We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Stay at Shutters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We just returned from a stay at shutters with our two children. Beautiful hotel with lovely rooms. The only issue with the rooms are the size. They are well appointed, but very small. The ambiance of the hotel was very nice. Service in general was very good. The pool area was satisfactory, but could use more attention to keeping the area clean and well attended regarding ordering food and getting towels. Location directly on the beach was excellent, however, be prepared to spend quite a bit at the hotel if you would like a chair or umbrella at the beach. Compared to any other luxury hotel, I thought this was inappropriate. For a family of four to get chairs at the beach for the day it was over $100. We really enjoyed the proximity to the pier and rental bikes. Food overall at the restaurants was very good. Satisfactory at the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms are very cramped. Choose a room facing the ocean, beautiful view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dcluvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear dcluvtotravel,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Shutters on the Beach and were able to take advantage of all the beach activities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
There are newer reviews for Shutters on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I'm Los Angeles frequently and always stay here. Consistently clean, quiet, and friendly. All the restaurants are worth eating at, and are reasonably priced. The crowd skews a little on the older side for me, but I love the place. Right on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShaneFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear ShaneFleming,

Thank you for your 5-star review of Shutters on the Beach. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here with wife for the 20th Anniversary. Heard about it from friends as the legendary Shutters. Planned 3 days, left after 1. Beautiful nantucket style beach hotel, and if you want to be on the santa monica beach, this is a great place. But on warm days, its really warm due to open layout. And the rooms and physical premises are a bit too worn for my taste given the luxury price point. I've stayed at Loews next door and its close enough to beach, but cleaner and cooler. If you really want so cal beach i'd stay at Laguna Ritz. We wanted LA hotel so we transferred to the Peninsula which was fantastic. Nice, but not worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4MGOBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was a very different holiday for myself and my family, we chose Shutters as it was close to our friend who we were visiting and had been recommended to us. The rooms were lovely and the hotel provided a good base to go out and about doing all the touristy things. Unfortunately on our fist day the pool was closed for repairs until the end of our stay 10 days later. We were however able to use next doors pool. The Customer Service was pretty mixed staff were either very good and welcoming or too busy checking themselves out that they could't be really bothered. The valets at the front of the hotel were not particularly welcoming and if you did not arrive in a vehicle that they found impressive you were barely given time to get out of the car door in fact my little girl nearly had her leg slammed int he door as he tried to move us out of the way. The breakfast restaurant was fantastic and James was a start and the upstairs bar served delicious light bites. If we were to return to LA we wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexisP273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear AlexisP273,

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments regarding our “lovely” rooms and location. I apologize for the fact that we were required to close the pool for emergency repairs during your visit. I am also sorry to hear that aspects of our service did not meet our usually high standards. Safety is our top priority and I will investigate the valet issue that you have identified.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The beach is right out your door, and the pool overlooks the ocean from the 2nd floor, so you feel like you're right there. The food is excellent here, but the hotel is spread over several buildings, and we had to take two elevators to get to our room. The rooms are small, but nicely designed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exprof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear exprof2,

Thank you for joining us at Shutters on the Beach during your business trip. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach-view pool, "excellent" food, and "nicely designed" rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Shutters on the Beach is a very cool place to stay. And is literally on the beach. Maybe the only hotel in Santa Monica where this is the case. It has a sister hotel, Casa Del Mar which is next door and provides an additional venue for a drink or dinner where you can charge your visit to your room at Shutters. But Shutters itself is the place to stay. Cool blues and whites give the hotel decor a seaside feel and the rooms whereby not huge are contemporary, clean and comfortable. Although because of the traffic the hotel tends to be a 40 minute drive from downtown LA , whether you are staying for business or pleasure is a great non city centre choice which adds a great vibe to any trip. The casual dining restaurant Coast has amazing views out to the sea and a good menu. The lounges at both Shutters and Casa have various entertainments in the evening. Overall staff are good throughout the hotel but could probably be a little bit more engaging in Coast (and more empowered on reception)! Whilst I was there I did a Universal Studios trip which takes around 40 minutes also. A relatively new shopping area has been added to Santa Monica, just a 14 minute walk away and the famous pier is ever present. Really nice hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Beach front is great but not sure about sleep quality
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear samjames,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of Shutters on the Beach. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our "cool vibe" and we provided a great beach front home-base for you during your trip to Los Angeles. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at many luxury hotels in Southern California as both my wife and I grew up here but we relocated out of state. We absolutely love Shutters. If you like being outdoors, this hotel is perfect. It is located right on the boardwalk (bike path) that connects Santa Monica with Malibu in the North and Playa to the South. The hotel staff makes your stay just perfect with very friendly employees that all are there to make your stay perfect. We book our room through American Express which gets us an upgraded room if available so we typically have a nice room with a view. The ocean view rooms are well worth it with small useable balconies for sitting and reading or sipping some wine. The pool scene is great and there is available chairs and an umbrella down on the beach where it tends to be cooler than up at the pool. Expect to pay around 30 US for two chairs and an umbrella at the beach and quantities are limited. The best part of staying here is the ease of beautiful runs/walks/bike rides along the coast line. Bikes are free (I think) for use from the hotel. The Coast restaurant serves breakfast and ask for Jesse...he is awesome and was are server on numerous occasions. If you call down to the restaurant in the morning when you wake up, ask for table 81/82/83 which are all along the boardwalk window and great for people watching...They will call or text you when your requested table is ready for breakfast which was included with our AMEX deal. The only short coming IMO is the gym being a little small. They have recently updated the equipment so it is all new but not a lot of stuff to get any serious weight training in...then, again, you are on vacation. I tend to go heavy on the cardio and leave my weight training until I am back home (but it would be nice if they had more). In conclusion...book through AMEX Platinum if you have the ability so you can get upgrades and included breakfast at late checkout...ask for an ocean view room and bring your running shoes! Enjoy!

Room Tip: I try and get a combo view of the pool and the ocean
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feetmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear feetmd,

Thank you so much for your detailed 5-star review! I'm glad to hear that Shutters on the Beach is one of your favorite hotels and especially appreciate your comments regarding our "friendly" staff. Sounds like you really took advantage of our beach front location and the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
972 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,891 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,602 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £442 - £693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing