a long way from the lobby and require you to use 2 lifts which might not appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Shutters on the beach was lovely, staff were friendly and welcoming, even though it was a busy time with some A listers staying for the Oscars, the food was very good and the rooms were clean and bright and homely, the beds were a little high to get in to but well worth the trouble as they were extremely comfortable, the hotel courtesy car was very handy for short trips to other restaurants and shopping. All in all a very pleasant stay, unfortunately we were just not able to stay longer than 4 days as we were touring at the time..

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1Daddycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived early and had an unfortunately long wait for our room to be ready, but once we eventually got in, room 533 was beautiful. The high beds with plush mattresses are heaven! We had an ocean view and pool view and it was just lovely. Everyone at the front desk was friendly and accommodating, valet service excellent. We will stay at Shutters again if we are in Santa Monica.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandDanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful five nights at Shutters - an experience we will definitely repeat and worth the 10+ hour flight! We loved our room (partial ocean view) with its sumptuous, high bed, large jacuzzi bath and high quality coffee making facilities. All furnished with homely touches. The hotel itself has a colonial feel and is luxuriously comfortable. The lobby/bar area has lovely comfortable sofas and fireplaces leading to the chairs and tables with a view of the ocean. Live jazz in the evening made for a relaxing evening. The pool area was nice and the service was great. In fact, the staff everywhere were unfailingly friendly, professional and helpful. The cleanliness and housekeeping was faultless. Santa Monica is a great location and met all our needs - restaurants (we had a lovely dinner at One Pico), shopping and places to see a short distance away. Wished we'd discovered Marina del Rey a little earlier as would have visited more than once! Venice beach was 'interesting' (and once was enough) though we only saw it from the ocean front and didn't get to the canals. We hope to visit again and Shutters would be our number one choice.

Room Tip: Enjoyed having a view of the ocean, albeit a 'partial ocean view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Best room set up with high beds, great décor, open bathroom with ability to open up the shutters to create a larger less closed in feel. Hot tub by the pool could use a tune up for higher jets. Great price compared to neighboring Loews. Small hotel feel with all the amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing