We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reluctant to Review Because I Want to Keep it a Secret!”
Review of Rest Haven Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rest Haven Motel
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I am a budget minded traveler. However, I would rather pay more than stay in a dive. But this place is VERY NICE and good for a budget. It is an older motel that has been fixed up nicely. The landscaping plants are mature and lush. The courtyard is very nice if you get a room in the back. All the rooms are different and if there are several available then Jannet, the manager, will be happy to show them to you so you can choose. We usually have 3 or 4 of us when we stay here so we like a room with one double and two twin beds. The kids each get their own bed! In that room, however, the bathroom is tiny. But it is manageable. The room under the apartment in the back off the courtyard has a double bed in one part of the unit and a door seperating it from the area where a twin bed is. That one has a larger bathroom. The other two off the courtyard in their own building are newer but smaller with one bed each and one has a nice handicapped bathroom. The room in the front under the apartment also has a double bed and a twin bed and the bathroom area is huge with a whole other section off of the bathroom with an additional dresser. This is probably the best one if you have a lot of stuff with you, like large suitcases to store. The rest of the motel has a strip of rooms off of the parking area and is the original motel building. Across from the parking area is a Jack in the Box and the drive through but the noise was really not too bad as the windows are newer and seem to be double paned. Actually we like it there as it is actually a buffer from Linclon Blvd which is in the front of the Jack in the Box. On the weekends, the noise from the bar kitty corner from the hotel can be loud if they have a band but we are usually out and about anyway. Basically if you are noise sensitive, get a room off the courtyard or wear ear plugs. The rooms each have a small fridge and dressers that are quite large. I have yet to stay in a room that has a desk or table but I have not needed them. There is free wifi. The office will give you the code. Each room also has nice flat scrren tvs on the wall up high. The rooms are clean with a surprise oragami towel animal for your pleasure. The towels are small and linens are basic. They do put a sheet on top of the bedspread which is nice. The room heaters are the old fashioned wall type. Ask on tips on how to use it. If you tend to get cold when you sleep, ask for an extra blanket as some of the doors have a draft at the bottom. The manager Jannet is so nice, I feel like I am visiting a cousin or something everytime I come here. Never hesitate to ask for anything. When Fred the owner is there, he is also equally as accomodating. DO NOT EXPECT the stuff you get at hotel/motel chains here. This is a historical landmark hotel with a cute neon sign. It has been refurbished quite nicely but the place does have some age related flaws. Also the area is not the greatest but not the worst either. It is super convenient to many area attractions and there are regular bus routes nearby. You can also easily walk to places like the Santa Monica Pier in 15-20 minutes. I just love this motel. But I like variation. Sure, their are things that could be better but they do the absolute best with what they have. Frankly, I am out and about most of the time enjoying Santa Monica and LA so I don't need much. I would rather have the extra 50-100 bucks that I save each night by staying here to spend out there anyway. For the business traveller, this may not be the place due to lack of a desk and other ammenities. But for the tourist, especially one on a budget, this is THE PLACE.

Room Tip: Personal preference. The rooms by the Jack in the Box and bar can be noisy so bring ear plugs. But m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akidcagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Wow, thank you so much for your very detail oriented comments and/or a very precise description of our place. The management would like to thank you for taking a lot of your precious time to describe even the smallest details in our motel. We don`t even have to advertise every detail regarding our rooms and amenities, you have done it already for us. Hope our future guests get these informative review seriously so we can look forward for more room reservations. Most of the issues that you mentioned are correct and we are trying even more to correct the deficiencies. As you said this motel is a LandMark and old and the rooms are not that big that is why we did not have desk in any rooms. But we do have desk and laptop desk upon request. Hope to see you again. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

We were satisfated our staing in this motel. Espeshely thanks to manager, who was plesant with as. Nice place, good rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

It is so nice to hear someone from Russia. Thank you for staying with us. Our appreciation for your nice review, thanks very much. Your next visit with the family will be a great pleasure.
Have a Wonderful Holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The service is excellent. The location is great because i'ts near all the accomodities. You just have to walk about 15 minutes and you are at the santa monica beach and pier. Is it sure that if we return at Santa Monica, we choose the Rest Haven Motel. For the price, it's the best report price/quality. Is it the best choice motel/hotel to stay at Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeCoupleVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you for those wonderful words. Your comments are very much appreciated and looking forward to greet you again the next time you visit Santa Monica. Happy Holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights after driving Route 66. Santa Monica is expensive for hotels and many offer poor value for money. Rest Haven is idealy positioned off Lincoln walkable to SM and Venice. At first it seemed like any other low rent motel but the attention to detail is good and the manager was really friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfy slightly tired but restful. Our rooms faced the Jack in the Box drive thru but no disturbance at all. Rooms do not have A/C but never got too hot even in July. Verdict: Stay there unless you want to blow loads of dough and be disappointed elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveUK1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you very much for your very informative review. We`re sure it would be a good hint for other US travelling tourists. Hope to see you passing by and checking in on your next US road trip. Have a pleasant day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Spik and span. Warm & friendly. Well situated within walking distance of Pier, beach and 3rd Street. On the bus route direct from LAX. Very reasonable. Highly recommended. Towel sculpture was an added entertainment!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Who_That
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thanks for recommending our place to future guests. Your coming back will be highly appreciated. Good day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

After reading reviews we stayed at the Resthaven at the begining of October for four days. Janet was great, we had coresponded by email before our stay, she was very friendly and helpful. Our room was in the back courtyard area so it was nice an quiet. If you are looking for a good value and a clean place to stay this is the place. We will definitely be back next time we are in Santa Monica! -Teresa S.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank just4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Our appreciation for recognizing our service, thank you very much. Looking forward to welcome you back the next time you are in Santa Monica. Have a nice day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The staff here couldn't have been nicer, and the location was perfect - walking distance from most SM destinations and close to many stores and restaurants. Clean room, too - reminds us of a guest house in Europe or Asia. Small, but comfortable. Thank you, Rest Haven, for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saipanrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Glad to know that your stay in our "small family-run motel" was a pleasant one. Our appreciation too for the nice review. Thank you very much. Have a good day!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#35 of 36 in Santa Monica
263 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
639 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,006 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1311
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £93 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rest Haven Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*All request, including room type, are non-guaranteed and shall be honored depending on availability at check-in.* We are a small and basic motel. To noise sensitive; we are behind the Jack in the Box(fastfood chain) and the night Bar name TriP. Welcome to Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica !!! Feel good in this neighborhood if you would! This is an economy motel conveniently located in Lincoln Blvd and Grant Street just 20 minutes walk to the Third Street Promenade in downtown Santa Monica and the famous Santa Monica Pier where fun and enjoyment can be had beyond compare. The place is quite accessible to many other favorite tourists' haunts known the world over like Venice Beach, Malibu, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studio, Disneyland, and more which makes every stay a pleasure. Built in 1938..."A marvelous experience"... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing