We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome and Eclectic Combo!”

Harvelle's Blues Club
Ranked #3 of 30 Nightlife in Santa Monica
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Few places in the country can honestly say that they adequately capture the flavor of a particular location. The truth is that once the sunset, people want to get dirty, and we just help them indulge. Harvelle's takes pride in showcasing the best live Blues, R&B, Soul, Jazz, Burlesque Shows, and so much more. Our crown jewel is the Toledo show, there's really nothing quite like it. A mix of all the best talents the area has to offer, all in one place. No one has quite a good time as Harvelle's!
Brisbane
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“An Awesome and Eclectic Combo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

A local told us about this place and that there was a jazz / rap gig playing that night. Firstly, what the hell is jazz / rap? I was skeptical. Then i was told that entry was $7 and they had cheap PBR. This convinced me to give it a go.

We rolled in at about 11pm at the party was in full swing. It's a cozy bar with red leather interior and dark walls. There was a 6 (or possibly 7 or 8) piece band cranking out some awesome tunes.

Drinks were reasonable at the atmosphere was extremely chilled and down to earth, unlike a lot of LA....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cevin C, Owner at Harvelle's Blues Club, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Great to hear you found us by word of mouth, Milvey! Glad you enjoyed everything from the atmosphere to the drinks. We're all about our live acts here, so we're psyched you dug the band when you were here. Hope you've had a chance to take in another show since coming to see us this past summer.

'Til next time,

Harvelle's Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great live music and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Arrived at approx. 2200 and the party was in full swing although the band had not yet arrived. Managed to get a seat near the entrance which was a good move as although we couldn't see the band we were not constantly bumped by the packed out central corridor between the bar and the booths.
There are two complaints I have for the venue, the first is there is no control of the crowd, meaning trying to get to the Restroom is nearly impossible. The second is the music is way way too loud. You will leave this bar with Tinnitus if you do not have earplugs, there is no real reason for the music to be this loud if it is good quality you don't need the wax blown out of your ears.
We were treated to a live Rap band who were amazing, there were some wannabee gangsters in the house and some guys in their early twenties giving the screwface, but maybe this crowd is to be expected with the music.
Overall a great night out and would return for sure.
Advice to management: Raise the stage, turn the music down very slightly, keep the chumps out, get three barmaids.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cevin C, Owner at Harvelle's Blues Club, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
We're all about the music here, so we're glad to hear you were digging the band when you came in last year. We're just getting on TripAdvisor, but we still wanted to thank you for sharing your experience. It's important to us that everyone feels like they can count on us for a good time, so we apologize that the volume of the music was a bit too loud. That being said, we know we can create the perfect evening for you, and we hope you've give us a chance to do that since your list visit.

Hope to see you back soon,

Harvelle's Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great live music and always tons of energy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The bar is always packed! They book great bands and it's a great place to go if you like to dance. Great for groups too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank invisione2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cevin C, Owner at Harvelle's Blues Club, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Always nice to hear you can count on us for a good night out with friends! Looking forward to wowing you even more the next time you come see us.

'Til next time,

Harvelle's Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If only I could see :0(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Toledo Show - dance /music would be great. But Harvelle's can't manage their crowd so patrons can see the show. Get here an hour early so you can see, then they let people stand in the aisle and block your View. Bouncer says don't stand at the booths (shoes off), but won't control the ones in the aisle Blocking views. I am a dancer, and came to SEE the performance ....NOT listen to it! !!

Helpful?
Thank bryanspins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“burlesque at it's best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

i don't know how it is on a regular night but the burlesque show we saw...harlow gold...was awesome.had a really great time there!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank flygurl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cevin C, Owner at Harvelle's Blues Club, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed the burlesque so much a while back. We're just getting on TripAdvisor, but we hope you've been able to join us for another show since then.

Hope to see you back,

Harvelle's Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvelle's Blues Club also viewed

 

Been to Harvelle's Blues Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing