We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Georgian Hotel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Carmel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cal Mar Hotel Suites(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palihouse Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,248)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveller rating
518
385
171
97
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
385
171
97
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barart decopool areatwo bedroom suitefull kitchenocean viewperfect locationour honeymoonvalet parkingfarmers marketocean avenuethird street promenadelos angelesvenice beachpierconciergebathtub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,017 - 1,022 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This was our 2nd stop on our 3 week honeymoon. When we arrived the receptionist was lovely and we were also upgraded to a one bedroom suite (assuming this was because we were honeymooners?) which provided a lot more room for us. The hotel was quite old and the lift was very slow but the recent upgrade was nice. We didn't use the pool but we did visit the roof top bar and took advantage of the happy hour. We hired a car (concierge arranged this) but we did find the valet was expensive ($30 Au a night). The hotel was well positioned and a great place to stay if wanting to take day trips near by. The bed was very comfortable and liked how we had a fridge and a tv also in the bedroom. The room overall was quiet once the window blaokouts were closed. Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe_buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The problem with staying Santa Monica is that every hotel is overpriced, and many are nice/decent but none are worth the premium (even Shutters). So our strategy was to look for the best value proposition. Hence, we found a decent deal at the Shangri-La and liked some of the features such as the pool, ocean-view, etc. All in we found a rate of $150 per night plus tax and valet parking - just over $200.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay. However, I would have been disappointed paying normal rates. The rooms are ok, strangely appointed but we had a beautiful view of the ocean. Location is perfect, very easy to get down to the water and to get to restaurants, shopping etc. Highlights of staying there are everything around the hotel - running along the beach, brunch at Shutters one day, shopping, dinners, ease of getting to other parts of LA. I loved staying in Santa Monica, coming in from New York its just so nice to see the beautiful Pacific Ocean every morning.

- Front desk staff was a bit inconsistent. I thought they were rude to their own bellhop!
- Restaurant staff were wonderful - helpful with directions and advice
- Rooftop bar was ok - crowd was a bit cheesey - all tourists like me ;)
- Loved the pool - no one was there during the day (it was a weekday though)
- No issues with noise

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elli2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I just returned home from the worst vacation experience I have ever had. A friend of mine recommended the Shangri La to me and I owe him a punch in the nose for this one.

WORST SERVICE I HAVE EVER HAD. From the moment I checked parked my car. Valet was nowhere to be seen, no doorman or bellman to help us in with our bags. A front desk clerk who was more interested in taking her lunch break than checking us in. Finally when we got to our room, it was nothing like they advertise. They must use a magnifying glass when placing the picture in the ads. The room is small and the bathroom is tiny and un-usable.

When we called down to get restaurant recommendations, there was no concierge on staff, and this was on a Thursday afternoon at 3pm. Are you kidding me???? The pool area looks nice, but don't expect any kind of service there either. there was no one to tell us where to sit and when we sat ourselves on a lounge chair, we waited 20 minutes for a waiter to come and take our order, When no one came by, we went to the bar, where the bartender was more interested in texting his friends, than taking our orders.

We were planning on staying for 4 nights, but checked out the second day we were there.

What a shame, Such a great location and cool look for a hotel, the place must be hurting because it was a ghost town. After being treated like that, I can understand why. There are many better places to stay in the area and I recommend you check out the Fairmont, Shutters or the Loews before you give a single dollar to this place. What a joke.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgreen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

this was the worst hotel ever. upon check in the hotel was beautiful! Until they lead us to our room...on the first floor in the corner next to the kitchen, and utility closet. We had been promised a sofa bed and a rollaway. Our room had one bed, no sofa bed or rollaway. We called the desk and they said they didn't have one. Now we have one bed and 3 people (2 teenagers). It was time to go to bed and the desk said they had 2 matress. Mattress was not the word to use...they brought in the cushions from the pool. My two kids slept on pool cushions. The next day we decided to check out. The service was horrible and we wanted a refund. They gave us most of our money back, but one and one half days of our 3 day vacation was ruined. We didn't know where to go, so when rolled our luggage down the sidewalk to the fairmont hotel. we were able to get a room with three beds there. The fairmont was a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hubbabubbamax31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Thank you to the hotel ! we had a great stay and excellent service! because it was our wedding birthday they upgraded us in the suite hotel ! we had a bottle of champagne and strawberries waiting for us. Overall service very good, food really good, propose a picnic service for the beach..really nice ! and the backside swimming pool area is really trendy ! overall cost (for the room she should have had) is fair.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Confmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews