We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for just one night on the way back to Australia from New York. The person who checked us in was obviously new, so we had a few hiccups - we booked a king room, but were giving a twin, we booked a late check out and were told check out was at 12, and then our key cards stopped working at 4pm the following day after returning from a ride along the beach. Our room was then at the end of a long hallway quite far from the lifts, but once there it was nice and big. The location is great though, just a street back from Santa Monica beach. Highly recommend hiring a bike and following the trail down to venice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Natasha C,

So very sorry to hear of the hiccups you experienced at check in and with your key card. We have shared your feedback with appropriate manager to ensure this issue is fixed. Please note, we have contacted you privately in the hopes that we can connect about this. We are happy that you enjoyed your spacious room and were able to take advantage of some of the activities the hotel – and Santa Monica – has to offer. We do hope we will have a chance to welcome you back to the beach.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,308 - 1,314 of 2,743 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I had wanted to stay at this hotel and was unfortunately disappointed. Whilst the rooms were spacious and nice enough, our room was the last down a long hallway. This meant that room service items sat outside our door for a good 36hrs. Seems it was too far for staff to come. For the price of this hotel I expected better.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Lisa M,

Thank you for your comments about the room service items. Please rest assured that we will investigate this immediately, and we apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of May. Lovely hotel, great views and attentive staff. We had one issue of a parcel which I had sent ahead of our arrival going missing but the manager personally addressed this and had it replaced within the hour with a bottle of wine and cheese sent to our room as way of apology. Mistakes happen and this was handled excellently! Thanks to everyone for making our stay special, see you again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Gary1975,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your great stay. Thank you for your compliments to our property and attentive staff. We apologize for the parcel issue but are so glad to hear we were able to make good on the situation. We look forward to making your next stay just as special.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Again a great stay in Loews Beach Hotel. Stayed 2 times during my California visit in May 2014.
Best location and very friendly service, great pool and best sights to Santa Monica Pier. 3 rd Street Walking area just few blocks away. Take a morning walk to Venice - just 15 min and you are middle of the best freakshow in earth!

Room Tip: Take seawiew - it´s worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jari Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Toolonparoni100,

Thank you for coming to visit us again at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, we appreciate your repeat business and your kind comments. We are happy to hear that, from our fabulous property and friendly service to the beautiful views we offer day and night, we are favorite place in Los Angeles. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Wow this hotel is fan plastic. We wanna trip from my wife's 30th birthday travelling the whole of California and this hotel really did meet our expectations. The pool area was great the rooms are great the restaurants are great the food is superb it is up in a perfect spot to explore Santa Monica and greater Los Angeles.

The manager Mike Papp ensure that my wife's had a great stay for her 30th birthday. He greeted us when we arrived and ensure there was a welcome gift in our room which was a lovely touch we will definitely stay not only stay at this hotel when in Santa Monica but we will use the Lowes chain whenever travelling to the United States in the future!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kam_Lall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kam_Lall,

We are so happy that we were able to make your wife's birthday special. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our property, including our rooms, food and exceptional service. We strive to make sure that every guest feels like a VIP so we are very glad to hear that you experienced such luxury. Please know, we will make sure to pass your comments along to Mike Papp. We are so honored to be your choice hotel chain in the US and look forward to having you back for another fantastic stay.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived weary and stressed from a horrible flight and trying to adjust from driving in the US for the first time and straight away Zach at reception was an absolute godsend. Despite our extremely early arrival before 7am, our room was ready for us and some wonderful treats were sent up to our room. The impact this made on our trip cannot be overstated. We recieved outstanding service from everyone that we encountered.

I was pleased to also see that our coffee supplies were replenished while we were out for the day despite that we'd just checked in.

The room was beautiful and well appointed and the hotel was a very short stroll from the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Daniella T

We are so pleased to hear that Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel provided you with a must-needed refuge from your travels and that you were able to check in early and unwind. We will be sure to pass your comments along to Zach and hope that our beautiful property and outstanding service will bring you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Check in - We booked our 7 night stay at Loews through British Airways holidays, when we asked would we be getting a sea/pool view room we were told no, that would be an upgrade of 75USD per night, I declined this and it appeared to us that we had disappointed the check-in guy. We were hence given a rather poor room then -room 320 - lower floor - view of road/house/garage - noisey traffic in the early mornings.
We are pretty easy going people so we just went with it as we don't usually spend daytime in our room on holidays.
That said, the room was well equipped , had lovely hot shower, wifi free and fast enough, room maids were very good and the beds are fantastic.

The pool area was great, always got a pair of sunbeds though on the weekends it gets very full by 12.00.
The pool bar staff were ALL great. Special mentions to Scott, Mauricio (and Julio in the evenings)
They were always cheerful and whizzing around serving folk.
Julio has a great rapport and a fantastic memory for your favourite evenings drinks.

One slight downside to Loews, for the week we stayed, though I suspect this may happen often, they hold some large conferences here and for 2 of the 7 days we stayed, there were business types sitting around with us sunbathers, I noted a few of us feeling uncomfortable with this.
Also the pool side/fire pit area was closed off for 2 different evenings for 2 other private functions.
We paid a lot of money to go to Loews for a whole week and expected FULL use of the facilities.

Location - it IS right on the beach ! also just a short walk to an abundance of shops and restaurants of all tastes.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor and west facing - but it'll cost you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sbloke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear sbloke1,

Thank you for your feedback, we truly value it. We are glad that you were able to soak up the sun at the pool but are sorry that the location of your room was not your favorite. We are, however, happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay overall. Thank you for your compliments to our staff. We will make sure to pass your comments along to Scott, Mauricio and Julio and hope that you will come back for another one of your favorite drinks soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,027 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,029 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £344 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing