We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute MUST GO” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zengo - Santa Monica

Zengo - Santa Monica
Ranked #213 of 672 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Spanish, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: The Big Blue Bus and Rapid line both have drop offs in front of the Santa Monica Place at the corner of 4th Street and Broadway.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An absolute MUST GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have honestly never had food like that before.
The whole Asian fusion cuisine was absolutely new to me but i was very suprised...in a very good way.
We were lucky that they had a happy hour combined with an all you can eat thing.
For 2 hours we could order almost everything on the menu with complimentary drinks. And we did try a lot and most of it was pretty good, some was exceptional and some things you probably have to love to order it again. The sushi was amazing to say the least.
The service was awesome, very helpful and informative about what we were served and the outside seating area right next to a fireplace with a view of the promenade was absolutely amazing.
If you are in Santa Monica and don't go there, you are absoultely missing out on some really great food that i wouldnt know where else to find.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Zengo or Zendontgo?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The entrance to the restaurant is located down a corridor past Sandia which was full of people. Zengo was almost empty which set alarm bells ringing but we decided to try it anyway.

We arrived at 6pm to enjoy a happy hour cocktail at sunset. No sunset although you do get a nice view down 3rd promenade if you sit on the outside deck. Happy hour is from 4pm-7pm with $5 margaritas, mojitos and a sake sangria. Cocktails were good but the $7 Martinis at Redwood Grille (opposite Zengo) were far better.

We ordered the sliders platter and must say that this was great value for $20. It came out very quickly but strangely it was already cold when it reached us? I ordered the pork with rice noodles...average, but my partner really enjoyed his tuna ceviche.

Compared to other meals that we've had over the last 3 days, this was disappointing. Would we go back? Sorry but no.

Helpful?
Thank amlabunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must try place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This Asian infusion restaurant was amazing. I had the shrimp ceviche and the duck confit daikon tacos- TO DIE FOR! They were amizangly delightful. Very fresh and not over seasoned, it came with a apple curry slaw and a sauce to put on top. The waitress advised us that the portions were small so I ordered the ceviche as well but I really didn't need it. I was there with two other girls and all of us left extremely full- they ordered the pad Thai and another dish in can't remember to split between them and they didn't finish their food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Married_Woman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had been to the one in Denver, and really enjoy this type of food. They have latin/asian tapas. Nice outdoor space, and friendly staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cazandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved the Food, Perfect Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our family was traveling together in March this year when we visited Zengo. There were 15 in our party, including 6 children between 6 and 15 and an infant in a stroller. Many places we ate were complicated over the idea of handling such a large group but at Zengo we were welcomed, given a lovely location in the outdoor area and waited on with patience and attentive service. We all agreed it was the best restaurant we visited on our trip. The menu is very diverse and it was easy to find something for everyone. We loved the Latin and Asian mix. One person in our party has a shellfish allergy and great care was given to insure that nothing in his food contained any ingredients that could be harmful to him such as oyster sauce. I highly recommend this restaurant and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zengo - Santa Monica also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Zengo - Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing