We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay except for just one thing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay except for just one thing...”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I know previous reviews have been harsh to say the least. Had I not already booked and pre-paid for loews I probably would have reconsidered. But I have had a really nice stay. I was on level 7 in an obviously refurbished room - and it was lovely. Some finishes (ie. painting) looked a bit dodgy but overall a comfortable room. Great view of the pier and small balcony. Downsides...I had an interconnecting room which meant I could hear some noise from my unknown neighbors. Wifi only free in lobby. But biggest disappointment...when checking in the receptionist wanted to authorize $100 per night! I was only staying 2 nights but when I asked what would you authorize if I was staying 6 nights (a stay at another hotel I had just come from)? And he replied we would take $600. Are you kidding me? That's alot from the minibar!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursetracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    739
    360
    182
    135
See reviews for
920
643
96
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Great weather and great location. Within walking distance of lots of places in Santa Monica. Enjoyed our room and the views. Poolside was crowded, and restaurants were only average. Convenience factor a major plus, but not a top choice for romantic getaway!

Room Tip: High floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swoodwor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed there two nights. The first night we were put in a room that wasn't at all what we expected for $300+/night. My first impression was it resembled a old warn out Holiday Inn. We finally ended up moving rooms, because there was a leak coming through the ceiling! Then, after moving rooms I realized that I had left a new shirt behind (Christmas present to boot). When I told the front desk this and exactly where to find it, I was told it was not there and could not be found. I know someone at the hotel took the shirt, because I had just taken it off and placed it on the towel rack a couple of hours earlier. I talked to at least 3 front desk people and 2 security personnel about this and it still did not turn up. So needless to say we're very disappointed first with the condition of the rooms and second with the honesty of some of the employees.

Room Tip: If you do choose to say here, try to get one of the upper rooms. The rooms in the lower 3 floors loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirtlessInVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The rooms are very average so make sure you book one that has a verandah and a view of the beach. You have a full view of the pier at night time which is really gorgeous.

However make sure you don't stay on a night when they have a big corporate event. We were kept awake until after midnight with thumping music.

Location is terrific as it's a close walk to the shops and also Venice Beach. Perfect for a night or two if you're travelling from overseas to New York. A good spot to rest and revive before the next plane flight.

A short stroll and you'll find a couple of good spots for dinner including Shutters - which is in my view, a nicer place to stay. The restaurant at Casa Del Mar is also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharynHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We (two adults, one 4year old) stayed at the LSM for two nights over NYE.
Pros: The locations is amazing, right on the beach with the Pier and 3rd street promenade a quick walk away. 2. The pool area is nice and the hot tube is very relaxing. 3. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable. 4. The service (with the rare exception of the one of the breakfast servers who was probably having a bad day) was exemplary. From check-in, to the concierge, everyone was friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome
Cons: 1. The hotel was undergoing construction (it happens) and there was a minor detour to get to the front of the hotel. It would have been great if the hotel had notified us of the construction in advance. 2. Not a huge fan of having to pay for wifi in the rooms, would prefer if the hotel just built that fee into the room price. 3. The bathroom, while large, is showing its age.

In conclusion, we have a very nice time at the Loews due to its location and the friendly service we received.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in loews for for four days in December 2012. The room was clean, the service was good. Nothing spectacular but very nice. The location however is excellent , in walking distance to the santa monica pier and the third street promenade.

Room Tip: try to find a room with a view to the santa monica pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, General Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
ManuelM

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our hotel with other Trip Advisor readers. We are pleased to hear that you found our location to be convenient for your needs. During your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact our wonderful concierge team. They are very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and will make excellent recommendations on new things to see and do while in Santa Monica! Again, thank you for both your stay with us and your kind words.

Sincerely,
Paul Leclerc – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
443 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

A very service-oreiented hotel located close to the Santa Monica peer directly on the Beach. In addition to the very comfy beds and good-sized rooms, the staff was extremely guest centric and friendly - that's everyone from the front desk to the wait staff to the valets and concierge. Now it's not an inexpensive place so I guess one should expect a strong service culture but this was so consistent that it made an impact.

There were a couple of negatives, bathrooms were pretty small and the carpet in our room (216) was a little tattered and worn around the edges. Additionally, they were doing some maintenance to the exterior of the building so there was a lot of scaffolding on the outside making it a little tricky to figure out where to come in with the car, but that should be done soon (we visited in late December 2012).

Great location, great service but pricey. If you have the means, give it a try.

Room Tip: Splurge on an ocean facing room. Also - the lobby (ground level) is the 4th floor as the hotel is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimRiesterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, General Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
JimRiesterer

We know how valuable your time is so thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at our hotel. It is our goal to provide each and every one of our guests with consistently friendly and personalized service. I am delighted to hear that this was your experience during your stay. The maintenance and upkeep of our rooms is of the utmost importance to us. We appreciate your observations and comments in this regard and will make sure that the items you mentioned are addressed. There has been a lot of work completed since your stay in December. We look forward to hearing your thoughts on our updated façade during your next visit. We await your return to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel!

Paul Leclerc – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,778 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
904 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,531 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing