We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, No Complaints...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, No Complaints...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the end of September. We had a luxury room overlooking the ocean on the 5th floor. It was clean and well maintained. Normal sized room, the bed and bedding were very comfortable. Personally, I loved the big walk in shower, real nice. The bathtub was a situated a little wierd but we never used it, no biggie. Nice large screen LCD TV, plenty of channels. The room was quiet, never heard a peep from other rooms. All the staff that we came in contact with were nice and friendly. The concierge was great, very helpful with directions and eating recommendations. Valet parking was expensive at $31 a day but my car was always waiting for me when I called for it...

Short walk to the pier and close to the beach. We LOVED watching all the activity on the beach, people working out, etc. very entertaining! Resturants were close, Montana street is in walkable distance, overall good location. We didn't do the pool program but it looked pretty busy.

I would recommend a stay at this hotel without question. Very nice, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the first floor under the pool deck, we met a couple that expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Techsan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    723
    348
    180
    132
See reviews for
891
616
96
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed at Loews for 4 nights. The location is excellent, which is reflected in the price. The pool area is clean with great views of the ocean, and we thought the restaurant was good, but overpriced. The bedrooms clean, but slightly dreary decor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Loew's Hotel for an October 1st wedding on the beach. The staff was absolutely terrific and the food for both the rehersal dinner and the wedding was outstanding.

Room Tip: Try to pick upper floors (the Lobby is on the 4th floor) which may have better views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at the Loews for two nights while on our honeymoon. The lobby is impressive and has gorgeous views of the beach. For me, the hotel was a little too big and too crowded. We had paid a little more for an upgrade of a room with a 'glimpse of the ocean' view and well, a glimpse was just what it was. There was a tiny balcony that overlooked the pool and if you went out onto it, you could see the Santa Monica pier but the noise from the pool was too loud to keep the sliding glass door open. The room was very nice - super comfortable king bed, big tv and roomy clean bathroom. We also received a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries since it was our honeymoon which I thought was a nice touch. One big complaint was the noise level in the hotel. We were on a higher floor and could hear the crowds of people late into the night from the lobby below. As other reviews have written, I think the high price tag is due to the great beachside location - you walk out the door (well, after taking a few elevators) and you are at the entrance to the beach which was pretty great but I don't think it was worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed 9 nights. The staff was great from the moment we walked in. They are trained to address you by name which is a nice touch. The rooms were clean and well kept. The pool area is kept clean. It is conviently located and within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping. It was very relaxing coming back after a long day and sitting around the fire pits. The outside bar staff was great. He remembered our orders from the first night there and continued to address us by name. The views are amazing. We had room 804 which I will request in the future. It has pool views as well as views of the pier which is beautiful at night.

My only complaint was the pillows were aweful. I woke up every morning with a kinked up neck. I finally stopped using them by the end of the week.

I also do not recommend the restaurant, although the "sushi at sunset" was very good. The restaurant is very pricey and the food is average quality. The staff is great though. Considering the price and variety of other great restaurants within walking distance, we never returned to the restaurant. The italian restaurant on the corner of ocean Ave. and the santa monica pier entrance is amazing. I highly recommend this if you are looking for a nice dinner out.

I would definately stay here again when I'm in the area. After walking around the area and checking out other hotels I would say this has the best views and is the most conviently located. It can be pricey, so if you are on a budget or can't get a deal on a room here, you may want to try else where.

Room Tip: Room 804 - Great views of pool area, fire pits, and the santa monica pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grey1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed here in august and found this to be one of the cleanest hotels i have ever stayed in and the location was excellent. The bar is a bit small but plenty of staff to make sure you don't haveto wait for a drink.
The rooms are clean and of a good size with plenty of channels to choose from on the tv if required
The staff were extremely polite, cleaners, concierge etc
The hotel is just off the beech and in a great spot to go into the local area. Turn left and you go down the posh side which has some great shops and restaurants. Kings Head pub is a must allthough food portions were very large. They have a great choice of drinks to which most beers from here can be found within the pub (guiness, calsberg, stella, strongbow etc)
Turn right out of the hotel and its not quite as nice but still good to see.
I found the local homeless people extremely well mannered when scrounging a fag
Great place to stay and i will be going back

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at Loews for 4 nights at the end of a one month trip around the USA and it was all that we hoped for to relax at the end of our holiday. At check in Christen at reception went out of her way to make us feel welcome and checked us in to a great room on level one with a small courtyard and view to the Pier and I believe that she helped to make us love this hotel more.
The location is perfect with easy access to the beach, pier and an easy walk to Third Street Promenade for shopping and restaurants and the pool area is a great spot to have a drink and watch the sunset.
Santa Monica is a great location to discover LA and Loews is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiefamilySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing