We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, spacious rooms. Very clean and many places within the hotel to enjoy. My favorite was sitting outside by the fire pits looking at the ocean. Stff very helpful and food delicious. The location cannot be beat.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelcrazy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear travelcrazy62,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely time exploring the property, indulging in delicious food and relaxing by our fire pits. Please come visit the beach again soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    734
    357
    180
    135
See reviews for
909
632
96
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just spent a few days here at Loews. From the arrival it was excellence all the way to check out. Valet staff were very friendly, helpful and gave great service. Bellstaff again, fast and very friendly. Room service was quick and again, very professional and friendly.
This is the first hotel I've stayed at where housekeeping was quiet in the halls in the morning, I was IMPRESSED! Finally!!!
The rooms very spotless, pool area constantly attended to as well as the rest of the property. It is well worth the price and I would highly recommend it. Perfectly located close to everything you would want :)

Room Tip: I had a room that overlooked the pool and beach, the best of both worlds :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smellbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear smellbell,

Thank you for such a wonderful recommendation and for taking the time to comment about your excellent stay. From our well-maintained guest rooms and property, to our impeccable service – including a quiet housekeeping crew – we are proud that you were impressed by Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. Please come visit our perfect location again soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Will definitely stay here again. It's a super clean, well appointed, very nice hotel with the nicest staff you could imagine. The conceirge , front desk and hotel operator, room service and bell/valet staffs were all as nice as they could be and SO accommodating to our needs & wants. The room was very nice and the bed was SO comfortable! My husband and I are very discerning critics and we absolutely highly recommend the Loews Santa Monica hotel. BTW, it's in a fantastic location with many things to do and eat all within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salshine1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear salshine1999,

Thank you for your glowing review and high recommendation, which is even more humbling coming from two self-confessed discerning critics. So happy you were pleased with our service, accommodations and ideal location. We will be sure to share your note about our amazing staff with them directly. We are excited to hear that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neubeuern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It was a fantastic and wonderful stay at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel.
For me it´s very important, that there is no noise during the nights.
It was very quiet - wonderful!
Friendly staff helps us to find famous attractions near the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 198Hans_PeterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear 198Hans_PeterS,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your excellent visit. We are so happy that you found the hotel quiet and relaxing and that our friendly staff was able to help you with suggestions of the many attractions located just outside the hotel. Please come back for another fantastic stay soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a great time at Loews Santa Monica. Very courteous staff. Valet remembers you - and I don't know how they do it! Very clean city, extremely dog friendly. Stayed 8 nights. Beautiful hotel and very large. Beach front room with view of pier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyODellDunham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear AmyODellDunham,

Thank you for your compliments to our beautiful hotel – glad that you had a great time and fancied your beachfront room and Santa Monica as a whole. Our staff is mindful to go above and beyond and ensure that every guest feels like a VIP, so thank you for appreciating that. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuba City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is really good. When we lost our new, unopened iPhone 5S, we called the hotel department and they immediately solved the problem. There was no waiting, just them telling us that the phone would be shipped in a few days. I will come back here next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Michael L,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your wonderful experience at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. Top-notch guest service is of utmost importance to us, so we are so happy that we were able to take care of your needs and get your new iPhone 5S back to you promptly and safely. Looking forward to having you back next time indeed.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
359 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is right on the original Muscle beach - so much to watch - people doing log, gymnastics, press-ups, riding bikes, roller blading -whow! From our room we could see the Pier and the pool. loved the free sunset bubbly at the bar!Staff very friendly. the girl in the bar remembered the drinks we had the night before!!Lovely room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Lois G,

Thank you for the glowing review. So happy to hear that you were pleased with your guest room and its unbeatable view of the Pier and pool. Also delighted you appreciated our Sunset Champagne Toast. Thank you also for your compliments to our staff. Sounds like you took advantage of the many activities and benefits that Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel’s premiere location has to offer.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing