We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent property with un obstructed sea view. Very close to the pier and 10 to 15 minutes walk to the promenade. Very safe hotel to stay at the beach ideal for couples and families. Strongly recommend this property for every reason.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBharti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear MBharti,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our excellent property. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed our unobstructed views of the ocean and hoping to have you back soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,271 - 1,277 of 2,714 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel gives you the impression online that it's luxury 5 star and it's not at all more like a 3 stare in a good location. Although online it looks like the property sits right on the beach but it's about a block from it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Rianne H,

Thank you for your feedback. We do have private beach access through the back of the hotel. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to the beach in the future.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Walk into the lobby and you know your in Southern California. The Palm Trees just move you into another place in time and space. Walk straight through to the windows overlooking the ocean and sit down, order a glass of wine and sit for a moment. Then check in if you haven't already. The rooms are nice but that's not why you go here. Its the open air and view experience. Your a walk from everything cool on the beach (except Venice, need to drive). Try to avoid conference/exhibit programs unless they are film industry related--kind of a cool collection of unsavory & savory characters (however, not like the bar scene in the first Star Wars movie). Take family, friends, loved ones, heck, go by yourself.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mobiousthunderduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Mobiousthunderduck,

So glad you "get" our hotel and enjoyed your stay. We hope you return for another ocean view glass of wine soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great staff struggle to look after hotel guests due to demands of corporate conference clients. Lying next to the pool relaxing only to be surrounded by conference guests having their break. made me feel VERY uncomfortable. One day completely spoilt due to pool being closed to hotel guests and not being informed. Found out when I woke up and looked out of the window.

The hotel is in a great location and staff Strive to address the needs of guests but at times appeared overwhelmed due to conference client numbers.

Did not eat in the restaurant as it was closed to hotel guests the night a family celebration was planned.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALybally2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear ALybally2014,

Thank you for your compliments to our great central location and our devoted staff. We apologize that your stay felt anything but completely comfortable. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered and have messaged you privately in regards to this situation.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A luxury hotel and the room and hotel are all that would be expected. The hotel is sited just behind the beach front properties. Though the main hotel open area has a great view of the ocean and the beach we were in one of the rooms facing away from the ocean and over the front of the hotel towards the city. Because of that we would have been as well staying in one of the hotels opposite at a fraction of the cost. Also the hotel has no parking, unlike the place opposite, so the only option is valet parking. This works very efficiently, but cost $81.40 for two nights!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterandLesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear PeterandLesley2013,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that you were not happy with your view. Should you return, please feel free to contact any of our managers for personal assurance that you are booked in a room with a view that meets your preferences.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Right near the Santa Monica pier and close to everything. The contemporary feel to this hotel was as lively and colorful as the city.
It is close to the downtown mall and the walking street.
Great room and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 343,879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear 343879,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed our contemporary hotel as well as the lively city we are in. Thank you for your compliments to our guest rooms and great service and please visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently returned from a seven day stay at the hotel, firstly the good points the hotel is ideally situated for the beach and 3rd street promenade, friendly staff especially doormen and bellhops, and a free electric trolley ride is provided to the local area.

During our stay numerous conferences were held, one in particular which was held over two days completely spoiled our stay, with no access being allowed to the pool area for residents for the first day of the conference, (arrangements had been made for use of the pool in a neighbouring hotel). Poor communication by the hotel management meant that we were not made aware of the large conference until late the evening before, not all members of our party recieved the letter from the hotel management.

Breakfast on the morning of the conference was akin to a rugby scrum, with no area being set aside for residents, every table, chair and available space was being occupied by conference attendees. The beverage team were overwhelmed with the amount of people, and when asked had no idea where residents were supposed to have breakfast; room service was suggested (unbelievable !!). We complained to the duty manager that nowhere had been set aside for residents and everthing was for the conference, he apologised and eventually found us a table for breakfast.

This is an ideally situated hotel for visiting Santa Monica, however when a large conference is taking place the hotel management are more interested in satisfying the needs of conference attendees than with the requirements
and comfort of residents, who are made to feel second class.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKRichiesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear UKRichiesb ,

Thank you for your comments about our ideally situated hotel. We are happy that you had a good stay overall and enjoyed different elements of what we have to offer, however disappointed that you felt meetings in the hotel caused an inconvenience. Individual guest service is of utmost importance to us – we truly value your feedback and are investigating this. Please note, we have also contacted you privately.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,000 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,015 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,179 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £289 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing