We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, confusing layout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The beach is right out your door, and the pool overlooks the ocean from the 2nd floor, so you feel like you're right there. The food is excellent here, but the hotel is spread over several buildings, and we had to take two elevators to get to our room. The rooms are small, but nicely designed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exprof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear exprof2,

Thank you for joining us at Shutters on the Beach during your business trip. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach-view pool, "excellent" food, and "nicely designed" rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Shutters on the Beach is a very cool place to stay. And is literally on the beach. Maybe the only hotel in Santa Monica where this is the case. It has a sister hotel, Casa Del Mar which is next door and provides an additional venue for a drink or dinner where you can charge your visit to your room at Shutters. But Shutters itself is the place to stay. Cool blues and whites give the hotel decor a seaside feel and the rooms whereby not huge are contemporary, clean and comfortable. Although because of the traffic the hotel tends to be a 40 minute drive from downtown LA , whether you are staying for business or pleasure is a great non city centre choice which adds a great vibe to any trip. The casual dining restaurant Coast has amazing views out to the sea and a good menu. The lounges at both Shutters and Casa have various entertainments in the evening. Overall staff are good throughout the hotel but could probably be a little bit more engaging in Coast (and more empowered on reception)! Whilst I was there I did a Universal Studios trip which takes around 40 minutes also. A relatively new shopping area has been added to Santa Monica, just a 14 minute walk away and the famous pier is ever present. Really nice hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Beach front is great but not sure about sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear samjames,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of Shutters on the Beach. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our "cool vibe" and we provided a great beach front home-base for you during your trip to Los Angeles. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at many luxury hotels in Southern California as both my wife and I grew up here but we relocated out of state. We absolutely love Shutters. If you like being outdoors, this hotel is perfect. It is located right on the boardwalk (bike path) that connects Santa Monica with Malibu in the North and Playa to the South. The hotel staff makes your stay just perfect with very friendly employees that all are there to make your stay perfect. We book our room through American Express which gets us an upgraded room if available so we typically have a nice room with a view. The ocean view rooms are well worth it with small useable balconies for sitting and reading or sipping some wine. The pool scene is great and there is available chairs and an umbrella down on the beach where it tends to be cooler than up at the pool. Expect to pay around 30 US for two chairs and an umbrella at the beach and quantities are limited. The best part of staying here is the ease of beautiful runs/walks/bike rides along the coast line. Bikes are free (I think) for use from the hotel. The Coast restaurant serves breakfast and ask for Jesse...he is awesome and was are server on numerous occasions. If you call down to the restaurant in the morning when you wake up, ask for table 81/82/83 which are all along the boardwalk window and great for people watching...They will call or text you when your requested table is ready for breakfast which was included with our AMEX deal. The only short coming IMO is the gym being a little small. They have recently updated the equipment so it is all new but not a lot of stuff to get any serious weight training in...then, again, you are on vacation. I tend to go heavy on the cardio and leave my weight training until I am back home (but it would be nice if they had more). In conclusion...book through AMEX Platinum if you have the ability so you can get upgrades and included breakfast at late checkout...ask for an ocean view room and bring your running shoes! Enjoy!

Room Tip: I try and get a combo view of the pool and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feetmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear feetmd,

Thank you so much for your detailed 5-star review! I'm glad to hear that Shutters on the Beach is one of your favorite hotels and especially appreciate your comments regarding our "friendly" staff. Sounds like you really took advantage of our beach front location and the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Shutters enjoys a wonderful location and the facilities are great. However, I had a bad customer relations experience. We made a reservation about 6 months before a wedding, and for some reason made a second reservation about 3 months later. We actually wanted to use our second reservation for our daughters, but the hotel insisted that the wedding block was sold out, and never told us that we already had a second room reservation at the wedding rate. Not only did we have to get another reservation at a second hotel for our daughters, but the hotel had the nerve to charge us for a no-show on the reservation that they never disclosed to us, even when we were on the phone with them trying to get a second room. For that reason, I would not go back to Shutters.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank nelson g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a hotel where you need to book the best types of room to fully enjoy what this property has to offer.

If you go their on a budget and select their entry-level room chances are that you will have a room overlooking the back of the hotel on a very busy street. Sleep will be hard to come by.

Otherwise, location is the best in Santa Monica: on the beach really. No street to cross.

Food: excellent.

Wifi: not free

Bathroom is well stocked with great products.

Room-service is good and pretty speedy (and pricey but all room services seem to be like that nowadays)

Room Tip: really get the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I came here for lunch 2 years ago and fell in live wit the location and the charm of the hotel right on the ocean. After a long flight from London I was looking forward to the ocean facing room but unfortunately it was not ready. Sitting in the lobby which is charming overlooking the ocean having a margarita compensated for the delay. The first thing to say is throughout our stay the hotel staff were extremely professional and friendly but back to our room. The first annoying thing is the convoluted way to get to it. Lift to 3 floor where the great pool is, walk along a corridor take a floor to 6th floor and walk and walk till you get to the room which had 2 small balconies , one overlooking the pool one the ocean. That view was terrific. However the bed which i really could not understand why was very hight with 2 mattresses and was difficult to clamber on. There just seemed to be no rhyme or reason for that. Our bathroom was a huge let down and needed an aside from being small needed a major re-furb. Considering the price which is astronomical for the room I did feel disappointment. I don't know how the other rooms are but I just did not feel the room justified luxury although there were many nice touches books games and the view. Our luggage took forever to be brought to our room and it took several calls to finally get it If I were to stay again I would ask where the room was and war state the bathrooms were in . overall the hotel has a very charming casual easy luxury about it. Just shame about the height of the beds and the bathroom

Room Tip: I am very fussy about bathrooms and I would check that that you are in a room were it has been updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monasheaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear monasheaves,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, which will certainly help us to improve. I am sorry to hear that your room did not quite meet your expectations and that your luggage was delayed. Also, I appreciate your comments regarding our “friendly” and “professional” and look forward to sharing them with the team.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We did not stay here but this was a great way to enjoy a beautiful view while we had a stop along the beach walk. Beautiful place and oysters were terrific. Very cozy and welcoming bar area. Also tried a Manhattan with a terrific Italian sweet vermouth. I thought I texted the name to myself but sadly, no longer have it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NHGhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,912 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,600 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £459 - £708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing