We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't know about the renovations...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Didn't know about the renovations...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and always wanted to come back. Managed to get a great rate paying up front a couple of months in advance but didn't know about the renovations. To be clear, they are only affecting the front of the hotel but its very disconcerting when you arrive and it isn't clear where to get in! The lovely sweep drive is only partially in use so that causes a backlog if a lot of people want to use the valet at the same time. We twice waited nearly 10mins for our car. I think that reduces the rooms available as we were on the side street which although had a view of the ocean, was across the car park which wasn't quite what I had in mind.
Otherwise the room was well appointed and bed comfortable. Strange shaped bathroom, with the bath almost under the sink, but it was full sized and fills quickly.
Lots of building work going on across the street so interested to see how that changes the neighbourhood, as its a little further away from the action on third street than the other Ocean Ave hotels.
All in all fine, but not quite was I was hoping for. Will stay elsewhere on our next trip to Santa Monica.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, General Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
ASWh
Thank you for taking the time to share details of your visit this past December to our hotel. We were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We do regret that you experienced some delay with the valet service due to the façade renovation taking place during your visit. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. We are happy to advise you that our circular drive is now open and fully operational. As well, our façade renovation is in the final stages and near completion. We do hope that you will return to our hotel to experience our new look and share your feedback with us. We do appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Paul Leclerc – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    712
    344
    175
    131
See reviews for
862
607
93
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed 4 nights in February and had a great time on our first trip to Santa Monica. Yes, there is scaffolding and noise right now but this is a lovely hotel with an amazing location! I found the service to be exceptional with friendly staff everywhere I went.

We were upgraded to ocean view rooms to accommodate for the construction (room 550) and it was beautiful. Every amenity and beautiful bathroom with tiled walk in shower and soaker tub. Comfy beds and lots of room.

The location is perfect with a quick walk to restaurants, the beach and shopping.

The only complaint is the price of wifi in rooms ($11/day) and a cost to use the gym ($10/day) which is ridiculous considering the price of this hotel/night! Luckily, the friendly front desk clerk signed me up for a Loews promotion which gave me both of these for free during my stay. Well worth asking about it! The fitness facility is nicely equipped, the pool and hot tub are great. I didn't try the spa treatments.

Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Room 550 is ocean view with a large balcony but has 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, General Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
OntarioHopper

Thank you for your recent review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. We know how valuable your time is so we truly appreciate you taking a moment to share you experience with us. It seems as if you were able to fully explore the amenities of the hotel, and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed them all. Our spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub really are ideal places to unwind after a long day around the city. We hope that you consider Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel your new home away from home when visiting the Los Angeles area. We eagerly await your return!

Paul Leclerc – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I have always wanted to stay here. I saw a deal on Travelzoo and booked. The deal included $85 in hotel services, free bike rental and upgrade if available.

As previous reviews stated there is scaffolding outside the windows. They are trying to update the hotel during low season. This wasn't disclosed, but if a property isn't updated then people complain about the aesethics. Plus once I saw this it made sense why this was a Travelzoo deal,

When I arrived, I asked if an upgrade was available. Was told yes and was given room 810. The room faced the courtyard but there was a partial view of the Santa Monica Pier and beach. About 9:15 we heard this sound that could be heard over the TV that sounded like some type of drill or other automated tool. We knew no construction was going on but couldn't figure out what the sound was. My husband called the front desk and was assured the noise would be addressed immediately and it was.

Then around 11:15 pm the sound started again-another call by my husband. This time he was told there were elevator problems and this is were the noise was coming from but it would be addressed. At 1130, noise continuing. I called the desk and was told maintenance was working on it. I was offered earplugs or some noise neutralizing thing, I have used earplugs when staying in a city hotel with street noises but why would I have to use them for hotel related noises. I said "No and do you have another room available?". I was told yes room 505 was available. I asked her why wasn't I offered this initially at 9:15 instead of at 11:30 when we were ready to go to bed? She said she would give us a $50 hotel services credit-OK,good customer service.

Then, the morning of checkout, we thought we'd go for a short bike ride. I went to the front desk and asked how we obtain the bikes. We were told to go to the bike rental place on the beach and tell them we were staying at Loews. We did, but the Bike Proprieter told me that we would have to leave a picture ID while we took the bikes. In this age of identity theft, I declined to do this. Then she said we put it on our credit card and then credited when Loews paid them.I said "thanks but no thanks". Why wouldn't Loews have some type of voucher or at least better system for their bike rental system? Leaving your picture ID may have been ok in 1979 but not today.

Then I went to check out and my $85 credit had not been applied. I realize this was a simple oversights, but in was just one more thing.

But here are the good things about the hotel. Beautiful Lobby, close to Santa Monica Pier and 3rd St Promenade and lovely pool area. The courtyard of the pool area opens up to a view of the beach. The pool is long enough for lap swimming and is opened at 5:30 for early morning lap swim. The staff had very good customer service skills. According to the concierge, it is a 3 mile walk to Venice Beach. The front of the hotel faces busy Ocean Blvd but the back of the hotel where you exit for the beach is on a quiet street. It really is practically on beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labonvoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

The hotel is well run, beautifully decorated, and in a great location. Nice open, bright, airy lobby, with a pretty and open pool area, although it was under renovation during my stay. The problem was the scaffolds cutting off my view of the ocean and the pier. Otherwise, great staff and good vacation property.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors have good view of the ocean and pier, but need to request pier view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GateHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

A friend & I stayed at this hotel recently for 2 nights. While in a great area and adjacent to boardwalk and the Santa Monica Pier, the Loews Santa Monica Beach is underrgoing major renovation and scaffolding, which is NOT disclosed on their website in any way.Nothing like LOUD drilling and other construction work waking us! We paid extra for a water view which was blocked by all the scaffolding work. In addition, we called and were assured the 2 bedroom suite had a couch that would fold out to a bed, which OOPS, it did not! The front desk personnel and manager made adjustments to help us but buyer beware, the LOEWS Santa Monica Beach Hotel does not practice full,transparent and honest disclosure with respect to these issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, General Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Felica
Thank you for taking a moment to bring to our attention your recent experience with us. We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of the façade renovation taking place at the hotel. We take great pride in the quality of services and facilities we provide and continually strive to provide a supremely comfortable experience to each and every one of our guests. Our façade renovation project is near completion and we truly hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return.
Paul Leclerc – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I want to start this review by saying, I am normally a big fan of Loews hotels. I especially love the lows property and south beach Miami.
I was bringing my daughter to California to celebrate her 16th birthday. I mistakenly believed that the lows in Santa Monica Beach would be an equivalent to the lows in south beach Miami.
We booked a 3 nights stay nowhere on any reviews or websites was there any mention of the extensive construction that was taking place on the property. We got there late at night I was told about the scaffolding outside all the guests to room windows. We were told that if there were men working on the scaffold to close our curtains?? Why would we stay in a hotel on a beach to close the curtains?
When we got our room there are no outlets to plug computers laptops phone charges etc. Also the room looks very old and in need of an update. Not modern like most lows that I had stayed in. The first morning my daughter was getting dressed ready to go to the pool when a man walked outside on the scaffolding. We went downstairs and the lady at a desk was very accommodating moving us to another room. But we wasted a lot of our day with the move.We were unable to use the pool as my daughter felt uncomfortable because it was completely surrounded by scaffolding with people working on it.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room without scaffolding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, General Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Kieran H

Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. Our congratulations and best wishes to your daughter on her 16th birthday! I would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of the façade renovation taking place during your visit. We truly regret the inconvenience this caused you. I would very much like to further discuss the details of your visit. To this end, I would ask that you to contact me directly as I would appreciate the opportunity of speaking with you.

Paul Leclerc – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

This hotel's location is great. Yes, it's on the ocean, but it is also so walk-able to the Promenade, restaurants, and shopping.
I attended a conference with over 300 people. We needed a variety of different size meeting rooms from a total group ballroom to break out rooms that would hold a dozen people. The Loews has excellent meeting facilities. And their AV technical team is smart, very responsive, and customer service oriented. They work hard to make your meeting a success and seem to be unflappable. You can be confident they will find a way to make your meeting come off without a problem.
The hotel rooms are also well appointed, comfortable, and newly remodeled. The bathrooms have two sinks and a separate toilet/tub/shower divided by a sliding door. The amenities are of good quality, and frequently replaced. The towels are plentiful and my room was serviced shortly after I left it for my meetings. They have Keurig coffee machines in the room so if you use one at home pack your favorite K-cups and enjoy it in your room.
I am not a big breakfast eater, and Loews converts their bar into a quick grab n go breakfast stop serving your favorite Starbuck's beverage, bagels, toast, fresh fruit,juice, yogurt, and a few other pastries. If you like the full breakfast, their restaurant does a great job. In the evening the bar (mentioned above) is a great place to enjoy a glass with colleagues. The temperature was not higher than 62 while we were there, so we could not try the outside bar by the pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, but we would have if it had been warmer.
Everyone we met on the property was happy, pleasant, and service oriented. I highly recommend the Loews for business meetings and conferences, they know how to help put a meeting together.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing