We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Shaken not Stirred!
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This motel is conveniently located within walking distance to both Venice Beach & The Pier. Close to very restaurants. A little noisy at night, but not unbearable...Would stay here again. The staff are very friendly and accomodating.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank El-Guapo-de-La-Noche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    284
    72
    21
    15
See reviews for
176
246
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I recently spent 7 nights at the Santa Monica Motel and was very impressed. It is situated a few minutes walk from the beach in a street full of cafes and restaurants - there is also a cafe next door which sells delectable breakfasts. The motel is beautifully kept. The room was large, the cleaners are regular and thorough and there is a terrace on the second floor where one can sit and relax. The comfort of guests has top priority: they will be putting in quadruple glazing to cut out the noise of a restaurant across the street [which incidentally didn't disturb me]. I will be going back there, no question.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor with easy access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Low key, beachy "motel" one block or so from the beach in a nice area of Santa Monica. Rooms are large and comfortable, nothing fancy. Nightly room rate was very reasonable. Parking was available for no charge. If we go to Santa Monica again, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gsculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I hate to write a negative review....so here are the positives. Very nice staff, helpful, gave recommendations for restaurants and good directions. Parking in rear of motel which was secure. Cute room with table and chairs, fridge, tile floors, wood shutters. Now for the negatives...We had a top floor room, king bed (old sheets and pillows, very hard mattress, did not look all that clean). Very, very noisy (woman vomiting next door around 2 a.m., people laughing and yelling at 4 and 5 a.m., going up and down the stairwell. No night time clerk on duty after 8-9 p.m. Did not feel all that safe and did not get much sleep! Room rate high but understand Santa Monica is expensive place to stay. Should have drove down the coast a little further and found something better. Last night of our trip and unfortunately the worst place we stayed all week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tessiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We found the Sea Shore to be a superb value for Santa Monica. The rooms are good size, and equipped with small fridge and table with seating for two, as well as wifi and cable. Upstairs rooms have an elevated, wood-paneled ceiling and windows with wooden blinds, adding to the shore cottage feel. Two blocks from beach and Perry's bike rental. Free parking to boot. It's a motel--not a Hyatt--but well kept, clean and super convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Second stay and as good as always. Like the location, the rooms are superb. Parking in rear. Close to the beach, the Pier and close to Venice. Close to the Getty Museum and to Malibu. Friendly staff. I'll be back as soon as we're in LA again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karumba, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is in an amazing location and charges a fraction of what hotels with well known names charge yet are not in as good of a location. The rooms are large with comfy bed. The bathroom is serviceable with good water pressure. The room was quite and no outside noise could be heard from our downstairs room. It is about 15 minutes walk to either Venice or the Pier, there are terrific restaurants everywhere and on Tuesday nite across the road is gourmet van night where all the vans gather and serve amazing food. Manager Ken could not do enough to make our stay comfortable including early check in after a long flight from Australia. Thanks Sea Shore for a great experience. No pool or fitness centre but water one block away bad excellent running tracks so no big deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4001
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing