We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 October 2013

When we reserved here, it was a Sheraton. When we showed up, it was a Meridien.

Front desk was a mess because it was temporarily relocated to the concierge desk while they were doing renovations (didn't honor our Club reservation from Sheraton until we complained, long line of people and only 2 clerks, a loud and irate customer being handled by very junior staff). Overall the staff quality was very uneven.

Room was fine and plenty big, but the brand switch they recently did wasn't enough to cover some flaws - worn trim on the walls & bathroom, uneven drawers in the dressers, aloof servers in the breakfast restaurant, valet who lost our car for half an hour, etc. The place just doesn't measure up to Starwood standards I've come to expect.

It was perfectly fine, don't get me wrong, but the "ordinary" Sheraton I stayed in the night before in Anaheim was flawless by comparison, and half the price.

Room Tip: Aim for the SPG floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_Amun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Al_Amun,
Thank you for sharing your review of the property in 2013. In reviewing past unanswered reviews by guests, your review caught my eye and especially with the word "details" in the heading. Our apologies for the inconvenience as it appears you visited during the renovation period and transition to the brand Le Meridien. As the new GM of the property, I have taken your comments and shared the feedback in hopes of training opportunities for our staff. It is "All in the details" and I appreciate the honest feedback. We hope you will give us another opportunity and please reach out directly to me at the hotel should your travels bring you back to Santa Monica. Travel safely.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

As an SPG member I was highly disappointed ! For the same money you can stay ocean front steps away from the beach ! This location is a category 2 hotel with contemporary furnishings. Highly overpriced with management who knows nothing about the business. I thought from other reviews id check it out for myself, I had the same experience and will never return. The staff is excellent which leads me to say the problem persists with the management! ( if you have to change the hotel name and for some god forsaken reason keep the same management staff and the same experience persists, ITS THE MANAGEMENT)The music is pleasant is some areas with it ear deafening in others, the staff can't do anything unless multiple people complain. In my book, one complaint is enough. I'm not going to repeat everything negative everyone else had to say, those were my personal top problems. I'll share a few photos !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1busyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear 1busyman,
My apologies that you did not receive a response to your TA review from 2013. As the new GM, you were very clear with your expectations of leadership and as a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor, your feedback is very, very important. Even moreso, you are part of our SPG Family and the fact that we did not exceed your expectations leads to the review you posted. Since my arrival to the hotel, the guest comes first and foremost. Your review is posted in my office now as a starting point to focus on with our SPG guests. It is important that you know how important you are to us and if visiting Los Angeles again, I hope you will give us another opportunity. I can be reached during normal business hours and hope to see you again in 2014.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The hotel was good but next time I will book something closer to the beach. The staff were helpful and the rooms were nice and clean. The car park and enterence was often congested.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear AdventureLive,
First I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your TripAdvisor review. As the current GM, I am reviewing past comments and responding on behalf of the hotel. As a Top Contributor to TA, your feedback and taking the time to share is truly needed and helps the hotel achieve greater success for our stakeholders. I appreciate the positive comments about the property and will share with my team. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again this year.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at Le Meridian Delfina Santa Monica recently and were consistently blown away by the staff.

They repeatedly went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.

And that's only the beginning....

Not only were the facilities top notch but the food is as good if not better than many of the best restaurants in Santa Monica.

There are so many people we could thank. From Courtney to Hugo to David.....the list goes on.

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Ezra,
First and foremost, our apologies for the delayed response to your review. As the current GM, I am reviewing past comments and yours caught my eye. We appreciate the positive comments and I will share your comments with Hugo, David, and the rest of the team. Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you again in 2014!
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I am a platinum member of the spg and normaly always feel welcome and recognised. When I booked the hotel it was a Sheraton. When I checked in on the 11th september it still said Sheraton, even tough the was some Le Meridien signs at some places. To begin a just thought it was an old Le Meridien thas had changed. As a platinum member you get acces to clublevel. Normally free soft drinks and snack and breakfast. In the hotel map it still sad that I had this previliges and it also sad when I booked the room . In the afternoon me and my wife desided to go to the bar, which hosted the club. There was a lot of customers and I showed my Platinumcard and asked for 2 cokes. The bartender looked at me at se had never seen a platimum card before. Then see called someone and we were then told, that we could not get anything as the hotel was turning in to at Le Meridien. It was so imbarrassing in front of all the other customers. I meen wee spend 350 dollas a night and stay more than 50 nigts a year in the SPG. I have had my harley shipped over from Denmark and am on a tour across the USA and has been very loyal to the SPG becuase I like its benefits. If there is a SPG hotel I always stay even thought there might be some better and cheaper hotels. When my tour finsh in one week I have had 55 nights so fare this year! Just vacation not business!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dar HansN,
First and foremost, as a Platinum SPG member I apologize for the late delay in responding to your review. As the current GM, I was not here when you stayed but it sounds like your experience is not what is expected from a Le Meridien and I want you to know that we have taken your feedback and incorporated it into our process to ensure this does not happen again. We appreciate your business and hope that you will reach out directly to myself if your travels bring you to Los Angeles again. You can reach me during normal business hours at the hotel.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel in Santa Monica (first time was December 2012) and once again I was pleased with my stay. It's recently rebranded as a Le Meridien and I guess they are doing some renos but it still looked the same as it did when i stayed here 9 months ago. It's very chic! Nice decor and the rooms are large. I was in a King room and I had a great view of Santa Monica and a little ocean view from the ninth floor. A little balcony with stable and chairs was a nice touch.

Hotel is super clean, room is clean and prett and bed is very comfortable and they were quick to bring me fresh towels when I asked for them.

There is an Illy coffee maker in the room which was great.

Excellent service and staff is very friendly.

Free WiFi in guest rooms for Starwood loyalty program members (it's a free program to join)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank kattrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Kattrins,
Thank you for your review in late 2013 from your stay. As the current GM, I am reviewing old comments that never received a response and yours caught my eye. It is important to us that we communicate with our guests and they understand how important the information is for us in the hotel. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Santa Monica.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is well located within walking distance of the beach and downtown Santa Monica. We booked 1 night initially and then decided to add another, booking both by phone to make sure all was booked correctly. Despite calling the hotel three times prior to arrival to make sure they had our booking as a 2 night stay rather than two separate one night stays, they still had it as 2 separate bookings, so the check in agent was unsure as to the type of room we should have for both nights. This was a bit annoying after the effort we made with the reservations staff. however the hotel staff (Tim on reception especially) were excellent and sent us champagne and dessert as an apology.
The hotel was very nice, as was our room (the bed was so comfortable!) and we really enjoyed the hotel's bike rental service, which we used to cycle along the coastal path to Venice. Overall we had a really good time here, though the hotel's reservation system could clearly do with some improvements. I understand the comments about the parking, however we managed to find a space on both days without too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on higher floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniAklb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear CaliforniAkib,
Thank you for sharing your comments from your stay late 2013. My apologies that you did not get a response but I am reviewing older reviews that did not get any response and noticed your review. The comments about reservations will be reviewed for corrective action. I appreciate your recognition of Tim and will share with him your comments. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again in 2014!
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,950 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
627 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,669 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Address: 530 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1223 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £234 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched four blocks above the Santa Monica shoreline, Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica offers a superior access point to Los Angeles. Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica is conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown Santa Monica's engaging collection of shops, entertainment and restaurants and less than eight miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The area's main leisure attractions include: Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade, Getty Museum, Getty Villa and Venice Beach, are all within steps of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica. The guestrooms and suites have been thoughtfully redesigned and many offer private balconies with expansive views over the Pacific Ocean or the city skyline. The rooms and suites have a relaxed and sophisticated decor, and feature the amenities needed for modern life, including oversized desks and high-speed Internet access. All accommodations are 100% non-smoking, and offer Le Meridien Platform beds, in-room coffee makers and mini refrigerators. There is a guest amenity fee per night which includes: premium high speed wifi for unlimited amount of devices, four hour bicycle usage for any overnight guests, welcome drink upon arrival, daily newspaper, wellness classes offered 3x per week, Illy coffee offered in the lobby, guestroom, or Zest Kitchen (specialty coffees), local calls, and a house car service offering dropoffs and pickups within three miles of the hotel until 9PM daily. Complimentary valet parking for all overnight guests is included with 24 hour usage and unlimited access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Delfina Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Santa Monica
Santa Monica Sheraton
Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing