We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 January 2014

For starters, the location of this hotel is PERFECT- Your right next to the Santa Monica Pier, Muscle Beach, and the Ocean.

I was staying here on Business and they made everyone feel very comfortable and were very well organized in terms of the room bookings and food service.

I'd recommend renting bikes from the hut right outside the hotel and take a ride to Venice Beach. There's lots of good people watching down there!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the ocean if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,354 - 1,360 of 2,682 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Recently stayed here with my family. Comfortable rooms and modern hotel. Staff are friendly but such a large hotel you can feel a little anonymous. Hotel is situated on the beach and there is easy access to the main Santa Monica shopping area. Lovely to run along the promenade but suggest you run towards the pier and Beyond rather than towards Venice beach - this soon became quite an unpleasant area and as a women running on her own I felt unsafe.

Don't get a room on the first floor- road noise.

Room Tip: Not the first floor - no sea view and lots of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent three nights here and had a very comfortable stay. The room was clean and spacious, as was the bathroom. The decor of the room was nothing special, but this tends to be the case for most of the hotels i've stayed at in Santa Monica versus other cities. The location was great, and we had a nice view of the pool and beach from our balcony. Service was excellent. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 8th floor that are poolside provide excellent views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

What started off a bit rocky, our reservation was updated weeks before we arrived-emailed confirmation and all yet the hotel didn't have it nor could central reservations for lows-good thing i kept the email, turned out pretty good.

Although they confirmed my 'upgrade' they couldn't deliver the first night but did the following 2 nights and the upgrade was worth it! Direct view of the ocean with a small/tiny balcony with sliding glass doors, which we kept open during the day, awesome!

I will stay here again but will keep all my reservation confirmations handy, just in case!

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms with a view of the ocean and balcony. We had a view of the Santa Monica pier f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enerfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a nice beach hotel on our stop over in lax on our way to Tahiti. When we arrived the hotel looked like a motel 8 from the outside. The bellman removed our bags from the car but left them for us to take them in. No tip there! The lady at the front desk was very nice. We got to our room and it was on a low floor, small with no balcony. We asked the reception for a better room as I had paid for an upgrade prior to arriving. For 400$ it was hardly a nice room. She sent us to look at another without ocean views. Not great. Finally she put us on the top floor. Room 647. Great views and a balcony. We were happy. The hotel had no real vibe. Perhaps just a business place? After dinner down the road we he's drinks outside. Good service and a nice ambiance with a fire pit. Early morning we were woken up by garbage trucks and the sound of the elevator. Our room was adjacent. Maybe not a good choice. But the view to the Santa Monica pier was great. Breakfast which was to be included was adequate. Good service but the dining room was dark and lifeless. Again a very cold vibe. In fact when we got back from dinner the night before there was no door man. No security. No front desk staff. No one to say hello!! The worst part of it all was before dinner when we went to take a nap. We noticed a stain on the sheets!! And then blood on the pillow. Or what looked like it! We asked them to change the sheets which they did. Overall for 400$ not a hotel I would recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank manium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Just spent a couple of nights here. Great location for the beach and the famous Santa Monica pier. Ten minute walk to some great shopping. Staff at the hotel a very friendly and helpful. Spacious rooms but maybe just in need of some redecoration but still clean. The choice of breakfast was good, in a very relaxed atmosphere. Valet parking service solved the parking problems.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Clean, modern with very spacious rooms, nice amenities and direct beach access makes this an ideal hotel for your LA visit. Most rooms have a balcony and at least a partial view of the ocean. The pool is clean and well maintained.

The outdoor seating areas with fire pits and great views of the Santa Monica pier are ideal for an evening drink. The lobby/bar area also has extensive seating, much with enough privacy to to conduct business or just relax in solitude, sip a coffee and read the paper.

Hotel staff is pleasant and well informed about the surrounding area. Besides the famous pier, the hotel is walking distance to several nice restaurants. If you tire of the hotel breakfast, a couple of doors south from the hotel is Cora's Coffee Shop which offers up standard and inventive breakfasts comprised of fresh ingredients at very reasonable prices.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank TravelingElbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,966 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,144 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
995 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £317 - £544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing