We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear.......June 09”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 27 June 2009

There is no mistaking that the Shangri-La has had the most amazing face lift and interior re-furb after a recent $30million was spent on it. The staff are friendly and smart in appearence and the rooms are finished to a very high standard with an amazing deep circular bath (big enough for 2).
The beach is just over the road and all the main attractions such as the peir, 3rd street and the shops are in easy walking distance.

Ok here is where the Shangri-La lts itself down big style! THE NOISE!
when we arrived there was already a pool party in swing with loud music and people screaming and shouting, hey fair enough its a party right! we are both in our mid-20's and like a party, however! this party went on into the early hours of the morning and here is the other big down side to the Shangri-La, the windows to the rear of your hotel room are single pane and face the internal area of the hotel (the pool area). The speakers in the pool area face the hotel itself so you basically here everything! !

To be honnest, I have stayed in a more peaceful youth hostels on my travels and for the money you pay here per night , you at least expect a relaxing quiet night sleep, not a 2 star experience which you would find in an 18-30's hotel in San Antonio Ibiza! when we complained to the staff about the noise they told us its whats called a "life style hotel" I gather that means if you like loud noise in your life then this is the place for you. But hey why not reflect it in your very expensive prices guys.

We booked this hotel for a quality relaxing end to our tour round California and we were very sadly disappointed. SHAME ON YOU SHANGRI-LA!
We would not risk staying here again, but would like to mention once again that the hotel has had a fantstic re-furb and looks great on the outside and inside.

The choice is yours...you have now been warned.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roadtrippers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

A small cool art deco hotel, across from the ocean, and a couple of blocks from a vibrant pedestrian only street, it sounds like South Beach in Miami but is instead, the West Coast version.

We stayed at this hotel in late April, two weeks before the hotel restaurant was scheduled to open up and at least a month before the pool was to be ready. We have stayed in Los Angeles many times and decided to spend the last night of our most recent visit in Santa Monica for a change of pace. We chose this hotel partly because it is new, and partly because it offered a good pre grand opening package.

This is not a “from the ground up” new hotel, but instead a renovation of an older building. This means the owners had to work with what they had. The standard rooms are smaller for a luxury hotel, as are the bathrooms. The original hotel windows were not replaced. You also have to drop your car off on the street.

This hotel is also not your traditional hotel. The lobby is small, but chic with the restaurant just off to the side overlooking the ocean. The hall corridors are open air on the outside with the rooms along the ocean and street side, with a view of downtown, and the pool below on the other side. Our ocean view room was nice, with a dark hardwood floor, modern furniture, and a comfortable bed. The room was a little tight, kind of long and narrow. There was a closet, but it was not large enough for any decent sized luggage. The view of the ocean was very nice and worth paying extra. Since the hotel is just opening, the room was in very good shape, but we felt that the materials used in the room may not wear well over time.

The bathroom was interesting. It really offered a peek-a-boo inside and out. On the room side the bathroom wall was panels that were solid black on the bottom and clear glass on the top. The bathroom also had a frosted glass window in the shower/tub area that opened out to the hall corridor. At night with the light on in the bathroom, people passing in the hall don’t get the full picture but they can figure out you are in the shower. It might be a little much for some. I think most of the bathrooms in this hotel are set up like this. Anyway, the bathroom is small but very nice with a large soaking tub/shower and is very bright with the morning sun shining in.

The pool area looks like it would be nice with a trendy feel to it. The location is great, very central with great views of the ocean from most rooms. A stay at the Shangri-La will be unique. Since it is a small hotel with an unusual layout, some guests may feel like they are staying at a motel or apartment building. But regardless, this is still a nice hotel with a cool vibe that will appeal to many if not all guests.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

My husband and I stayed June 4-9. (You can actually see us in the hot tub in the pics from the last reviewer, haha). The view from our room (404) was amazing! The staff are super-friendly; you know as soon as you arrive that you shouldn't hesitate to ask for anything. The pool was closed the last two days of our trip (they were making it deeper, i think)and the construction noise from that was a little irritating. But the pool was very nice and heated when I did use it. Location is perfect -- third street promenade is SO cool! You are so close to Santa Monica pier, quick bike or drive down to Venice, a run in Palisades Park, a drive up the coast to Malibu -- there is just too much to do! We felt pretty safe in this area. Only critiques were that the room was a bit narrow for walking around the bed (it's an old hotel, so I understand) and my husband wasn't crazy about the mattress though I thought it was okay. I also would have appreciated a coffee maker or espresso machine in the room. Room service was delicious and reasonable for breakfast. We got a good rate of $199 which was well worth it. We parked at the public garage around the corner (ranged $7-14/day). So happy with our choice to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This hotel is a perfect place for vacation,business trip,or just little get away. It is also a great place to meet nice people. We had a deluxe room with ocean view, huge and deep bath tub,plasma TV,comfy bed, and sexy room interior. The pool, jacuzzi, pool menu and again, sexy outside interior made us feel great! The service is better then 5* hotel: helpful, nice, hard-working. They clean rooms few times a day. Can't wait to be back to this hotel and wish there were more places like Shangri-la hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate_Shef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday nights--great ocean view room on the 5th Floor booked via Quikbook. The rate was very good, and went down the week before we arrived, so I actually re-booked in order to get the better rate or $169 a night. When we arrived they didn't have us booked w/ the better rate, but they made the change without question.
The lobby is subdued and small, but the staff was friendly, and it will feel more open once the restaurant and bar open, which are off the Lobby. There are still signs of being under construction, but it is close to being finished. There was no work underway on the weekend, so it was quiet.
All the rooms are located off an open corridor that overlooks the pool and deck in the courtyard below. It was unfinished, but looks to be great. Our room was nicely done--the bath is attractive, and the view is great. The bathroom is nice looking, but not too practical. The tub and shower are combined, but the shower curtain doesn't work so well at keeping the water from going all over the bathroom floor--the housekeeper should drape the curtain appropriate so that one is aware how it is supposed to work--I knot this sounds ridiculous but it's true as it's not your typical set up. There is also a large window in the tub/shower area--it's nice to have the light, but anyone walking down the outside corridor can literally see your silhouette or worse if you're in the shower. The window was original and made of painted steel--attractive, but already starting to show rust spots. A roll down shade or another piece of frosted glass would go a long way here. Lastly, our TV wasn't working in terms of ordering a movie and they sent someone up but he had no idea how to fix it and wasn't that professional about it--we eventually got it work ourselves.
Breakfast was served in a suite and was nice and well stocked.
Valet parking was provided, but charged around $35 on the room, despite the attendant saying it was included when we initially dropped of the car. Again a bit annoying, but with the deal we got, I wasn't complaining.
For the price, the view and location none of these things mattered at all--it was great, and I hope this place works out the kinks and does well.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel (unfinished at that moment) during Christmas 2008. It was a brave choice as we knew when booking that the hotel wasn't open yet. After several delays the property open some rooms for its first guests couple days before our arrival, so consequently there were no restaurant(s) or cafe, no pool or gym, even though all are promised to be once completed.
The location is really nice - every room will have an ocean view (across the street), the higher the better of course. The bathroom has also ocean view, as there's a window into the room. Very nice elegant design. Not very spacious, but comfortable enough. the staff did its best to minimize inconvenience due to the works going on. Convenient complimentary (at the moment) valet parking. But one can find lots of cheap parking one street behind the property. Wi-fi in the room was a nice addition.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoo-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

My sister and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is very near to completing a MAJOR renovation. Because of the construction rooms can be found for a steal. We paid $209 plus taxes. Total ocean view, very chic room. Service was impeccable and quite classy. You'll feel spoiled if you stay here. As of our stay pool was not yet completed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,027 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,743 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,662 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £256 - £757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing