We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Smallest, most cramped room I've ever stayed in, and I was in NYC two weeks ago. Not really worth the price. Feel like I'm in a refurbished closet. The location is good but the hotel needs an overhaul and the rooms in particular are pretty dumpy.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank stc5074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

First and foremost, thank you for leaving your review on TripAdvisor. We are so grateful for your experience and perspective. We apologize that our rooms felt small to you. Naturally, we want our guests to feel as expansive as the beach environment in which we occupy. Like hotels in NYC, our building has been in existence since the 1930's. While our smallest of rooms comes in at around 300 sq. feet, we do pride ourselves in the spaciousness and airiness of the rest of the hotel. We have so much to offer here, and if a larger room would help make your experience that much better, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. I'd be happy to set up a special reservation in one of our larger rooms. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back, and show all of the great qualities we have here at the Hotel Shangrila.

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Shangri-La. It was a bit of a walk across the sand to the Santa Monica Pier and ocean but "promenade" above/along the ocean was across the street and a great place to people watch and enjoy the ocean view. Only a short walk to 3rd Avenue Promenade which had great shopping, restaurants and street performers - fun place to walk day or night. I was travelling with my 16 year old granddaughter and it was safe for her to roam a bit on her own. Room was nice - would have preferred two beds but that was not available. Bed was comfortable and big though. Enjoyed the pool area and fire pits.

Room Tip: Great view from Ocean View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula7579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review on TripAdvisor.
It sounds like you were really able to enjoy this incredible city. Santa Monica is a walker's paradise with access to shops, beaches, Ferris wheels, etc. We are so happy that our Hotel could be a convenient home-base during your holiday. Thank you so much for staying with us. It was such a pleasure welcoming to our hotel, and we hope to have another opportunity in the near future.

Until then have safe travels, and great days,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The rooftop bar is superb! What a great view over santa monica at night. The place could do with a few more waiters as we waited 20 minutes to get service. There is a bonfire in the corner which you can sit around and drink. That is a lovely touch and very practical in the cool evenings.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ivana-banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for spending time at our roof-top lounge Suite 700. It is the only indoor/outdoor roof-top lounge in Santa Monica, and it gives our guests the quintessential southern California sunset. Truly breathtaking. Please come back and see us again. Luckily, every night of the year is just as beautiful as the last.

Thank you so much again for your time, and we will see you soon.

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location was perfect - across the street from the SM Pier and walking distance to 3rd Street Promenade. The hotel was on the trendy side, but there were parts that could have been upgraded a bit. The pool area was very nice, including the bar and the big screen TV set up for the FIFA cup, nice surprise. The rooms were fine, decent size with nice bathrooms. All in all, very good hotel which can use a bit of a facelift in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for leaving your review.
It is great to read that our World Cup viewing was a nice surprise.
It is a wonderful new addition to the roster of great amenities and opportunities here at the Hotel Shangrila. We have a had a great turnout, and we couldn't be more pleased to read that it brightened your stay. I also want to thank you for your feedback regarding our rooms. 2014 is all about investing in our hotel. We have many projects that are currently underway to refresh and revitalize this historical landmark that we have the distinct honor of caring for. Please come back and see us again so we can share the advancements we are making everyday.
Thank you so much again for your time, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Until then have great days, and safe travels!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Terrible bar on top of the hotel which was grubby, and not nearly worth the hype. I assume people go there because there aren't any other roof top bars. It would be so easy to upscale this place and tidy it up as the location is very good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank blader03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It is feedback like yours that gives us a target for our dedication to guest satisfaction. As I have said in other responses on TripAdvisor, 2014 is a year of investing in the Hotel Shangrila. We do have many projects currently underway that will refresh, and in some cases give a new look to some of our outlets. The rooftop lounge, Suite 700, being one of them. We are very sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time at Suite 700. It is the only indoor/outdoor rooftop bar in Santa Monica, and the best sunset in the area by far. We do hope you give it another chance. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Until then have great days, and thank you again for you time.

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for our honeymoon and were upgraded from an ocean view room to a two bedroom ocean view luxury suite.

The location - perfect location on the beach, walking distance to the pier, shops and farmers markets.

The apartment - the suite was huge with a great ocean view, separate living, kitchen and two bathrooms. My only negative comment would be that some of the furniture could be updated in the living area.

The bed - was really comfortable and block out blinds were excellent.

The service - staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful.

The pool - great little pool area, water was freezing!

The rooftop bar - such a great little bar on the rooftop terrace, it was fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EG208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. The title of your review gives us great pride. Make no mistake, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the bar, and that you were upgraded for your honeymoon. These are all wonderful components to a stay. But to know that you felt the hotel was friendly, and that the staff could not have been more helpful, lets us know that we are reaching our goals. We strive everyday to make our guests feel welcome, comfortable, and important. We are so happy to know that you felt this way during your time with us. Please come back and see us again. We would love to welcome you back. Also, CONGRATS on your nuptials! We honored that you chose to celebrate your honeymoon with us!

Have a great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We concluded our honeymoon in Santa Monica and really didn't want to leave! Loved the hotel, it's near the beach, shopping, great restaurants etc. We went for a sea view and it was so beautiful to wake up to. It's definitely worthwhile having breakfast or brunch.....worth every lb I put on!!! Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank purplesnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as the last stop on your honeymoon. Santa Monica restaurants, beaches, and sunsets are the best way to end a honeymoon. Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. Our staff is so glad to read that you had such a great time, and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future. Maybe for one of your anniversaries!

Until then, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,952 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,615 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,135 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £242 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing