We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Just spent a couple of nights here. Great location for the beach and the famous Santa Monica pier. Ten minute walk to some great shopping. Staff at the hotel a very friendly and helpful. Spacious rooms but maybe just in need of some redecoration but still clean. The choice of breakfast was good, in a very relaxed atmosphere. Valet parking service solved the parking problems.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    753
    366
    184
    137
See reviews for
941
652
99
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern with very spacious rooms, nice amenities and direct beach access makes this an ideal hotel for your LA visit. Most rooms have a balcony and at least a partial view of the ocean. The pool is clean and well maintained.

The outdoor seating areas with fire pits and great views of the Santa Monica pier are ideal for an evening drink. The lobby/bar area also has extensive seating, much with enough privacy to to conduct business or just relax in solitude, sip a coffee and read the paper.

Hotel staff is pleasant and well informed about the surrounding area. Besides the famous pier, the hotel is walking distance to several nice restaurants. If you tire of the hotel breakfast, a couple of doors south from the hotel is Cora's Coffee Shop which offers up standard and inventive breakfasts comprised of fresh ingredients at very reasonable prices.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelingElbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Loews Santa Monica thinks it's a great hotel and charges accordingly....but it has a way to go.
Especially when it comes to taking care of its guests.

- They charge $14.95 a day for WiFi (internet access); MacDonald's is FREE.
- If you invite people over for lunch they charge an additional parking fee, even with validated parking tickets.
- One-size-fits-all bath robes are designed for 6' + basket ball players, not petite women.
- Room lighting poor, with no night light in bathroom.

Staff all very helpful, especially front desk and bell men; but be prepared to waste time resolving problems.
Breakfasts excellent, try the vegetarian scramble, but $5 is pricey for a lukewarm cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on north side, unless you like looking at roofs and walls of old motels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMikeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connectict
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The service, staff, outside pool area, and restaurant are all quite good, but the rooms could certainly do with some updating. There is quite a bit of construction going on that can be bothersome. On the plus side the spa is excellent-- I had a wonderful massage here. The location can't be beat.

Room Tip: The beach facing rooms are quieter, the ones facing the construction are the opposite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel manager allowed the construction company to work through the night. We called to complain and they just told us "we will look into it". Charged us full price to listen to their renovations all night long. If you like to sleep or just enjoy a quite room, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tentanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had 4 to a room and my sister called before hand asked if there was anyway we could have enough space for 4 women and add a cot. The hotel was very accommodating and gave us a corner room which apparently had a lot more space then some of the other rooms. We were easily able to add a cot in there and could add an extra if needed.

The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to everything. We did not need our car at all while there. It is pretty pricey but I think that is what to be expected when you stay at a nice hotel like that.

Each night we enjoyed sitting out by the fire pits with the view of the ocean and great drinks.

The only down side I would say was the pool was extremely crowded and not a lot of seats. We got down there each day early morning and seats were either saved or occupied. Often times we would have to sit poolside and wait for a seat.

I would definitely stay there again! I would give it 5 stars if the pool had a more "resort" type feel to in instead of a long skinny modern feel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbgChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We just finished up a four night stay at the Loews on the beach. Although the staff is very friendly and the location is nice the place is in need of a serious update!

The rug in our ocean view 7th floor room was dirty and stained. The outlet covers in the bathroom were falling off and the pillows were extremely lumpy.

The elevators were very slow and we could hear every noise our neighbors made through the adjoining rooms door. :(

Even though we put out the privacy door sign the maid service team still knocked twice and then proceeded to call, waking us up, to see if we wanted service. There was no shampoo in our room.

I understand paying a premium for Santa Monica near the beach, but this just wasn't worth the rate we paid.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kidhauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,818 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,555 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
922 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,568 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing