We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks great but not entirely practical.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Waikato, new Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Looks great but not entirely practical.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First impressions of this hotel were its excellent location - within easy walking distance to downtown Santa Monica and also the world famous Santa Monica Pier. The hotel itself has a very impressive reception area and palatial foyer with a live screen shot of the beach behind the reception counter and expansive views out its large floor to ceiling windows down onto the beach.

We arrived a few days before Americas infamous 4th July celebrations so everyone was gearing up for this hence the hotels popularity on their busiest week of the year. We asked for an upgrade and were given a large two roomed (one main room and one smaller reception area room). This room only had one bed, being a king sized one. We had 16 year old and 11 year old boys so we were told that they could only provide two rollaway beds, which we agreed to as we were only there 3 nights (incidentally they forgot to deliver the rollaway beds until I rang housekeeping that night to get it sorted). Originally our travel agent had booked a one room two double bed accomodation for us. Admittedly we had had to cancel our first booking in order to rearrange our two week holiday due to a death in the family so from this perspective (taking onto account 4 July week also) the hotel had certainly done their very best to satisfy our sleeping arrangements - (a teenage boy doesn't want to sleep with his little brother).

We found it very expensive to stay at this motel - $400 per night, expensive to eat there, and the room itself looked out onto somebody elses balcony area - our balcony had a huge railing across it so that you couldn't even stand on it and we had to keep our curtains pulled the whole time so that other guests could not see into our room - had to have lights on in our room the whole time! Considering we were paying what we consider premium we would have expected a more user friendly family room and outlook. The hotel complex did not have guest laundry which to me is quite important when traveling with a family of four or more. It proved very expensive to get a load of laundry laundered at $145!

Our toilet did not work properly so a workman was sent up one night to try and fix it. It could not be fixed so the next day he came back and took about two hours to replace the entire toilet - very inconvenient. When we asked what compensation they would give us, they offered a refund of $250 - personally I would have expected a refund of one nights acommodation of $400 as that was how long we were inconvenienced for.

Personally I didnt feel that we got value for money - the service was great, the restaurants, pool, bar etc were up to standard but the room and its problems let us down.

Room Tip: When booking a family holiday make sure that there are guest laundry amenities available otherwise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shay-Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Shay-Lee W,

Thank you for your experience with us in detail. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the property and its ideal placement within Santa Monica. We are also pleased we were able to accommodate your upgrade. We apologize, however, for the issues you encountered. Please rest assured that we will investigate this immediately, and we apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    731
    355
    180
    135
See reviews for
907
630
96
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandlers Ford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lowes Santa Monica
The hotel is located in a perfect position overlooking the ocean, you have beach access from the ground floor which makes life so easy. The pool area is lovely and clean, nice sun beds and day chairs although as it's not that big does get very busy and people to bag their sunbeds although the hotel do have a 1 hour policy and so in force it which was great to see. ,the rooms are a decent size as well as the bathroom although a little tired. We ate by the pool one evening and one lunch time, good menu, good food and good friendly service. The concierge was fantastic very on the ball and knew everything. Free wifi, great gym. Easy walk into Santa Monica town for the shops and restaurants. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms also have partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear ZoeSparks,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Glad you enjoyed the food, friendly service and extensive amenities, as well as our easy access to the beach and all that Santa Monica has to offer. As far as our concierge goes, we will be sure to pass on your compliments. So happy to hear that we will hopefully have the honor of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Overall poor service. Waited 2 hours for room to be cleaned. Restaurant was closed Sunday and Monday. Poolside dining was never able to get fire pits lit. Cold outside. Not offered blankets or any solution. Car was not available when valet called. Overall impression: the staff at the hotel are poorly trained and unhappy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Linda A,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear of your poor experience and are investigating the various issues you mentioned. We sincerely apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence. Please note, we have messaged you privately as well.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Extremely nice hotel in a perfect location on Sta Monica Beach right near the Pier. Booked in as a walkup so the price was a little more than if we had booked in advance. Great rooms with balconies overlooking the beach. Staff was superb. Meals at the bar/pool we're great and not really expensive. Would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWalboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear RonWalboom,

So happy you chose to stay with us. Thank you for your compliments to our great rooms, superb staff and delicious food. Excited to have you back.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location, comfortable room, good food, fantastic staff! While a little pricy this excellent hotel on the beach in the heart of Samta Monica is well worth it! Be prepared for SM being a bit "touristy" but still fun. Lots within walking distance too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Lauren H,

Thank you for taking the time to compliment Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, our comfortable accommodations, good food and fantastic staff. Thank you for recognizing our great location on the beach in the heart of Santa Monica and we hope you’ll be back soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very nice hotel, which is reflected in the price. My husband, 9 yr. old, and I stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Short half a block walk to the beach, not located directly on the beach. Make sure to ask for towels, umbrellas, beach boards, kites, etc . to use at the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Elizabeth S,

Happy Anniversary to you and your husband. Thank you for your comments and we hope you will join us at the beach again soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We first visited here two years ago and loved it. This trip was much the same with only a minor glitch. The outside of the hotel had been redone in a different color and looked great. It course is still right next to the Santa Monica Pier and within walking distance of the 3rd St. Promenade. LA and Malibu are only a short drive.
This hotel is expensive, but the location is worth it. Service remains very good. The food is wonderful; both at the restaurants and poolside.The Concierge service is almost always available and very personable.
The only problem we had this trip was on our first morning when we were awakened by construction at about 6:00 am. They were renovating rooms nearby and we figured they wouldn't start work this early. It was strange that when my wife complained the woman at the front desk found it hard to believe (like we would make this up?), and said work was not supposed to start until 9:00 am. We were there for 8 nights so my wife asked for us to be moved and tried to get a comped upgrade for the hassle. We were told we could move to another room of the same value, but we would have to pay for any upgrade. Having a great ocean view, we decided not to move. Luckily the construction crew started later in the morning the rest of the week. We were just surprised at the lack of sympathy from the staff. A Manager my wife talked to was very nice and professional, but offered no better resolution. A disappointment for a place with such great customer service. Despite this misstep I'm sure we'll be back and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing