We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect neighborhood spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Forno

Il Forno
Ranked #233 of 672 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: US$40 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 29th and 30th
Transit: Santa Monica Blue Buss #8 at 28th street and walk back one block.
new jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect neighborhood spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. I've been eating here for 15 years and the food is consistently wonderful, the service reliably perfect. The staff always makes you feel at home. You can tell that they are happy to be working here because I've never seen anyone without a smile and a welcoming attitude. I always get the same thing, Ortolano salad and linguini Mare y Monte. I've never felt the desire to get anything else because it's one of my favorite meals anywhere. When we moved from LA to New Jersey years ago we agreed we must visit Il Forno every time we came back and we have never missed it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alrutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Caring Service + Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

When you go to a restaurant and the owner is involved you are usually in for a good experience. That is what happens at Il Forno. Mike, our waiter, was efficient and the order was delivered exactly as we ordered it....pizza with olives, artichoke hearts, cheese + . The Tomatoes that are served with a tangy vinagrette are delicious and make a great companion for the bread. Nothing fancy, but great for a casual evening at fair prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Love vacation time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Trattoria -- OK for Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great Italian food, convenient location with lots of parking. Tables are fairly close together, lots of locals come here with and without kids. The decibel level is up there, but pleasantly so. They start you off with fresh baked Italian bread & their special tomato mixture with tons of garlic and oil. And I loved the eggplant rollatini & the Caesar salad. Go, enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drthmedarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We live in the neighborhood and frequent Il Forno regularly. We've tried many of the dishes on the menu by now and it's all great food.

Don't let its location fool you, even though it might technically be considered a strip mall, it's set back from the street by quite a distance and has some really quaint outdoor tables with heaters and planting (and some nice lighting).

The food is authentic. The staff are amazing, very friendly and sociable. They really make you feel welcome every time you walk in the door.

Helpful?
Thank Mario0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Killer Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I hesitate to write a review as it's our hidden gem for authentic and suburb Italian food on the westside. There may be other places with more charming decor but few will have better service, or come close to matching the incredible food. The pizza's are outstanding as is the Risotto Nero and all the pasta's we have tried. Their house salad is perfection.

If you want attentive service and outstanding Italian food, you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CelticGirlLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Forno also viewed

 

Been to Il Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing