We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nicely located !”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is a very nice hotel in Santa Monica, close to some exclusive shops, and within adequate range to downtown Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Malibu, L.A.... The beach is one block away, but you can enjoy the nice pacific view from your room, if facing the pacific and from the higher floor. You could also see the famous Santa Monica Pier, seen in many movies. The beach is a block away, the only reason I did not give it a 5, but the road is so narrow that it almost feels like you are right on the sands. The hotel is nicely kept, clean, and impressive. Adequate choice of restaurant, price within expected range for such a hotel. 2 hotels are a few feet away form thsi one and right on the beach, but way too expensive for most. The price range for this one was more than adequate for this hotel class. I would reccomend it.

Room Tip: high floor, pacific front with a view of the Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Woyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    734
    357
    180
    135
See reviews for
909
632
96
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

I need my room to be coolish (19 degrees) in order for me to sleep; so I complained when my room was way too warm (yes in May). They moved me but next room wasn't much better but I could leave windows opened which helped. And I got a better view. I agree with others that the price doesn't equal expectations. Thank god for the view hey? Outdoor areas are great - breakfast is a treat and nighttime drinks with flame heaters are magical times. Must admit hotel impressed my Santa Monica mates.

Food okay but nothing spectacular cept the view, it is a bit of a walk to shopping but only about 10 mins. Would stay if there's a bargain price on one of the websites. Def wouldn't pay more than usd300 per night tho.

My personal pref still Bev Hills Hilton :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank entjohns51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

First the good news. The hotel property is beautiful and the location perfect. It could of, and should of, been a wonderful stay. Two major negatives that ruined my stay.
1) woke up on my third morning to have a workman standing directly outside my 4 th floor window.
The hotel had neglected to inform me they were going to be doing work outside my window. Workman then proceeded to much banging with a hammer.
2) that same morning, there was no hot water at all for the entire morning. Had to take a cold shower.the front desk staff are the worst trained staff of any hotel I have stayed in. It's as if they are hired for their stupity.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenEk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I haven't travelled much so it probably doesn't take to much to impress me but my jaw did drop when I entered the beautiful Loews at Santa Monica. I think I was more impressed with the lobby than our room! ha. I think our experience may have been different if we hadn't of received a room upgrade as we had amazing views looking out over the pool and onto Santa Monica Pier which was definitely the most exciting thing about staying here. The room was reasonable, fairly compact but fresh and tidy (the beds were extremely comfortable!), I would of expected a little more for the price tag but with the room upgrade I really can't complain! I would say you are mainly paying for location though..it is right next to the pier and within walking distance of third street promenade as well as loads of restaurants. Free wi-fi is only available in the lobby (which is better than nothing), you have to pay if you want it in your room. The pool was lovely to swim in and when the night got a bit cooler we were able to sit by the pool by a warm fire overlooking the pier.

The view is what makes this hotel so amazing..if I could get upgraded again I definitely wouldn't say no ;D

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This hotel was appaling. I travel for business every week and this goes down as the worst hotel ever. First when I arrived the entire hotel was covered in scaffolding for "rennovation". This was not told to me when booking. Next I am told I have a superiorr room and will like it. It turns out to be a room for those in wheelchairs. The room is large sure, but it is barren and ugly. I am told I have pool views. Those views entail me cranking my next an trying to see the corner of the pool. I also abutt a room with a large balcony and outdoor tanning chairs. I have bars akin to a prison that prevent me putting my head outside (and if that room were to be occupied I would be looking out on the balcony of another room only - some what voyeuristic. I called and asked to change rooms. I was told the only other room was overlooking teh city. Are you kidding, it overlooks construction all around., and no I will not pay for an upgrade as I am already overpaying for a room here. I then wanted to take a quick power nap - not possible as there was constant drilling from 2 - 4 PM from the floor above. It was akin to a dental extraction noise for 2 houjrs. No warning at check-in and I am sure no apologies.

The room is worn, there are stains on all the chairs.

If this is a disabled bathroom why then are the toiwels on a rack that I at 5 feel 8 inches have trouble reaching. The sink is so high that a wheelchair would have major issues accessing and the hardryer is hanging on a high shelf in the closet.

This is room 531. IF you get it I stongly suggest you check out and leave for another hotel on the beach.

Overall the worst room for 2012 out of about 40. I wont be going to a Loews again. Customer service was non-existent.

Room Tip: Never take room 531. You are sandwiched in a corner with "non existent pool views" that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heleleat4915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I've stayed 2 nights. I'm staying 2 more. Yes, there are blemishes, but the view alone from balcony in Room 849 is worth the price for a double room ($311/night).

High marks: Bed, linens, bathroom, deep tub. Skip a massage for $135 and soak in the tub!
Low marks: Tired carpeting in rooms and lobby, noise traveling between room dividing doors.

Attention Motorists: Valet only accessible garage is $35/night. A block and a half away on Colorado there's a well-lit public garage for $14/night. Two of the last four nights I found a parking spot on the street directly across the street from the hotel next to the beach. No charge. No tax. No tip.

Room Tip: Lobby is on 4th floor of 8 story property. If you're interested in improving your view of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHound101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

I am not sure what I think of this place. It was expensive BUT it was a perfect location.
The room was tiny BUT we did have views of muscle beach. It wasnt spectacular though and I think that's what I was expecting.
After reading other reviews I would be more than happy to try out The Shore next time.
On the other hand I'm not completely unhappy with Loews. I guess it didn't really have that special quality I was expecting. It was pretty good but not excellent if you know that I mean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJANDLJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing