We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Anniversary Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Requested a quiet room. As soon as we entered the very average hotel room we were feeling like Spring Break was happening just outside our room. We overlooked the pool and all the frivolity, including a live musician every afternoon. Not what this couple had hoped for at all. Front desk said there were no other rooms to move to. End of story. So disappointed. Room was small and plain. Definitely not worth $600/ngt. Should have stayed at Oceana or Shutters. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Cynthia L,

Happy Anniversary, and thank you for spending it at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. We apologize that your experience was not what you were looking for but hope that we can rectify this situation. Please note, I have contacted you privately as well.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,237 - 1,243 of 2,682 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at this property just last year and loved it. Had a completely opposite experience this time. Our room overlooked an alley filled with garbage and disgusting smells. The restaurant wait staff was one of the worst and most inefficient ones I've seen in a long time. It took them 5-10 minutes to just seat people in an empty restaurant. Exorbitant parking fee and hidden city taxes really added to the final bill. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Joan G,

We are glad that you had a wonderful experience during your last stay and sorry that you did not feel the same this time. We apologize that you were not happy with your room and that the service at the restaurant was not up to our standard of excellence. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to correct his situation. Please note, I have contacted you privately in regards to this.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We are a family of four 2 adults a 2 children and we are from Australia. Santa Monica loews was our first stop after our 15 hour flight. We arrived at about 9am our room was ready - bonus! Santa Monica was a perfect place to begin and experience America without too much hussle and bussle! We love great accommodation and do not mind paying for it. I found from reading reviews on Santa Monica hotels it difficult to choose the right place for our family, so I had my fingers and toes crossed! Loews was the right choice for us. We had a room called a grand room ( I think ) it had 2 double beds and a furnished balcony. The balcony we could not really use as there was construction halo ending in the next room and the noise was insane. I complained about this and the manager handled it very well and offered us a credit to use in the hotel. The rooms are small but due to the good weather and how tired we were it was not a problem. The bathroom was nice - clean and tidy. The location was perfect . Close to the pier, beach and shopping. I would stay again - expensive for what you get but I think worth it for the location . Staff were adequate without being super friendly . All in all a pretty good hotel :-)))

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 2emmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear 2emmm,

Thank you for coming all of the way from Australia to visit Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. Happy to hear the hotel provided the perfect central location for you and your family during your vacation. We apologize for the construction noise during your stay but are glad that the managers were able to assist you with this situation and that, overall, you had a pleasant visit. We are delighted that you will be back and, when you do, please feel free to contact any of our managers for personal assurance that you will have a comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The great: the view right over the famous pier, the location (walking distance to all the Santa Monica beach attractions and the 3rd shopping strip).

The good: rooms are modern, spacious and nice, fine linen, pool area is nice.

The bad: breakfast buffet is nice but far too pricey for what it is ($35, not including tip).

The ugly: almost every aspect of service was seriously uncomfortable. For example, on the Saturday afternoon I wanted to lie by the pool but all the seats and loungers were taken and a large section of the pool deck was roped off (but not being used) for a wedding. I found a seat near its edge and sat down but was unceremoniously shooed off quickly. Fine. But upon asking if they could fine me a seat the answer was a curt no and walking away. I felt rather like dirt in a hotel for which I was paying a very decent price. I don't think that should happen. Around 11pm asked for coffee pods for the coffee machine so I could have coffee for an early start. These arrived an hour later -- once I was asleep. The waitress at breakfast was pushy and, over a 45 minute meal checked in us at least five times (and we'd had the buffet....). Maid service, mini bar check in and coffee supply replenishment all seem to be done by different people at different times meaning there are often people in your room when you come back to it -- which feels awkward to me, My friend needed to gather her stuff from my room to leave for a flight but we were told we'd just have to wait 15 minutes until the maid was done.

I do hate to rant about service but poor service that completely failed to take into account guest needs really soured this place for me. If this guest treatment is systemic to Loews I would not stay with them again.

I would much prefer a hotel where a guest is treated like a guest, not a bother,

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pier. Don't accept a "quiet" room if offered unless you are part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melbourne0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Melbourne0410,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations, which included a view of the famous Santa Monica Pier, we are extremely troubled to hear that you felt that your stay was compromised a wedding that was on property. We apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to individualized VIP guest service. Please note, we have messaged you privately in regards to this situation.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights in a party of 9 , which was booked 9 months in advance., after having a week in Alaska where we had 5 rooms in a row , we were told on our arrival by a rather snooty girl that our rooms were not only on different areas of the hotel but on different floors . My son ended up on another floor , at the front of the hotel , three more rooms were at the front on a different floor and my mum whose 80 th birthday we were celebrating was on the other side of the hotel facing a stone wall and bins . Not what we thought we had booked and paid for . On complaining to one of the receptionists we were told that those were the rooms we had paid for , we were told we could upgrade at the cost of $35 dollars per night per room , we paid for our room and my sons , mum was given hers free as she was 80 and the other two members of the party decided they were ok with their rooms .
The first two days we were subjected to a wedding which was ok but the wedding party was eating and partying on the balcony of the inside auditorium and the walls were very thin .
We were expected to leave our rooms before 9 as the cleaner wanted in , WE ARE ON HOLIDAY if I wanted to get up early I wouldn't of bothered with a holiday .
The rest of our time there was unbelievable it was conference , conference , conference every single day , the pool and outside area was closed one day ( we had to use the pool next door , maybe we should of stayed there ) the seating area to eat was closed every other day , the restaurant was full due to the conference , the bar was full , all the seats were full and they were even sitting on the walkway outside our room . My sister in law came out of her room to find a buffet table set up outside her room ,
The Loews is a lovely hotel but the management needs to decide are they a holiday hotel or a conference hotel as they certainly cannot do both .
Paying customers are second class citizens ,
On complaining to the front desk we were dealt with , within there limits by Dustin and Jason who were struggling to cope with the amount of hotel customers complaining , we were in a que at one point , but well done to them for trying to help . Unfortunately the one person who we asked to see and never showed his or her face was the Manager . We were obviously not worth saying sorry to , for ruining our stay in Santa Monica .
The manager should be ashamed that the apology that was most sincere and was said with meaning was from Roger the bellhop who came to us as we got in the taxi and told us how sorry he was about the fact we had to complain , shame on the manager that your staff are doing your job .
Well done to the American travel agent as we complained to them on our first day and we had a complimentary upgrade , and agreed with the hotel so we had a night stay returned .
We would of preferred to have had a lovely stress free week in a lovely hotel .

Room Tip: On booking make sure you ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clairesb261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Clairesb261,

We apologize that your visit coincided with a meeting and for any inconvenience that this may have created. I assured you that the incidents you mentioned are being looked into so that they are avoided.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

As we had stayed in 5 star hotels prior to arriving at Loews, we knew that the standards would not be the same. Upon arrival we had to request someone to assist us with our luggage & sarcastic comments were made regarding the amount of luggage.

The room was a bit shabby in some areas. The paint was dirty and the room had an odd smell upon arrival. The tv also had bad reception and nowhere near the amount of channels as the other hotels we stayed in.

The location is great however with beautiful views over the beach and there were a few nice staff members who were extremely helpful.

The hotel has the potential to be much better with a little TLC.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sydneyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sydneyside,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your compliments to our property and friendly staff. We apologize for your issues, as guest service is a major priority and are investigating why yours fell short. We appreciate your feedback, please know we are looking into this.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent property with un obstructed sea view. Very close to the pier and 10 to 15 minutes walk to the promenade. Very safe hotel to stay at the beach ideal for couples and families. Strongly recommend this property for every reason.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBharti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear MBharti,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our excellent property. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed our unobstructed views of the ocean and hoping to have you back soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,966 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,144 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
995 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £317 - £544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing