We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs! Bed bugs! Bed bugs!”
Review of Ocean Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Park Hotel
Reviewed 27 March 2012

After several sleepless nights under attack and switching rooms only to wake up with ten more bee sting size bed bug bites, i fleed with my wife and children to a clean safe hotel. Great area but i wouldnt stay there one night if they paid me! Run as fast as you can unless you like being feasted on by nasty bugs! The manager actually admitted that they had such a epedimic just six months ago that they changed all the beds! Theyre still there! This place should be shut down immideately!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harrisfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanParkHotel, Manager at Ocean Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

I was the manager on duty throughout this guest's stay. On learning of a potential problem, I immediately summoned our pest control service, Ecolab, which is one of the world's top pest eliminators. The room was promptly inspected and found to contain no bed bugs, or any other pest. The relocated guest quickly complained of bites in the new room, so I had that room inspected as well. No bed bugs.

Since both rooms were pest-free, and no one else staying in the room was bitten, then or since, I'm forced to conclude the guest's "bites" arose from some other cause than bed bugs.

I spend all day at the hotel and would never tolerate a pest infestation. I think our other reviews, on this site and elsewhere, testify to the cleanliness of our hotel and the professionalism of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

Although this hotel isnt a 4 out of 5, i gave it this ranking because it is such excellent value for money. We paid $50 for one nights accommodation and got a clean room with a decent bed, tv, sink and fridge. There are shared toilet and bathroom facilities but that was fine. I was reluctant to stay here at first as i had never done the communal toilet and shower thing but it didnt bother me in the slightest once i got there. Can be a bit noisy so it may be an idea to bring ear plugs but apart from that i have no complaints. Would have had to pay over $100 more for another hotel in the area. Great value for money. Also man at the reception was extremely helpful when we were checking in. Short bus trip to Santa Monica beach. Highly recommended for budget conscious travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Pros:
Clean
modern rooms with sink, fridge,TV, and microwave
nice location
great price
nice staff
Cons:
showers are horrible- no water pressure, barely any water, either super hot or cold (there is no way to have a good shower)
Can hear other guests easily
No individual thermostats- my room was always freezing

Room Tip: If you do not mind a shared bathroom with a crappy shower, then this place will work for you. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Ocean Park Hotel is a great place to stay if you want to be near the beach in L.A. It is easy to get to from the airport. Take the airport shuttle to the transfer station and catch the No.3 bus along Lincoln Blvd to Ocean Park Blvd. Catch the No.8 bus away from the beach up Ocean Park Blvd and get off at 31st St. Cross the road and you will find the hotel around the corner in 32nd St.($1.50, ask the bus driver for a transfer card).
You can catch the "Rapid" bus into L.A., but if you want to go to Hollywood, Universal studios etc, you can catch the red line metro from Union Station. However if you want to go to Disneyland etc, it would be better to stay out at Anaheim.

Room Tip: The only negative is that the rooms do not have an en suite, but we didn't have any problems. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dubsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed here for a total of 10 days from the middle of june till start of July 2011.
I came from Australia
First of all, the staff were very helpful especially Jeremy i think his name was. (the main guy)
My room had a bar fridge an microwave and public transport was very accesible.
I will be returning on the 17th of August for another week, and really look forward to it.
All this with a very reasonable price.
There realy was nothing to complain about
Great work guys!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

In the interest of spending more money out doing things in LA instead of on lodging and because the reviews were overall pretty good, I chose the Ocean Park. We were so happy with the decision. The staff was great. The place was clean. Neither of us minded the shared bathrooms, and I swear they were never crowded and it was a holiday weekend. A bonus was the delicous breakfast that was included at the cute diner next door with friendly service. Would definitely go back and have and will continue to recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKDC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Ocean Park Hotel was cheap and cheerful, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is mid-long walking distance to Santa Monica town and beach but we hired a car so it was easy. There is free wifi and secure parking. Our room was basic and the bathroom shared but overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKZander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
638 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
652 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#35 of 36 in Santa Monica
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
#16 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,274 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Hotel

Address: 2680 32nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-3105
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range: £61 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing