We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great but a bit tired and needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We just finished up a four night stay at the Loews on the beach. Although the staff is very friendly and the location is nice the place is in need of a serious update!

The rug in our ocean view 7th floor room was dirty and stained. The outlet covers in the bathroom were falling off and the pillows were extremely lumpy.

The elevators were very slow and we could hear every noise our neighbors made through the adjoining rooms door. :(

Even though we put out the privacy door sign the maid service team still knocked twice and then proceeded to call, waking us up, to see if we wanted service. There was no shampoo in our room.

I understand paying a premium for Santa Monica near the beach, but this just wasn't worth the rate we paid.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank kidhauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,596)
There are newer reviews for Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,293 - 1,299 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We recently had a family holiday to USA and after doing Disneyland etc, San Diego decided to spend a couple of nights there before heading to Las Vegas. What a beautiful place, our room was overlooking the pool with a view to the beach, WOW!! Our room was very spacious and very clean! Just a short walk to the beach and pier, where there is so much happening. We had an amazing breakfast there with the most amazing view of the beach, ask for an outside table! We left our rental car parked while we were there (which is an additional price) and just walked everywhere. Some really good shopping to be done there!! Finished each day with a soak in the spa pool, beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brewsterfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My friend and I treated ourselves to a night here after a busy few weeks travelling around the West. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean.
This has to be the best located hotel in in the area, almost right on the beach and only a stones throw from all the great bars, restaurants and shops that Santa Monica has to offer!
The pool area can get rather busy but when your right on the beach this didn't really matter, would highly recommend Loews!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I decided to spoil my daugther & I after a full on holiday at Disney. We were not disappointed. I booked a Beach View room via the Travel Agent however there was a mix up with the booking. Despite this we were upgraded with no fuss. All staff were very helpful & friendly. We dined at the restaurant and again was met with polite, knowledgeable staff. Food was fabulous. The hotel at the time was under renovation yet this was not too imposing. The hotel is ideally situated, walking distance to the peer and shopping. It was worth the extra $$$ for comfort and convenience.

Room Tip: It costs more but request a full beach view room - wonderful to watch the water on a cool rainy day.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Nice location and friendly service staff. Management level staff clearly indifferent. At this price level, over 325 per night, a high level of customer service and accommodating concern for the overall customer experience is expected. We paid for a ocean view and although we could see the ocean it was off to one side and only a partial view. Everything was extra, way too many add on charges, even in room coffee. Even 2 star hotels offer free coffee! The kicker for me was that on both sides of our room and across the hall there was some sort of movie being shot so the hall was packed and banging, loud people, clapping and general commotion was apart of our entire first day. Leaving the following morning the halls were lined with boxes that we had to move to leave. Mentioned these things to the front desk and it was maxed clear they were getting ready for a big event and that's just how it was going to be. No effort to make our stay better. This is obviously a top down issue and not a couple employees not performing well. If your looking for a pricey 2 star hotel at a nice location this is your spot.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emacnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

When my Husband announced that we were spending a week at this glamorous location, I was ready for a big let down. However, from the minute we arrived the whole family was made to feel at home. Our accommodation was spacious and clean and the view from our window was right out of the travel guide. It was wonderful to head off to Muscle Beach each morning with our fluffy towels safe in the knowledge of being able to dump them in the hotel laundry on the way in! And how nice it was to return to a glass of chilled home made lemonade. When ordering room service remember you will probably only need half the usual order, huge platefuls will be brought by attentive waiting staff.

Room Tip: A view of the beach is heavenly, but weigh that up against being close to the ice machine! Oh, and...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MgtanneQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Loews is a very nice place to stay ..its location is very good..ther is a beach right in front and thy hv beautiful beach facing restaurants..the staff is v friendly and helpful..their check in time is 3pm nd we entered the at around 12 noon thy didnt even ask us for an extra fee which most of the hotels ask for an early check in and thy immediately checked us in ..hence our stay ws v comfortable.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank richarajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,887 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,583 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
968 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,623 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £292 - £539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing