We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I came to Shangri La for a girls vacation and had the best time! The staff was very kind and accommodating to all our needs. Our personal driver, on behalf of the hotel, was more than words! Chokri is one of the best personal chauffeurs and I would definitely recommend to all of my friends and family. He gave us a private tour of LA and was super friendly and kind. We will never forget our experience with him.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! It is so great that you were able to get a private tour of LA with our driver Chokri. Chokri is wonderful. He has been with this hotel for years both in front of house and behind it. He is an asset to our team, and it brings a great big smile to our face to read that you enjoyed your time, and that he was able to make your stay special. Thank you so much for choosing us, and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Until then, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    345
    148
    87
    69
See reviews for
230
539
47
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 4nights at the shangri la,was a great hotel,staff were very helpful,had a tour booked,didn't turn up to pick us up,the staff organised another one with different company.the hotel has a driver,we booked him twice to drive us to universal and Disneyland,highly recommend him,was a bit dissapointed with bar service.had to wait way too long to be served,while he was just talking to other patrons,my only bad comment.close to the pier,great location

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, and I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay!
It is great to know that our staff could be friendly and helpful as you enjoyed your vacation.
We would like to offer our sincerest apologies regarding the service you experienced in our Rooftop Lounge. Service is everything to us, and I can assure that we are addressing this on our end to raise our standards of service that much higher. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review on TripAdvisor and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Until then have safe travels, and great days.

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel on the final 3 nights of our honeymoon in America. From the outside the hotel looks beautiful, check-in was very quick an professional with the two lovely ladies at the desk. Hotel room cosy and we'll decorated, as there was so much we wanted to see and do in Santa Monica and LA we were not planning on spending much time in there. I had emailed the hotel a few months prior to our visit to request info about the area and received a quick response from the general manager which was a nice touch.
The pool area was clean and tidy and great for catching the last of the days sunshine, the roof top bar was also stylish and welcoming with great views of Santa Monica.
If we are ever in that area again we would definitely stay in the hotel again, thanks for giving us a great end to a unforgettable honeymoon in America.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you even more for celebrating your honeymoon with us! It is always a pleasure to be a part of wonderful occasion like that. It is wonderful to hear that your email communication prior to your visit was prompt and helpful. It doesn't surprise me that our General Manager contacted you directly. It reminds me that our dedication to guest satisfaction is a standard of luxury service that every member of our staff strives to offer everyday. Please come back and see us again, and thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor!

Have great days and Congratulations!

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was in Santa Monica for a week on business. The Hotel Shangri-La in Santa Monica was found to be a great value and great stay. This classic art deco hotel has been maintained beautifully and had everything I needed for a comfortable stay. My room overlooked Arizona Avenue and lead to a great view of the sunset through my window on arrival night. My doorway opened to the interior balcony/walkway that overlooked the pool and spa area. It was very relaxing. Housekeeping kept the place spotless. The staff at the front of the hotel were extremely helpful in my business needs scanning a document I needed. They also made sure the basics were taken care of by having coffee in the lobby and someone friendly to greet us each time we entered or exited the building. Being on Ocean Avenue allowed to be extremely close to some great dining options and also just across the street from Palisades Park and just behind that is the Santa Monica pier and beach. A simple 5 minute walk. The doors to the rooms open to the outside, not an interior hallway, so if that is an issue with you, just be noted that is how the hotel is set up. I had no problem with this at all and would return to this hotel at any chance I got. On Wednesdays, a farmers' market sets up only about a half block away and the shopping district is only 2 blocks away. This is a great hotel with a great location. I used a taxi or uber service for transportation, so I cannot speak on parking, but there was a monitored lot right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on 1st floor to have a view. 3rd floor and above is preferred. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
Reading through it, I found myself imagining an extremely pleasant hotel experience. The kind that we describe when we train our staff and the kind we strive to offer our valued guests everyday. Nothing makes us happier than to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to both meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you so much for the time you took to offer your feedback. We are truly grateful. We will take your experience and use it as the example to strive for and surpass as we move forward as a luxury hotel. We hope to see you again in the future!

Until then, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Was upgraded to the Rock and Roll room on the PH floor, great room with a fantastic view, one downside is that the roof top bar is on the same floor and the elevator shaft is near the bed but if you are up for a late night and are in the bar anyway then its perfect. A shower cubical for two, massive balcony with loungers and an all round trendy room. I stayed here before in one of the standard rooms and that was also good. Breakfast is nice and it has a good pool area. Location is perfect for Santa Monica, shops and restaurants just around the corner and the beach on your doorstep. Staff were good and I will be staying again but hopefully next time I will make the most of the roof top bar.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, and I am so glad we had the opportunity to upgrade you to our Rock 'n Roll suite. It really is a one of kind room with its unobstructed view of the ocean sitting at the very top of our steamliner art deco style hotel. It is truly beautiful. It does indeed rest on the same floor as our roof top bar, which has a very similar view and definitely draws a crowd. We offer our sincerest apologies if the noise from the bar kept you up at night. We of course wish to offer our guests a refuge where they can find serenity and relaxation at the beach.

We are so happy to read that you'll be coming back to stay with us! Please do take advantage of the roof top bar. Not only are the drinks delicious, but you cannot get a better view of the sunset in Santa Monica.

Thank you so much for the time you took to offer your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are truly grateful.

Until our paths cross again, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After a long trip across the USA, we spent three nights at this lovely hotel. Compared with some of the other beachfront hotels, the rates were reasonable for a pricey location like Santa Monica. The hotel is showing signs of wear and the rooms are on the small side.However, the staff were good and the hotel is perfectly located for the beach, the shops and the Pier. Don't arrive on a Sunday as the rooftop bar is the local "in"place. You can always go to the superb pool area which was as good as I've seen. We drove 30 minutes down the road to LA airport and departed back to England realising we had saved the best bit of Route 66 until last.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Driving across the United States on the historical Route 66 sounds like such an exciting trip! We are honored to have been the last stop on such a legendary journey. Thank you so much for choosing us. I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed your time here and that you found the staff to be helpful. As for the state of the hotel, being a historical landmark, we have the privilege of maintaining this beautiful building. That privilege keeps striving everyday to keep it fresh for our valued guests. In 2014, we have many projects already in process to refresh many areas of the hotel. For example, our courtyard area was just outfitted with brand new patio furniture that captures the beauty of the buildings architectural origins as well as embracing some modern influences. Please come back and see us again, and we would love to share with you the progress we make every day as we strive to offer our guests an unforgettable experience.

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for you offering your feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again in the future.

Until then, have great days and safe travels!

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A landmark hotel with an undoubtedly superb location. High service levels. Breakfast in the restaurant didn't disappoint but our room had seen better days. Chipped woodwork. A shower that flooded so we had to use the bath version. Then the tap in the bath jammed. Great beds. Excellent wifi was a surprise. The penthouse bar VERY popular which meant boisterous encounters with crowds at the lifts on occasion. A revamp of the rooms overdue we thought. Otherwise great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILBRICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
To read that our levels of service were high, and that we were able to exceed the expectations of our guests with the amenities we offer is some of the greatest feedback a hotelier can read. These are among the highest goals we have here at Hotel Shangrila, and to read that we are reaching them is a great moment for us all. Thank you so much for sharing, and we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

In regards to the room's need for a revamp, we want to first apologize that this observation was even an aspect of your stay. Every day our skilled team of engineers go into our rooms to maintain and enhance. Your feedback has gone directly to all departments, and we are working to address the areas you have highlighted. Also, as I have written in other responses, 2014 is filled with projects that look to refresh and revamp our property, and our rooms are being shown a lot of love this year. We look forward to having the opportunity to share these advancements with you in the near future.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review on TripAdvisor. It is feedback like yours that give us the direction we need to address the areas that need our attention now. Providing an excellent experience to our valued guest is our main objective, and we strive to meet it everyday.

Thank you so much again!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,814 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,242 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,489 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing