We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice spot”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Got an early check in off a long flight which was good but needed to call for someone to fix the water temp in the bath/ shower and someone came straight away. Room service was fairly good, roof top bar was really good( happy hour in the arvo 4-7 I think) staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and location was great lots of shops, beach and restaurants close. Would recommend blue plate oysterette and bay city deli both not far from hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlosncorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
I'm so happy that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you.
After a long flight, nothing could be better. I'm also happy to hear that our staff
was friendly, and helpful. It's great you were able to take advantage of our location, by visiting the abundance of shops in our immediate area. Also, our rooftop lounge really is the best way to see the Santa Monica sunset. It was our pleasure serving you, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again.
Hope your travels were smooth and easy.

Sincerely,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Shangrila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    336
    144
    85
    66
See reviews for
222
523
46
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

It was great stay in Shangri-La where is located in just front of the coast. Perfect landscape and room is clean and neat. Especially staff is so friendly which makes me very comfort. Price was bit high however it was worth I spent two night at this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 0930459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review.
Making our guests feel welcome, comfortable, and important is our main goal.
So happy you felt our staff did just that.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Until then, have great days.

All the best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Shangrila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hotel Shangri-La isn't perfect, but I give it 5 stars for the things that ARE perfect about it:

It's an Art Deco/Streamline Moderne gem overlooking the Pacific Ocean with steps down to the Santa Monica beach. It's restored--which is different than simply renovated, as it retains many of its original 1939 features: a great Deco entrance, passenger elevator with parquet wood flooring, original steel window frames, wood floors in the guest rooms, a bungalow feel (each guest room is entered from the outside, and you overlook the pool area as you walk to your room), ocean views from every guest room, bathrooms with polished nickel fixtures, and even cool Art Deco base boards and crown molding. The best thing about the renovation is that it actually looks like you'd expect it to have looked in 1939, not the kitschy version of Art Deco that you see in faux retro neon diner clocks.

If you're not a history buff or architecture fan then you may not really give a hoot, but there's something about looking at a palm-treed ocean sunset through 75-year-old steel windows that makes you feel like you're going to run into Errol Flynn on your way to the pool.

What it lacks: HEAT in the swimming pool (apparently for summer only--though there is a nice hot tub right next to it), a gym, and some of the nicer features you'd get from a newly built 5-star hotel.

But there are lots of hotels like that...and very few hotels like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
First and Foremost, thank you so much for choosing us.
We are so glad you enjoyed the charm and beauty of this historical landmark.

Everyday we work to be a 5-Star establishment, and your feedback
helps us grow as a hotel, and enhance the experience we offer our guests.
We are truly grateful.

Please come back and see us again.

Sincerely,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Shangrila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Our search for a 55 BDay Bash leads to this boutique hotel @ The Shangri-La. No frills but ticks in alls the right places, mostly,,...
Room: with King bedding; Showers fits for a King; Throne: a tad too small; View: .. of sunsets nightly just rocks!

Shape is a wrap around style overlooking the beautiful bluish ocean: with the Malibu to the right and left to the pier and as far as one can see ...just awesome!

Upon Halloween nights on Thursdays..tends to get loud at noc due to DJ suite 700 n cocktails cheers! Yes, we did venture out to this suite since it is located across the hall with camp fire style outdoors..very nice and cozy atmosphere..impressive.

We, had a great time celebrating my Husbands B Day bash at Sushi Roku (separate review) with a rocky molten chox cake with fireworks complementary, much appreciated since no courtesy or, comp. BDay acknowledgement noted at the Shangri-La,lol

No worries, we partied on since Halloween was our last night and we had stayed on to extend our RNR, pricey...but, worth it since I noted only one RNR available throughout the hotel with complementary creeks on occasions to enlightened the Halloween mood!

Location, location, it is an easy walk to the promenade for some shopping which seems endless and to the pier for some chowder and fresh seafoodies.

Check in and check out was seamless with parking on site @$34 nightly and some sort of $3 bks nightly added to the bill for SM tourism marketing district???
Overall, we had a ghoulishly weekdays short outings for the 2 nights say,
Cheers!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jbtujuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We're so happy and honored that you celebrated your birthday with us!
The Rock 'n Roll suite seems to have been perfect for your stay.
It's also so wonderful that our location made it easy to explore this great city, and provide a retreat for you to come back and watch the gorgeous sunsets we experience nightly.

Please come back, and see us again.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It is refreshing to stay in a hotel in a popular location that is not all glam, perfectly styled and boring but this hotel is tired. The traditional art deco style is nice and the rooftop bar inside is nice with all the original art deco features. Outside the rooftop area is small and I overhead one guest say it was like being in a prison - this made me chuckle, she was referring to all of the metal wire fencing surrounding the balcony area. Not what you expect to see!
Good location. Only a short walk to the pier, the map of the area is quite deceiving, it looks like a 20-30 min walk but it only takes 10 mins.
I think the hotel is expensive for the finish and standard you are getting in the rooms. We had a sea view 'suite', to me this was just a standard bedroom size but I have read the room sizes are small on the coast in LA.
All the staff were very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We know you have a lot options when it comes to choosing a hotel in Santa Monica.
Thank you so much for appreciating the historical design of our hotel.
Please forgive the chain linked fence along the terrace. Due to this building being a historical landmark, there are certain things we just aren't permitted to change.
We are, however, happy that you took advantage of our rooftop bar. It really has the best views of the sunset here in Santa Monica.
Thank you so much for your feedback.
It is very helpful to us to as we strive to improve the experience that we offer guests, and grow as a hotel. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Shangrila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had our last night of our road trip here in September and we were not disappointed.

on arrival the computer system was down that delayed booking in but this was not too long and we were offered drinks and even food vouchers (that we didn't take as we felt there was no need but a nice gesture).

The hotel has an art deco style and even features the old type lifts. The rooms were great too with an unusual bathroom feature where you can see from the bathroom into the main room, with a modesty curtain if needed.

The view we had too was good, on the front and you could see the beach and pier.

We didn't use many facilites with this being a very short stay, but we did make use of the roof top deck bar. this looks like it is styled around a ship and features a great view over Santa Monica. The ambience was great and looked like the locals used this before hitting the town.

Overall a good stay with great staff and would come back again, for longer next time.

Room Tip: Sea front view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynseylou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Please do come back for a longer stay.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here.
Even in the event that our computers act up, we still wish to provide luxury service to our guests.
It is great that even in your short time with us you could catch the views from the rooftop bar. That sunset sure makes an impression. When you come back, and have more time, we'd love to introduce you to our Sybaris: Rejuvenation Lounge in our courtyard. Massage/Skin treatments are at your finger tips. An easy way to relax.
Thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very disappointed in this hotel for the following reasons:

1. Requested a early check-in due, but not checked in until 3pm
2. Requested a 1 hour extension on check-out, and this was also not possible
3. My room was on level 3, right on Ocean Avenue - very noisy with road traffic all night, and no double glazed windows
4. This hotel deceptively advertises itself as being part of the SHANGRI-LA group of hotels, which is most definitely is not
5. For $450 per night, a lot better hotels in LA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
First and foremost, thank you so much for your feedback.
It's helpful as we try to improve the experience that we offer guests.
We can then adjust how we operate to better serve.
Early check ins are something we struggle with everyday.
Being a small hotel we often find ourselves at a high occupancy, and with a 12pm check out time, we don't always have rooms available before our 3pm check in time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
In regards to the Shangri-La chain found all over the world, we don't wish to be confused with them. We are in fact an independent hotel, that was one of the first here in Santa Monica.

Most importantly, our main goal is providing exceptional service to our guests, and to read that we have fallen short of that goal is a disappointment for us all.
We, of course, would love another opportunity to show you what this hotel stands for and all of the wonderful experiences we have to offer.

Thank you so much for choosing us, and if you have any further comments or concerns please don't hesitate to contact me at Sonny@shangrila-hotel.com. It would be my pleasure.

Sincerely,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Shangrila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing