We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 14 April 2012

If you're looking for an ocean front hotel in the LA area look no further. The Shangri-La is an Art Deco gem. Our ocean view room was spacious with a killer view and a great extra-deep soaking tub in the Carrara marble bathroom. The entire staff - from the valet to the front desk to the pool staff - were friendly, courteous and gracious. The pool area is a stylish retreat where you can swim, catch some rays or relax with a beverage - loved it! Third Street Promenade and the Santa Monica pier are just steps away. Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetset707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hi Jetset707-

Great having you with us at the Hotel Shangrila. We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to beautiful Santa Monica!

Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you want a costal hotel in LA then Shangri-la is perfect. The hotel is in excellent condition and run by extremely friendly and helpful staff. We were enjoying our stay so much we decided to change our plans and stay an extra night, the staff did all they could to accomodate us (thanks Sunny and Dale!). Rooms are big and clean. Views from the bar are a must see.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hello Calum B-

Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel and Santa Monica.

Safe travels to you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Chose Santa Monica as our international homeward flight exited LAX. Hotel Shangri-La was a good deal by comparison with other hotels in the area. We arrived early afternoon on a very wet, cool day and dined in the hotel restaurant while the room was being prepared. Food, service and atmosphere in The Dining Room were great. The decor with polished dark timbers and round back chairs was glamorous but relaxed. The food was modern and delicious. Try the brussel sprouts and the flat breads. Our room was all dark timbers, and tinted or mirrored glass with crisp while linens trimmed with black. We reserved an ocean view room and it was perfect and provided a window that actually opened but also double glazed. The reception team were always welcoming, helpful and ready with suggestions on everything from where to get a great coffee to how to spend a day sightseeing. We did have a
couple of problems with our room key but these were handled efficiently and with apologies for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: Ocean view was gorgeous by day or night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaineandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hi RaineandAl-

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Shangrila. Your business is important to us and we appreciate it.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Fantastic! The Shangri La is right on the beach and has a great rooftop bar. The hotel itself is a 1930's art deco, very clean, and has a friendly hotel staff. They were very accommodating with our travel schedule giving us a late check out, holding our luggage and car while we spent the day out after we had already checked out. The room was bigger than we had expected which was a great surprise as well. Love the look of everything. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hi dragonfly -

Great having you with us at the Hotel Shangrila.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Santa Monica area!

Sincerely,
Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently had to travel to Santa Monica for Business and stayed at the Hotel Shangri-La. The staff was so wonderful and welcoming they made me feel like I was home away from home. Collectively they gave the property such an inviting personality. The room was spacious with very comfortable bed and a gorgeous view of the ocean, not to mention it is so perfectly located...downtown, the beach and the pier are literally steps away. They have a sweet pool and jacuzzi and a Penthouse Bar with the only open air roof terrace in Santa Monica...at night, in the Penthouse, its not hard to feel like your existing in the elegant Los Angeles of the 1930s. If you do stay at Shangri-La make sure to say hello to Scott the extraordinary mixologist in the penthouse, the bar and restaurant manager Ricky (who will make you feel so welcome and taken care off)...And at the front desk, Chamian and Dale will make your trip around town simple and informed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silosilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hello SiloSilo-

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us at the Hotel Shangrila.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Would stay again. Convenient to everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Others wrote waste of money. Not for us. We had a large suite and price was more than fair.

Room Tip: For families be sure to request room 600. Large two bedroom, living room, kitchen and great large ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveSTL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hello SteveSTL101-

We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!

So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Shangrila.

Sincerely,
Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Brilliant hotel very modern and clean. Pool area was great very trendy and modern and the jaquzzi is fantastic its boiling hot so as we were there is march is was great to sit in late and night when the temperature had dropped. Fantastic location right on the front with great views of the beach and the pier. Lots of restaurants, bars, cinemas and shops in walking distance. We had lunch in the hotel restaurant and it was brilliant they had a three course set menu which we really enjoyed.

Would definitely stay here again - Santa Monica is the place to stay in LA.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 84sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hello 84sunshine-

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Shangrila.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time in Santa Monica and look forward to your next visit with us!

Safe travels,
Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,916 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,604 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,360 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £270 - £764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing